We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Jefferson, Washington DC(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Rouge Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Topaz Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tabard Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveler rating
354
273
88
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
273
88
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite houseaustralian embassydupont circlegreat locationfront desk staffindoor poolhotel restaurantwithin walking distanceminute walktwo queen bedssafe areavalet parkingstreet noisewalked everywherea wonderful stayroom was largebusiness center
Filter
Updating list...
617 - 622 of 750 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Like other Courtyard's I've stayed at, there is never anything that really makes me want to say "this was a great stay". It was definitely a good stay though. I was here on business. Check-in was fast, the room was clean, the property was clean. Here are a couple things that did stand out:

- WEIRD, kind of creepy pool area way down in the basement, actually one level below the workout area. I think whoever takes care of the pool area misunderstood the instruction "make the pool very clean" with "make the pool very green". The jacuzzi was nice though.
- Convenient location, pretty close to White House, maybe a 20 minute walk.
- The Nage restaurant. I was surprised that Marriott let the restaurant put the following phrase on their advertisement card in the room: "This is not Marriott food". Are they saying Marriott food is bad and their's is better or Marriott food is awesome and their food stinks? Anyway, I ordered what sounded like it was going to be a huge steak and it turned out to be just a little bigger than a golf ball (see picture). It was excellent though, as was the asaparagus and potato pancake-like side.

Bottom line: The place was clean, quiet and convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickKrauseBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Very nice hotel clean up-to-date rooms a bit on the pricey side but no complaints here. Internet access was a bit in and out so be prepared.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Goose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

We were able to book this hotel with a fantastic special. (especially if you are travelling with a large family like I am!)
Right now they have a Family Fun Package advertised. You must stay two nights. You get a second room for your kids at 50% off!! I got our room for $109. If you book online, your total doesn't show the 50% for second room, but if you call and book they'll explain that it'll be correct at checkout.
- Two nights in a quality room
- 50 per cent discount on the second room for the kids
- Free pay per view movie
- Spongebob Squarepants themed room and amenity for the kids
- Hand-made chocolates
- Large tote for carrying around everything you will need
- Munchies and spring water
- Maps and area information
- Four Metro passes

The two rooms were a FABULOUS value if travelling in DC with children. We weren't too far to walk to attractions and everything was as advertised in the special. The bathrooms were super clean and the rooms were SPACIOUS! The children loved the HUGE plasma tv's in each room! WOW, what a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyofFive2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

According to the website for this hotel, refrigerators are one of the amenities (listed under Accommodations.) When I called to confirmed the reservation, i was informed that the refrigerator would be no problem. It was a requirement since we had medicine with us that required refrigeration.

Upon entering the room it became readily apparent that there was no refrigerator. I went downstairs to the desk and was informed that refrigerators are "not guaranteed". WELL, MARRIOTT, then you should say that on your website and when you are called!!! In any case, the staff was as accommodating as possible offering the use of the kitchen of the restaurant (not owned by the hotel, but located on the hotel's grounds) and temporarily in the employee's lounge (the restaurant was closed upon our arrival.)

Two days into the vacation, at 4:30 a.m., the air conditioner started to make a raucous sound equivalent to an alarm going off. Suffice it to say there was no maintenance staff at that hour, so we were offered alternate accommodations. Unfortunately the air conditioner in that room was not very quiet. What does it take in this day and age to get quiet accommodations?!

The location was satisfactory, although we did notice hotels closer to the Metro. I make this point since it was 99F when we arrived and pretty much stayed at that level during the entire stay.

One other point: the restaurant does not provide room service for breakfast and stops serving breakfast at 9:30 a.m. There were only two other places offering breakfast after this time in the whole of Dupont Circle and neither were very good. (I love breakfast!)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wandering_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This place is expensive. To park your car it is 25.00 per day. Even if you dont use it. The rooms were nice. They had a weird smell tho. The internet service went down the for a whole day, which made it hard to check-in for the plane. My wife and I ordered room service, and it was 42.00 for a peice of chicken some veggies(but not much) and a salad. To me that is EXPENSIVE. When we checked in, the lady behind the counter was hard to understand, and she was a little short and rude. It was hard to find anywhere to eat near the location. It was a 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro station. I will absolutely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jvillari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews