We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI Washington DC Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HI Washington DC Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed 3nights in HI Washington, Staff is really nice, and mostly the "breakfast man", he's funny !!
I stayed in 4beds, facilities are shared with the floor, was enough showers and toilets.
It is clean and nice. and there is elevator if you have heavy luggage.
The breakfast is good, bagels, cereals, bread, juice, milk, tea, coffee, peanut butter, jam, butter.

Location is close to subway, museum, place to see and places where you can eat. A Safeway is close by.

Good deal to staying in Washington DC

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyCaUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
AmyCaUS: Thanks for the nice note! John, at Breakfast, is renowned for helping strangers to meet one another during breakfast. Glad you like the cleanliness and other features of the hostel, too! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    286
    95
    29
    19
See reviews for
23
57
306
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this was a great hostel. It had everything you needed in abundance, the kitchen is huge and you never have to wait for appliances. The lounge and other common areas were a great place to charge your phone and chat with fellow travelers. The front desk people would help you out of you asked them questions about the city but they weren't too friendly otherwise. The bunks are comfortable for hostel standards, and the lockers in room and in basement were great for storing things while you were away. Also, the security is pretty tight there- so it was nice not to have to lie to my parents about that:)

I have a few suggestions to make this hostel a 5/5. First, as a few people have already mentioned, there is a zero alcohol policy which, makes you feel like you're being treated a bit like a child. Changing this would change the atmosphere and make the adults in the hostel have a better time! Secondly, I went on the Monuments Walking Tour and it was pretty awful, not for a lack of trying, our guide was really friendly but not the most knowledgable. We had so much walking to do that we couldn't stop at monuments for more than 3-5 minutes without losing the guide, he didn't have a noticeable sign so finding our guide in the crowds was REALLY difficult. Moreover, there were no bathroom breaks (our guide didn't even point out the bathrooms!) This tour would have been 100 times better if there was a bus that took us back to the hostel at the end of the tour, it was almost 10:20pm by the time we finished and took another 1/2 hour to walk back. I did like the fact that we went to several monuments I wouldn't have gone too on my own so it was worth it!

Overall, fantastic stay! Had everything you would need and a relaxed atmosphere! Oh, and HI DC has a very basic free breakfast every morning that tides you over until lunch. Will stay again next time I'm in the DC area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordic_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Nordic_gypsy: Thank you so much for all of your inputs! There is some great information in there. I am a bit concerned about the friendliness issue. Usually, we get high marks as our team genuinely enjoys helping hostellers. I will speak with them to see what happened. My apologies.

The ideas you have for the tours is truly excellent. We are already developing a strategy strategy for bathroom breaks and Guide visibility. The general knowledge part is probably a training issue, which I think we can address pretty quickly. To be honest, the bus idea is probably a non-starter. We offer free tours and events; if we had a bus, then we would have to charge money for them. Totally not what we're going for. We want to have as many cool, fun, and free events as we can.

Thanks, again, for all of your insights! Super-helpful! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hostel has some great facilities. I stayed 3 nights, in a mixed gender room. The communal bathrooms are a little dated (especially the showers) but clean nevertheless.

The common room seemed to be pretty quiet most of the time but there is a pool table and a cards room as well as computers. The wifi is fantastic, worked even in my room on the 7th floor!!

There's not much going on in the evenings but they do offer tours etc of the city.

Free breakfast is awesome, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, fruit and juice. John the breakfast monitor is a legend! So funny and cheerful, just make sure you tell him "good morning" in a language other than English or you might find yourself the centre of attention in the breakfast room, introducing yourself to everyone on your table..

The front desk staff are all really cheery and ready to help you with anything you need.

All in all enjoyable stay at the hostel, not my favourite HI but well run nevertheless. Only downside would be the lack of organised evening activities.

Room Tip: Lower floors if you can because the elevator is appallingly slow, and taking the stairs to the 7th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Bogisz: Thanks for the grand review! We're jazzed that you like the cleanliness, amenities (we just upgraded the Wi-Fi, so glad you enjoyed!), tours, breakfast, and staff friendliness. You are spot-on about John. He is phenomenal!

We do pretty well at meeting our goal of having at least one (1) activity per day. Sometimes they are during the day, and sometimes they are in the evenings. It's all about our uber-cool cast of Volunteers and what they are able to do. Generally, we have about four (4) evening events per week -- pub crawls, night monuments tour, dinner nights, etc. The rest are more day-oriented, like some of our other tours, Sunday concerts, and such. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Awesome!! The hostel is great for single travelers. It is right in the heart of the city and everything is a small walk away. The breakfast is good. Meeting fellow travelers and making friends is one easy task if you are staying here.The beds are in good condition and don't squeak all night. I would recommend this one to you for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCn2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
KCn2487: Great stuff! So glad you enjoyed. You made our day! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

After saving for two years we took a group of 22 Girl Scouts for a 5 day trip to Washington DC. We found it very easy to book our stay at HI and were able to secure 5 rooms for April vacation week. The team at the Hostel was great to work with, check in was easy and John at breakfast was great. He would greet us every morning and make us say good morning in another language wihich everyone had fun with. The rooms were nice, beds could be updated but I found if I used the comfoter underneath me it felt fine.

Great location. We found it very easy to navigate around DC from the Hostel. All of the major attractions were a quick walk away and when we did use public transportation we found it to be close to the hostel. Really enjoyed the subway next door and burger joint a quick walk away. The group had fun with the pool table at night and enjoyed the movie room and dining area to sit down and relax after a long day touring. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were cleaned every night. I was nervouse that it was going to be noisy at night but never found that to be a problem.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side and could hear every thing outside. Another one of our rooms was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
James Z: We are thrilled that after all of your hard work and saving, that you choose our hostel for your stay in Washington, DC! We're glad you enjoyed our team members, location, amenities, and cleanliness. All essential to a great stay. Thanks for trusting us for your trip and for the note! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Really impressed with the facilities here.

The security is great, with a swipe card not only needed to access the rooms, but to access anywhere upstairs areas at all. This means unless you have a swipe card, you won't get passed the lobby.

The kitchen is a commercial kitchen with amazing facilities. It made cooking a breeze, which was very enjoyable.

The are great activities offered which allow you to mingle with different people. I went to the baseball for $10 with the hostel, and got fantastic seats too.

The location is great too - very close to all monuments of interest, the museums, and a short bus ride to Georgetown.

Being a HI, there is no alcohol allowed within the hostel (and there was a HEAP of kids around anyway); however this is a very small disadvantage.

I would happily recommend this hostel to anyone, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Ryan C: Woo-hoo! Now that's a great title to a review! A safe place, cool kitchen, fun activities, and convenient location. Yup, that's us! :-) It's true about the alcohol, but we're working with the city on a work-around for that. I'll keep folks posted via Trip Advisor when there is progress to report. Thanks for the fantastic review and recommendations! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a private room with our own bathroom on the top floor. It was clean and spacious and quiet except for the many sirens at street level through the night. The staff without exception were extremely friendly and helpful. They happily answered questions, gave directions and advice. Bravo! The included breakfast was much appreciated. We also enjoyed John who greeted us at breakfast each morning and gave encouragement to strike up conversations with fellow travellers. We loved being able to cook for ourselves in the kitchen. This hostel is well located to the metro and all the sights. There were a few cons if you are a light sleeper as I am-
. Use ear plugs to block out the sirens
. The rooms are bright due to street lights - use an eye mask if necessary
.The mattresses are thin, you could feel the wires underneath and it dipped in the middle. Maybe they are due to be replaced.
.The climate control vent was noisy switching on and off during the night.
Apart from these things our stay was brilliant. It is one of the best HI hostels that we have stayed in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BeijingFreckleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
BeijingFreckleface: Nice room! We only have 2 private rooms with en suite bath (and kitchenette). I am glad to read that you liked yours. It's wonderful to read that the HI-DC team made you feel so welcome. That's what we strive for! And it makes our day to know that our hostel was one of the best ones you have visited. Wow!

We do need to do something about the mattresses in some of the rooms. Thank you for mentioning that. The A/C units can be a little noisy, particularly for a light sleeper, like yourself. I have to be honest about that one: Not much we can do when the issue is the sound the unit makes turning on and off. If it were a rattle inside or something like that, we could probably fix it. I'm very sorry.

All in all, the entire HI-DC team is thrilled that you had such a "brilliant" stay! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Washington DC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Washington DC Hostel

Property: HI Washington DC Hostel
Address: 1009 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Washington DC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-DC is the best value in DC! Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together international and domestic budget travelers in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Sustainable Travel International's STEP ("green") program, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your HI Washington DC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing