We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HI Washington DC Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$370
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$363
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$499
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
220
321
105
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
321
105
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsfree breakfastfree activitiesfemale dormcommon roomfree earplugstop bunkgreat locationwhite housecommunal areasshared bathroomdorm roomluggage storagekey cardmetro center stationnational mallsafe area
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 700 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not enough plug sockets in my dorm room, but everything is kept very clean, the rooms are spacious & there are plenty of social areas. Also a great choice of items for the free breakfast & a couple of well-stocked vending machines for when you get peckish.

In a great location close to a metro station & easy to get to all the main sights. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Irnnnn: Short, concise...and accurate! Thanks! Oh, about the outlets in the dorm rooms. We are in the process of installing bed lamps for each bed, and each lamp has two (2) plugs. That should help! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for five days in October with my sister in ten bed female room. It was our first time to stay in a hostel, rooms were clean, safe area, great location and friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and John was terrific, ensuring everyone got to know each over over breakfast. Plenty of organised trips and tours. Highly recommended for all

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbyrne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

tbyrne87: I'm so happy HI-DC could host you for your first hostelling experience! And it's fantastic that you and your sister had such a positive experience. John, at breakfast, truly is a remarkable person. Please think of us when you come back to DC, and try other HI hostels where ever you travel. Thanks for the note! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stay here two nights in the private room on the eight floor.Staff were great and really helpful.Can walk to all the main tourist attractions.The staff help me get my phone fixed up T mobible.Breakfast was great and John? was a great way to start the day off.Loved this place,thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

krugerandmore: It's so nice to read that HI-DC helped you to have a great start to your trip! We get loads of wonderful comments about John, who deserves every single one of them. Thanks for passing along your happy vibes! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

this hostel is in quite good condition. The rooms are good, a little cramped- but what hostel isn't like that. The complimentary breakfasts in the mornings are great, and a great way to meet people. The "common room" is the only area that gets wifi so people tend to sit there on their laptops and phones, not really talking to others which is a bit of a shame. Great location though, not a bad walk to all the main monuments.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
Thank woodsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

woodsyo: Most of the descriptions you posted are lovely. Thanks for those! Too bad about the title ("not bad"). We strive to be so much better than that.

I'm sorry that the Wi-Fi situation isn't what you would have wanted. We've heard from other hostels that have Wi-Fi in the rooms that there is a challenge between those who want to sleep and those who want to use their computers.

We thought that encouraging hostellers with laptops to use them in the common spaces would do two (2) things. First, it would help to create an environment more conducive to sleep in the rooms. Second, it would bring everyone down to the Common Room and encourage more face-to-face interaction. We're still evaluating that, and we'll keep your comments in mind. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was very tiered from travelling the hole day when i arrived at the hostel and just pick a locker. Unfortunally i took the wrong one/wrong number and the hostel broke there inside. For me there can be no sorry to fix that in no way, cause its my only privacy/privat space and they ignored that totally !!! I got my staff back but thats not how u handle such things, there are much other lockers and a little bit more flexibility and communication could help. Thanks for broking in my locker/privacy. Just for sleeping the hostel is really ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemens26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Clemens26: I'm so sorry that we had to cut your lock. We do try to locate the person who used the wrong one before cutting, but it looks like we couldn't find you. Happily, all of your belongings were returned to you.

You are absolutely right about the locker being the one place for privacy and security in a shared room. That's why it's so important that people use their assigned locker (and sleep in the assigned bed). With people coming and going on different days, it's the only way to ensure that everyone has their own space for security (and for sleeping). Otherwise, no one would know what's theirs.

I'm very sorry that this affected your impression of the hostel and your experience. If only there were a better way to keep this from happening. We have locker / bed numbers on each locker / bed, and we ensure that we tell everyone their number at check-in. It's also on the Access Receipt and Sign-In Sheet everyone receives at check-in. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews