We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, dorm style, lots of people, popular destination, conservative.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HI Washington DC Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a friendly hostel that likes people to feel very involved with the city. Lots of outings. A continental breakfast is included with a very friendly man going around helping people meet and feel comfortable together. Worldly. All ages. A little sterile. Good for school groups, more conservative types. Sure there are artist and more interesting tourist but was not there enough to meet any. Met a girl scout group traveling through... A little expensive. $48 for top bunk bed, 4 women sharing. Bathrooms were very clean and large. Feels like a clean you are living in a clean high school. Big building, cafeteria style lunch room. There are cheaper places to stay but if I was in charge of a group I would pick here. If I was a bohemian backpacker... I might stay elsewhere. If you are tourist or intern this is a place where you will likely make friends fast. Close to subway. Nice easy to find entrance. Elevator. If this place was about $10 cheaper I would consider it a decent price. $50 just seemed excessive for the narrow room with bunk beds lining the wall. Clean and the bed was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirenanathalieNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

sirenanathalieNyc: Your comments are all well taken. Thanks for all of the details!

DC is an expensive city, and even dorm beds can seem pricey. I do have good news for you. If you wanted to save $10, it's easy. Generally, the price difference between our Premium Dorms (4 beds) and Economy Dorms (10 beds) is $10. We try to offer options to people, particularly in the pricing. Those wanting to save as much as possible, can do that. Those willing to pay a little extra to have fewer roommates, can do that, too.

~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for HI Washington DC Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 674 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

As a hostel this place is pretty standard in American terms. Its clean, its safe and it serves a breakfast for free.

What this Hostel also gives you is its location, 5-10 minutes walk from the White House and other tourist attactions, its close to many nice bars and restaurants, they offer free tours and nights out and was very informative and helpful at reception.

The hostel has free wi-fi in the lobby and kitchen areas, free bananas on reception (what more could you want?), pool tables and multiple vending machines.

The only downside we found was the loud A/C machines in the room and an annoying charge to store your luggage after checkout - although they did waive this for us as we only wanted to store them for an hour.

So Overall not a bad place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank random_man21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

random_man21: Sounds like a pretty good experience! Glad you liked the location, cleanliness, activities, free Wi-Fi, and of course the free bananas. My apologies for the issues with the A/C. Next time, please let us know so we can attempt to fix the problem. We want everyone to have safe, comfortable, and fun stay in DC. Thanks for the review! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If I could give it a lower score I most certainly would....
After a long day myself and 4 friends arrived at the hostel to a very miserable man on reception.. He didn't even raise his head to look at us when we walked in the door. After a long silence we announced that we would like to check in. Even this seemed to much for him. He rudely and abruptly asked how we'd be paying .. i think this were his first words to us. My friend politely asked if he'd like us to pay for the whole stay now or just one night to which he replied that we were only booked for one night. Back in February we had booked one night only but in early March we had changed this to 4 nights and had received confirmation by email from the hostel that this was all changed for us.
It was now May and their excuse...when they finally came to one.. was that people don't always check hand over emails from the person who has been on the previous shift....(???!!!)
Obviously we were very annoyed and said that it was clearly a fault on their part - they didn't see it this way .. rudely shaking their heads at us when we expressed our frustration and refusing to sort the situation. The man then rudely stormed off out of reception, leaving the woman to deal with us. Feeling very fed up, we tried calling alternative hostels but as it was memorial weekend they were all booked up. So after a while we came to the conclusion that we would stay in the dorm room arranged for the night and then the woman agreed to move us to a private room for 2 nights..and then back to another dorm for the final night. Despite the fact that the man had just told us that the private rooms do not have enough beds to cater for us... obviously another LIE!
It was helpful that she managed to put us in a private room but if I'm honest the whole experience was a total shambles, having to pack up and move our bags each night from floor to floor, especially with an elevator that takes about 10minutes to come and another 15 to reach the floor you're after.
Additionally...if it could get much worse, after staying in the dorm room the first night, I woke up with little bites all over my back and stomach which I am 99% sure were bed bugs...
WORD OF WARNING....DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helen7542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Helen7542: What a terrible experience! I am so very sorry about how you were treated. There is simply no excuse. I am going to address this with my team to ensure nothing like this happens again. We could have handled this in so many better ways, and we didn't do any of them. Please accept my deepest apologies.

Regarding the bites, we'll address that immediately, too. We have a preventive maintenance program in place (each month, 1 guestroom floor is treated) such that every room is treated twice per year. In addition, whenever there is even a possibility of an issue, we treat that room as soon as the specialist can get here. We'll do that, now.

My hope is to reach out to you via email to ensure that you know that we sincerely care about your difficulties and that we are addressing them. Also, I would like to find out where you stayed prior to staying at HI-DC because it can take up to 4 days for bedbug bites to show. That way, I can warn that property that they may have an issue.

Once again, I am truly sorry about how our poor service impacted your stay. As difficult as it can be to read about how we failed to live up to our mission, that's nothing compared to being on the receiving end of such behavior. We will do better. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can learn from our mistakes. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

a bit far from Metro Station, had a difficulty to find places to eat, no free storage (a day for $5.00..expemsive but better than no storage), not eanought space in the hostel, but a good location to walk around the town, the breakfast staff was very freindly, staying here for 1 or 2nights would be Ok but not sure if i can stay here for 1 week...maybe not.
and unluckly, there were noisy school trip kids at the same time when I stayed, I couldn't slee at all becaouse their noise from the thin walls in very late night and early moring...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maple555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Maple555: It does sound like your stay was just OK. I am glad to read that you liked our location and breakfast / team. However, I'm sorry we weren't able to deliver a better experience for you. It's true that we're 5 blocks from the Metro. In the heat, it can feel farther! We have a handful of restaurants within a couple of blocks. For a great selection, China Town is about 5 blocks away -- and if you didn't like the walk from the Metro, than this would be equally disappointing. Sometimes, we do have school groups in the hostel. In the future, if people are loud outside our quiet hours (11 PM to 7 AM), please let us know. We'll do all we can to help you get a good night's sleep. Thank you for sharing all of your thoughts and experiences. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I am not experienced with hostels but I stayed here for a week with a school group. The hostel is a great choice. It is walking distance to metro center and to the Smithsonian, federal triangle, and the monuments.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

gatorj: I'm so happy to know that you and your group had such a good time at HI-DC! Thanks for the great note! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

As someone who already tried few hostel, this fulfill expectations:

- Clean rooms to share, in my case with 5 more people.
- One bathroom for each gender in each floor, so you probably will meet with someone else in there.
- Bed, sheets and bathrooms cleans and decent.
- Breakfast every morning include but of course you must clean your dishes.
- Bending machines on second floor at good prices.
- Free wifi on first 2 floors.
- Some games in first floor.
- Great location, near to principal POI, also near to a Metro and with good access to buses.

Some points that make it better than other hostels

- Staff is very nice, specially Jhon who take care of breakfast, he not only encourage people to teach him phrases in their native language, but also I observed him trying to connect people who seem lonely to make them friends.
- They offer almost daily some plan to do in the city, that beside help you know the city, let you connect with other guest at the hostel and best part, they do it for free (usually who give the tours are volunteers and not expect even a tip)

Only thing that I not like that much is the $4 for storage baggage in basement lockers, they can make it $2 or $3

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

BernardoMG: Thank you for your review and listing what you liked -- and really liked -- about HI-DC. It's 100% true that John, at breakfast, is a gem. There's no one like him, and we're lucky to have such a wonderful host. Also, our activities and tours, all volunteer led, are another high point for hostellers. The lockers are a tough one. The locker room in the basement used to be a free luggage storage room, but we had trouble with people going through other people's belongings. The only viable option, then, was to ask a vendor to supply the lockers. Unfortunately, they set the prices. It's not a money-thing for us. If we could, we would make it free. Great insights and discussions. Thanks! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Went to DC for a week on a school trip, and we decided to stay at Hostelling International. Breakfast is served each morning, but cleaning of plates is your responsibility (of course; since it's a hostel). The gentleman who served the breakfast each morning was fun, and required that his guests greeted him with the a "good morning" in a different language each day.The receptionists were very friendly and helpful too. The elevator is only for use if the situation requires you to use it - when it is not possible for you to use the stairs; usually the stairs are used. Also, you''re given a wristband - at least we were - to prove that you actually are staying at the hotel. Cards are given instead of keys, and we found that to be very convenient. The location of the hostel is terrific, to say the least. It isn't far from a bus stop either, though it is recommended to take a cab instead. Overall, I'd say that we were all, the entire class, pretty content about staying there - it made our trip easier.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaBayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

TinaTheConqueror: Everything sounds so wonderful the way you tell it! Thanks for posting such a wonderful review. Glad to read that your group enjoyed yourselves! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,692 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
4,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Washington DC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Washington DC Hostel

Address: 1009 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range: $30 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Washington DC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at HI DC is like visiting your friends in the nation's living room! As a non-profit organization dedicated to cultural understanding through travel, we're excited to warmly welcome everyone. Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together budget travelers from around the world in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Trip Advisor's Green Leaders Program, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HI Washington DC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing