We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost There”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost There”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This lovely little gem nestled between Georgetown and Foggy Bottom just missed my perfect mark. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, the front desk is helpful and friendly, and the location is only a short walk from the metro station and cab ride from Wisconsin Blvd.

However, the "restaurant" is sorely lacking in selections and staffed by people who are less than friendly and accommodating. Now, I put restaurants in quotes because its really a coffee/bar cafe so it isn't touted as full service anyway. There is very little to choose from for breakfast and nothing included with the room price so this could become costly for a larger family. I'd recommend you walk across the street to Trader Joe's market and stock the full sized room refrigerator to cook in the lovely suite kitchens.

All-in-all I'd recommend a stay here and suggest requesting an upper floor on the side facing Georgetown (Foggy Bottom side has a gorgeous church next door and the view is lovely but having the bells go off on Sunday a.m. wasn't conducive to the "Sleep-in" I had planned :-) Pay the parking fee to keep your car there overnight, it's drive in and out privileges and worth the money to avoid the parking headache - and the valet is very fast about retrieving your car should you need it.

If you have any problems or special requests ask for Sophie - she was outstanding all the way around!

Room Tip: If you like church bells early on Sunday morning go for the Foggy Bottom side. If you prefer to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Jeanine44,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed your accommodations, amenities, location and service. I also appreciate your feedback regarding our food offerings and service at the restaurant and will be certain this is shared with our food and beverage team. I will also make certain Sophie is recognized for being so outstanding. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    354
    63
    17
    2
See reviews for
711
253
29
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a Double Queen suite in early May. Right from the beginning, our experience was great. The reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We checked in on a Friday morning early with no problems, were offered a free yoga class on Saturday, and within 30 minutes of going up to our suite, Anya from reception called to see if everything was ok.

The suites are large with a full kitchen (which are in need of some updating, though). Large living room and dining room area, a flat screen TV in both the living room and the separate bedroom. Nice surprises in the bathroom included high-end L'Occitane toiletries and a rain shower head.

They have a lovely back patio, and little extras such as free newspapers and ice water in the lobby.

Location is great - close to Foggy Bottom/GWU metro station and just a few blocks to Georgetown. There are tons of shops and restaurants close by, a Trader Joe's across the street for groceries, and a bus stop close by to catch the Circulator bus. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Lincoln Memorial and DuPont Circle, and 30 minutes to the White House.

The free Saturday yoga was great, there's a little gym and the only thing missing was a pool. Otherwise, it would be just about perfect.

Why get a hotel room when you can get a suite? When choosing a place to stay, I came to a choice between the River Inn (also close by in Foggy Bottom) and Avenue Suites. Both had amazing reviews and unbeknownst to me at the time, they are both owned by Modus chain. Seems that either choice would have been fantastic. I well definitely come back to this hotel in my next visit to Washington.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Therichpeasant,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that your stay was so satisfactory and that our accommodations, amenities, location, complimentary Yoga and service had so much to do with that. On behalf of my team, we look forward to your return trip from Toronto.

Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

For a quite reasonable price we got a large suite with a kitchen. The room was extraordinarily comfortable--room for a business meeting, lots of space to spread out. The kitchen had a coffee maker, microwave, stove, and toaster. There is a Trader Joes across the street so it is easy to stock the kitchen for breakfast, lunch and late night snacks. Lots of good restaurants in the neighborhood for dinner. As other reviews have pointed out, the staff are fantastic. And there is a court outside where you can work or read—very comfortable.

The only down-sides I would point out: 1) The restaurant in the hotel closes at 9 and the bar at 10, both too early for us to have sampled them. 2) We were in room 207, and there is a pump nearby that cycles on and off (not at night, thankfully) which is a little annoying.

I would definitely go back, and at this year's price, I wouldn't look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear alanterra,
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience and that the service provided by my team had so much to do with that. On behalf of everyone at Avenue we look forward to your return visit from California.
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff couldn't have been nicer, they were amazing. Perfect for a family. Rooms are huge with a full kitchen. Modern hotel rooms that were very nice and clean. Kitchen, not so much but I didn't care it was just nice to have! Great location in a lovely neighborhood with grocery stores, restaurants and shopping all nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondeinwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear blondeinwi99,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I appreciate your comments about our staff, room size and amenities, cleanliness and location. On behalf of my team we look forward to your return visit from Ohio.
Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed for a weekend in May 2014 and can say this hotel is a real gem! From the moment we got there the staff was engaged with us to be sure our needs were met and exceeded. The room was spotless, huge with a patio and very quiet. Mosha at the front desk gets our thanks for her patience, cheerfulness and knowledge...she really hit the mark on every suggestion and we are very grateful for the time she gave us. We would definitely return and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 123 had a private patio and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nametaken75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear nametaken75,

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to know that your enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and service. I will be certain to share your comments with Masho regarding her service. On behalf of my team, look forward to welcoming you back from NY very soon.

Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in February because I had to have surgery at the hospital nearby. They gave us a very fair rate and the suite was very large with a bedroom w a King bed, living room, kitchen and bathroom. The view was nice and each and every one of the staff members went out of the way for us. The doorman always helped me into the taxi from my wheel chair or crutches and was so sweet. Anya and Kyle, 2 of the front desk associates even sent a bouquet of flowers up to my room to cheer me up after my surgery. This is a nice location, real close to the metro and lots of great dining choices. Thank you Avenue Suites for going that extra step in making on our stay a good one even thought we were there for a not so fun surgery. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseAndDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear DeniseAndDennis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in February. I am thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay and how the team made every effort to ensure that you were taken care of after your surgery. I am also thrilled that you are doing better and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We loved this hotel! The location is great (close to the airport and close to Georgetown and close to a Metro station). The rooms are good, especially for a family of four! The only downside is that there are not enough drawers for a family of four.

The people who run the front desk are very helpful and the kids and I loved coming back at 5 PM for chocolates and champagne!!!!

The fully stocked kitchen (dishes, glasses, pots, etc) was great. We saved time and money by having breakfast in our room every morning and having Trader Joe's across the street was fabulous.

Can't wait to come back again!

Our room has two queen beds in one room with a bathroom, a living room with an eating area, desk and TV and sofa and then the fully stocked kitchen!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weitzmansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear weitzmansf,

Thank you for your recent stay and for loving our hotel! I am thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed our location, amenities and most importantly our service. On behalf of my team, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Avenue Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,633 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,458 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
317 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing