We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit since the renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My first visit since the renovations”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times before. This was the 1st time I stayed here since the renovations. Honestly, I liked the Federal Style they had before a bit better. Not much of a hollywood fan myself. But my preferences aside, it is lovely. They have done a great job in the lobby and new restaurant. The rooms are pretty much the same as I remember them, but they are very comfortable and offer enormous space! The Location is tops, easy to walk just about anywhere. I did find the breakfast a bit expensive, and on the average side in terms of taste and quality. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Drew Geneva,

First and foremost, welcome back! I am thrilled to learn that your return trip to Avenue suites was to your satisfaction. I appreciate your comments about the renovations of the lobby, restaurant and rooms. Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast offerings. I will make certain to share this with our F&B team. Please do not hesitate to contact me upon your next visit to DC.

Warmest regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    353
    63
    17
    2
See reviews for
709
253
29
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Rooms are nice and spacious and perfect for a family. Location is easy walking distance to many nice attractions and Georgetown. Furniture in the rooms was a bit more beaten up than I would expect- lots of missing veneer and staining of various things. There was not a working drain-plug in the bathroom sink, and the tub-shower was something more reminiscent of a Red Roof than a somewhat high end apartment-hotel like this one, though they tacked on a rain-showerhead to make it a little fancier. This is a nice place to stay in DC, and if you get a good price, by all means, go for it. That said, always remember, you won't get Four Seasons room at Holiday Inn prices, and the case is no different here- If you want Four Seasons- it's about 2 blocks away and about 3x as expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baltimooron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to learn that you found our rooms to be spacious and our location very convenient. I do apologize about the condition of the furniture in your guest room and the drain in your sink. Please rest assured that these issues have been shared with our maintenance team to ensure they get addressed. On behalf of everyone at Avenue Suites, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fiora, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights.the staff is very cordial,housekeeping efficient and suites spacious.so handy to have a real kitchen.the location is excellent,circulator,buses and metro nearby.Georgetown is just minutes away.the occitaine products are a plus.will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gabyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Gabyna,

Thank you for your recent visit. I am delighted to learn that during your six night stay with us you found our colleagues to be very cordial and efficient. Thank you as well for your comments about our spacious rooms, full kitchens, convenient location and wonderful bath products. On behalf of everyone at Avenue Suites, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Service terrific staff friendly and helpful. Walking distance to subway and Lincoln memorial. Huge plus having a small kitchen and a traders joes across the street. So much to see and do in dc sometimes you just want to have a simple home cooked meal. The one significant complaint was that although daytime temperatures still in mid 70's air conditioning has been turned off in building. Rooms got and stayed very warm 76-78 despite having windows open which was not really option at night because of the busy and noisy street below.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluenoseadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear CurrentOpinion2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am glad to know that you found our location, amenities and service to your satisfaction. I do apologize about the temperature issues you encountered during your stay. I have shared your feedback with our engineering team to make sure it does not happen again. On behalf of everyone at Avenue Suites, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warmest regards

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staying at The Avenue Suites and all the positive things others have said (but none of the negatives) apply.
Rooms clean, location great, all staff friendly and helpful.
As for Mr. Seck - after hearing so much about him, he had taken on mythic proportions and I was expecting the anticipation of meeting him to be far greater than the event itself.
Well I was wrong, he was everything I was led to believe and more. Even the Mrs. and the kids agreed and we hardly agree unanimously on anything.
I must add that all the other members of staff were equally good, both front of house and the people who help make it all possible like the chambermaids, cleaners and maintenance staff I came into contact with. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
I'll just say it's like Mr. Seck is Bruce Springsteen and the others are the E Street Band.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place. Better stop now otherwise people reading this may think I've been paid to write this.
SKM
Ps I'm not

Room Tip: We stayed at room 1012. Roomy and close to the lift but not so close you could hear all the comings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sma2151791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear SKM2151791,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations with regards to cleanliness, location and service. I was also delighted to read your comments about Mr. Seck. He is truly remarkable and an asset to our team. Please rest assured that I have already shared your wonderful comments with him. On behalf of the team at Avenue Suites, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Warmest regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I read the reviews for this hotel before booking, so I was expecting good service. I was blown away by how good it was. Everyone I encountered at the front desk and the breakfast bar was polite and eager to help. After I booked with the hotel, I found a cheaper rate elsewhere, and that was handled quickly and to my satisfaction. When I arrived - late, with small children, my dad, and a husband on crutches - I asked about the valet parking, which seemed kind of expensive, and the front desk clerks directed me to free street parking. We rented a scooter for my husband to use during our visit, and it did not arrive when it was supposed to. The front desk staff did everything they could to help us find an alternative. This hotel is in a great location and the room we had was super clean with high-quality toiletries. The kitchen was a little run down, but we only used the refrigerator and Keurig. It was fine for what we needed. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Delisa B,

Thank you for making your decision to stay with us based on the reviews you found on-line. I am delighted that the service provided by our team did not disappoint you and that you found our amenities and location perfect for your entire family. On behalf of our team at Avenue Suites, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Warmest regards
Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a memorable stay, not that the hotel was excellent but the arrangement and comfortability. Our room had a separate living room and a small kitchen. We cooked together, after a day long meetings and discussions, sip through chilled beer with fried sausage or shrimp. The break was too small but I liked the stay in the hotel because of the location and comfort like own studio apartment. The bank, transport and super shop were within 5 minutes walk. I stayed there in the second week of October 2012 for one week.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShashankaSaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego H, General Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear ShashankaS,

Thank you for writing about your past experience at Avenue Suites. I am glad that you the accommodations comfortable and that you found the amenities and location convenient for your needs. On behalf of our team at Avenue Suites, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Diego Heredia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,627 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing