We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great option”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

These suites are excellent.

They are a really good size in all respects - bedroom, bathroom, sitting area, dining area and kitchen. We didn't get full value out of this because we were out seeing the city, but it was great to have a lot of space. The quality was good too.

We were fine being out of the centre of the city. I think that it took us around 15/20 minutes to walk to The White House on a humid morning; perhaps slightly longer to walk back from the Lincoln Memorial at the end of a sight-seeing day. Foggy Bottom Metro station is close and the Metro is very efficient and comfortable.

The staff on the front desk were welcoming, friendly and efficient.

At the front of the building we heard the police motorbikes when they started patrolling the city from around 6.00am onwards. In general, though, this was a calm location.

We had breakfast in the A Bar and that was a bit of a disappointment. That was a shame because everything else about the Avenue Suites was so good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Counting_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Greetings Counting_Boy,

It is so exciting to hear that word of the Avenue Suites has reached all the way to the United Kingdom. Our property is indeed in close proximity to the White House as well as all of the other historic sights on the National Mall. I am a tad perturbed by your disapointing experience in our restaurant and would love the opportunity to discuss it further when you have a moment. You are correct that Pennsylvania Avenue can be a tad noisy at times and urge all guests who prefer a quieter accommodation to e-mail me prior to their arrival so I can secure a guest room on the back side of the building.

Thanks again for your 5-star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    362
    63
    17
    2
See reviews for
726
253
29
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just leaving after a great trip. Like others said, great location, Mitch is fabulous about accommodating requests ahead of time and hotel is big and clean. We are a family of six, however, and although there was plenty of space for us in the rooms, the hotel is not set up to accommodate 6 people. The staff and housekeeping treated us as though we were a party of four. Getting six towels was a struggle and each day we were only given two keurig cups for coffee. Each night we would have to go to the desk to ask for more. One night, my husband asked for two coffe pods and the desk attendant attendant told him "no" that he had given him two extra the night before. My husband explained there were six of us and the guy begrudgingly gave him one more coffee. I'm not sure if it is a cost issue, but if so, please put a regular coffee maker in the room in addition to the Keurig. Part of vacation for us is relaxing in the mornings with coffee--such a great change from the work week. Yes, delicious coffee is available at the breakfast spot downstairs, but I didn't want to get dressed to go buy coffee! Also, as great as it was to have the kitchen, there was only service for four so we never had enough plates or utensils for all of us. Additionally, although the suites are spacious, there is no drawer space--only a built in closet/ bureau with a hanging area and shelves. We lived out of our suitcases since we didn't have enough space for the clothes. None of this was enough to make us not stay again but it was annoying that they knew we were a party of six and didn't provide enough items for six people--especially since we were there for eight days. Asking for more towels and coffee got old since it required going downstairs after a long day or tipping for something that should have already been in the room.
Parking at the hotel was full when we arrived so we had to find an alternate garage. Ended up at The Shops at Georgetown which was less than a mile away and half the price of the nearby garage the hotel recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgodar145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
tgodar145,

While I am happy to hear that your time in Washington DC was overall positive, I would really like to apologize for the service issues that we tumbled on. Quite frankly, anything less than 5-stars is not acceptable to us and use all feedback to continue to work towards our goal of service perfection. I have added my phone number below in hopes of discussing your experience in more detail.

I look forward to speaking with you soon,
Mitchell Turow
phone: 202-464-5609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hants
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed (family of 5) here in July.

On arriving we were impressed with the staff. Courteous and helpful. Special mention for Herb who helped us with the very unhelpful Enterprise Hire Car people.

Rooms are large. Ours faced the back of the hotel which was quiet.

The bedroom had two queen beds which were good. The lounge had a sofa bed that frankly had seen better days. the mattress was acceptable but the pull out part horrendous and we soon ditched it.

The Trader Joe's across the street is fantastic. Helpful people, good prices and high quality food. We acquired breakfast materials there and we not disappointed.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk to Foggy Bottom metro. It's also about 5 minutes from the Georgetown shops in M street. For us that made a good combination.

We had a free mojito one afternoon and used the bar on another. Both very pleasant.

On leaving, the staff were again very helpful in arranging cars and bags transfer.

Room Tip: get a room at the back (odd numbers) as they are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
webberg,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. Herb is indeed an experienced veteran who can handle just about any issue that comes his way! You are correct that the odd-numbered rooms are significantly quieter and urge all guests to e-mail me prior to arrival so I can customize their room based on preferences. Thanks so much for your wonderful review and look forward to your next visit here at the Avenue Suites Georgetown.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Yes, there is a Trader Joe's across the street but we didn't get much there because really you ought to take every opportunity to dine at the wonderful restaurants in DC (this is definitely a city for "foodies"). The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. I'm a country girl so safety in the city is of paramount concern but I felt very safe in this hotel and walking around Georgetown. I even got the hang of the Metro. I agree with the other reviewer about SERVICE being where this hotel really shines. I was surprised to discover that Washington can be a snooty, indifferent, and even sometimes hostile city. The staff at Avenue Suites is extremely warm, friendly, and accommodating. I could not have asked for more from MITCH (who even made it possible for me to text him with questions or requests when I was out and about in the city!), SECK (who is a delightful human being and treated us like royalty), SAMANTHA (whose warm welcome, cheerful customer service, and willingness to go above and beyond was outstanding), TERRY (ditto all the above plus being easy on the eyes), and the lady at the coffee shop in the morning who was delightfully sweet and lovely. Thank you to everyone at Avenue Suites for making us feel at home. You made such a difference in how much we enjoyed our visit, and we enjoyed Washington immensely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolianne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
jolianne01,

I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to meet you and your entire family this past week at the Avenue Suites. Seck, Samantha, and Thierry were so thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with them here in Washington DC. As we discussed, I would love to keep in touch with you so we can coordinate your return visit for you all. Once again, thank you so much for your stellar comments and for passing your great comments about the Avenue Suites to all of our friends here on TripAdvisor.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel had so much space and a small kitchen area. after New York City's small hotel rooms this was like a real treat for our family of 4. and it was great to be able to make our own breakfast.
Also the area is lovely to walk around and a trader Joe's for groceries just across the street. i would definitely recommend this hotel to other families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melindasouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Greetings Melindasouthafrica,

It is so exciting to hear that word of the Avenue Suites has reached all the way to Jakarta! I must agree that our rooms feel like mansions compared to those in New York City. Please let me know the next time you are planning to visit Washington DC so I can personally take care of your reservations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family of 6 recently traveled to DC for summer vacation and Avenue Suites was amazing. We had a double queen room with an additional queen sofa bed. The room had a full kitchen and has a Trader Joes across the street so we were able to get groceries and eat in. The hotel is 4 blocks from the Foggy Bottom GWU metro stop. We flew into Reagan and walked with our kids and luggage to the location. Beware that mapquest walking directions are confusing and DuPont circle is under construction. Very safe neighborhood. We walked to the riverfront And also back from the metro station late at night with the kids ( after a night ball game and another night a moonlight you). The service is where this hotel shines. Amazing helpful staff. Wonderful place at a reasonable price for As many as we have to accommodate. There is no pool. They do have a sister propery with one they said we could use, however we did not do that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersLV08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
TravelersLV08,

We are so delighted that your stay with us at the Avenue Suites was a wonderful one. Our location is indeed stellar and incredibly safe for visiting families. As you said, our location and property are fantastic but it is our amazing staff that truly make the difference. I have passed your kudos onto them so they know just how appreciative you are of their great service.

Thanks again for your 5-star review of the Avenue Suites,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

great stay. Staff are very helpful. Rooms are of a good size with full kitchen. Trader Joe's (supermarket) is virtually across the road and has EVERYTHING and more. DC hop on hop off bus departs outside of the Four Seasons Hotel which is a 5 minute walk. Highly recommend the bus as it takes you to all sights. Was not aware that there was so much to do and see in DC so would recommend a 4 night min stay. Will stay again when in DC

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor facing Pennsylvania avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uaflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
petri l,

We are so gracious that you took the time to write a wonderful review of your time with us at the Avenue Suites. Trader Joe's is indeed a great asset to have right across the street especially as all of our guest rooms have full kitchens in them! I must agree that my favorite rooms are those on the higher floors with spectacular views. Please e-mail me the next time you are planning to visit so I can customize your visit to perfection.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,683 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,496 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing