We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved the location between Foggy Bottom and Georgetown. Staff was great. One bedroom suite with kitchen was terrific value. We saved money by making breakfast every morning and had dinner in one evening. The kitchen was perfect for us. The kids- 12 and 10- would have liked a pool but other than that really enjoyed the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 605 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott_ca_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

scott_ca_1970,

Thank you for sharing your Avenue Suites experience with all of our friends here on TripAdvisor. I agree that room 605 is spectacular as it has large windows which overlook Pennsylvania Avenue. Our kitchens are indeed perfect for preparing meals for your family before a long day of Washington DC sightseeing. Please e-mail with the dates of your next so we can coordinate the whole thing together.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Really comfortable suite for the 2 of us and 3 grandkids, one of whom used the sleeper sofa. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and we had a delightful stay. We really enjoyed the mojitos in the lobby when we returned from our days of sight-seeing. Note that the continental breakfast, which might appear to be included, is not -- but the Keurig coffee makers in the room make a reasonably nice cup of coffee -- and just across the street is Trader Joe's, which has milk, cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. N.B. the check-out queue there can be intimidating, but they have a dozen+ registers handling folks, so the queue moves fairly quickly, though it took us 17 mins on a Sunday night (popular time for locals to shop). As for public transportation, seniors can save money on the senior smartcards, but the inconvenience of having to purchase them (only) at the main office downtown can wipe out the savings, unless you do a lot of traveling. Also, if you're traveling with kids, note that 2 of our credit cards stopped allowing smartcard purchases after 2 cards (same thing happened in NYC), even after we'd notified the CC issuer that we'd be traveling, so we had to use 2 credit cards and an atm card to buy our 5 smartcards, since the machine designers didn't give us the option to buy multiple cards on one purchase -- same situation for adding money to the cards. At the Foggy Bottom station, the big machines are for adding money to the smartcards, but the cards may be bought only on the 2 small machines to the right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glassyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

glassyraven,

What a spectacular start to our day to read your incredibly detailed review of your recent visit of the Avenue Suites. It was so nice to meet you and your grandchildren while you were enjoying your time in Washington DC. It means the world to us to read when incredibly experienced travelers write 5-star reviews of our beautiful hotel. Our Keurig coffee makers are indeed a favorite of all guests and are happy that you were no exception! Please pass my regards onto your entire family on behalf of all of us here at the Avenue Suites Washington DC.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and three young sons (8,6 and 1) over Memorial Day weekend as we were in town for a wedding. Mitch at the front desk was so helpful and pleasant each and every time we passed through the lobby. All the staff were warm and attentive.

Great room. Clean and comfortable, although it was a little tricky to get the room to stay a comfortable temperature. Two queen beds in the bedroom and a good-sized separate living area (couch, desk, table with four chairs and flat screen tv) and a well-equipped kitchen. (With Trader Joe's across the street, we were able to stock up on preferred snacks and beverages, which really helped keep us all happy.) Being a family trip, we didn't get to enjoy the beautiful patio and fun bar area as we would have liked, but we will definitely keep it in mind for future trips. It really looked like a great place to hang with friends in the evening and relax with drinks.

Great location. Just a short walk, cab or train ride to all attractions: National Mall, Lincoln Memorial, White House, National Zoo, Georgetown shopping/dining, Arlington Cemetery, Nationals Park, etc.

Only complaint is lack of clothing storage. As a family staying for a long weekend, we had a lot of clothes and not a lot of space to store/hang our things. We pretty much had to keep most of our clothes in our luggage and lay our luggage in the corner fo the living room on the floor.

One other point to mention... We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and there were A LOT (thousands!) of motorcycle riders in town to visit the war memorials. The motorcycles were extremely loud up and down Pennsylvania Avenue at all hours. Not sure how loud traffic is normally, but you may want to bring a white noise machine if you have one, in case traffic noise disturbs your sleep.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bring along a white noise machine if you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah14072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Leah14072,

WOW! It was so wonderful to read your incredibly detailed and flattering review of your recent trip to the Avenue Suites Georgetown. I am glad that I was able to help you and your family while you were staying with us. As you said, Pennsylvania Avenue can be a tad noisy at times which is why I urge all guests to e-mail me prior to arrival with their guest room preferences so I can customize their visits on their behalf. Once again, thank you for your spectacular review and we look forward to another visit soon.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently was in DC for several weeks for work. I was put up at the Avenue with the institution hosting me (so I can't say if its a good deal). However, it is an extremely well located hotel, about 5 minutes from both M Street's many restaurants (in Georgetown), maybe a ten minute walk to Dupont Circle, and maybe 5 minutes to the nearest metro. If you want to take advantage of the kitchens, there is a Trader Joe's just across the street, and a Whole Foods right next to the metro stop (GW-Foggy Bottom). The rooms were large. As a bonus, the staff -- both front desk and in the bar/restaurant -- was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

C F,

It is always so special to receive 5-star reviews from experienced Tripadvisor travelers like yourself. Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding experience with everyone! It is great to know that we were able to dazzle you throughout your extended stay here at the Avenue Suites. Please shoot me an e-mail the next time you are planning to travel to DC so I can coordinate your hotel visit personally.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just spend 3 nights at the Avenue Suites with my wife and two teenage boys. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left everything was just soo perfect! First the hotel: the lobby and outdoor sitting areas are really comfortable and spacious. Great spot for a cup of coffee and a book every morning as well as an afternoon cocktail. (FYI - they provided free afternoon Mojitos and Shirley Temples for guests..nice touch!) The room was clean and really nice with all new amenities through out. Funky little kitchen with a full size fridge is really nice to have especially with Trader Joes across the street. Plenty of room for a family of four like ourselves. Now to the staff: from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff was just excellent! They provided excellent recommendations for food (the first of which is a restaurant in the Foggy Bottom Circle called District Commons...awesome!!) and made the reservations. They had great tips on getting around the city such as renting bikes from Capital Bikeshare across the street which allows you to drop them off at many spots around the city. Through out our stay the staff were always so friendly and helpful doing all they could to make us feel like we were at home! So great hotel, great staff and great location made for a Fantastic 3 day stay in D.C.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAHappyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Good evening CAHappyboy,

It was such a pleasure to read your phenomenal review about your recent review of the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. Our proximity to Trader Joe's is indeed perfect for families as everyone can cook their own meals in the full-sized kitchens in all of our guest rooms. I have passed your amazing kudos onto our entire staff who thrilled to hear how elated you were with their great service.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was very impressed with the Avenue Suites for its location, service, style, and value. Lots of room for our family of 5. Full kitchen was a nice amenity, even though it has not been updated to the same level as the room (formica counters, old cabinets had been painted over rather than replaced). Bar was nice, as was complimentary "Mojito Hour". The reasons I'm not giving 5 stars are 1) the un-renovated kitchens, 2) there is a little inconsistency in service at the front desk (overall good, but a couple times it was a little curt), and 3) the rooms could use some more storage space (the clean modern look is very nice, but a dresser would be helpful).

I also wanted to recommend another family-friendly restaurant option in the area: Burger, Tap & Shakes - quick-casual burgers, beer & shakes (duh) located not far from the Foggy Bottom metro stop.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank sddalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

sddalg,

Your adjectives for the Avenue Suites are exactly what we are going for - location, service, style & value! It is so wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great time with us here in Washington DC. Our nightly Mojito Hour is a new guest activity which has been very successful thus far! I would love the chance to speak with you in a little more detail regarding your inconsistent service. If you would reach out to me at the phone number below at your earliest convenience so we can discuss it further.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
phone: 202-464-5609

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable rooms. Separate living room with sofa bed and dining table. Kitchen is outdated, but clean and functional. Excellent if you have kids. Clean renovated bathrooms with goodies from L'Occitane. When you enter this hotel it smells sooooo good and clean I had to ask what it was (ScentAir machine). Nice little patio for lounging or cocktails. Staff at reception are super nice. Valet parking is $33. Walking distance to all the shops, bars, bistros, etc in Georgetown. Trader Joe's (grocery store) across the street. You can walk to White House, National Mall. It's a shame I need to go back next weekend to get my son who is at a summer program in Georgetown and they are booked :( We'll see how the other hotel (Madera Kimpton) works.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyleneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Greetings MyleneV,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review of your recent visit to the Avenue Suites. Our L'occitane products are admired by all guests and we are happy to offer it complimentary. I agree that our kitchens are a tad outdated and are in the process of getting a nice facelift! Please shoot me an e-mail the next time you are planning to visit our hotel so I can thank you personally.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,430 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,829 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
1,305 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $127 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing