We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Suites Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #9 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic family weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and three young sons (8,6 and 1) over Memorial Day weekend as we were in town for a wedding. Mitch at the front desk was so helpful and pleasant each and every time we passed through the lobby. All the staff were warm and attentive.

Great room. Clean and comfortable, although it was a little tricky to get the room to stay a comfortable temperature. Two queen beds in the bedroom and a good-sized separate living area (couch, desk, table with four chairs and flat screen tv) and a well-equipped kitchen. (With Trader Joe's across the street, we were able to stock up on preferred snacks and beverages, which really helped keep us all happy.) Being a family trip, we didn't get to enjoy the beautiful patio and fun bar area as we would have liked, but we will definitely keep it in mind for future trips. It really looked like a great place to hang with friends in the evening and relax with drinks.

Great location. Just a short walk, cab or train ride to all attractions: National Mall, Lincoln Memorial, White House, National Zoo, Georgetown shopping/dining, Arlington Cemetery, Nationals Park, etc.

Only complaint is lack of clothing storage. As a family staying for a long weekend, we had a lot of clothes and not a lot of space to store/hang our things. We pretty much had to keep most of our clothes in our luggage and lay our luggage in the corner fo the living room on the floor.

One other point to mention... We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and there were A LOT (thousands!) of motorcycle riders in town to visit the war memorials. The motorcycles were extremely loud up and down Pennsylvania Avenue at all hours. Not sure how loud traffic is normally, but you may want to bring a white noise machine if you have one, in case traffic noise disturbs your sleep.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bring along a white noise machine if you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah14072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Leah14072,

WOW! It was so wonderful to read your incredibly detailed and flattering review of your recent trip to the Avenue Suites Georgetown. I am glad that I was able to help you and your family while you were staying with us. As you said, Pennsylvania Avenue can be a tad noisy at times which is why I urge all guests to e-mail me prior to arrival with their guest room preferences so I can customize their visits on their behalf. Once again, thank you for your spectacular review and we look forward to another visit soon.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    335
    59
    15
    2
See reviews for
667
242
27
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently was in DC for several weeks for work. I was put up at the Avenue with the institution hosting me (so I can't say if its a good deal). However, it is an extremely well located hotel, about 5 minutes from both M Street's many restaurants (in Georgetown), maybe a ten minute walk to Dupont Circle, and maybe 5 minutes to the nearest metro. If you want to take advantage of the kitchens, there is a Trader Joe's just across the street, and a Whole Foods right next to the metro stop (GW-Foggy Bottom). The rooms were large. As a bonus, the staff -- both front desk and in the bar/restaurant -- was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
C F,

It is always so special to receive 5-star reviews from experienced Tripadvisor travelers like yourself. Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding experience with everyone! It is great to know that we were able to dazzle you throughout your extended stay here at the Avenue Suites. Please shoot me an e-mail the next time you are planning to travel to DC so I can coordinate your hotel visit personally.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just spend 3 nights at the Avenue Suites with my wife and two teenage boys. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left everything was just soo perfect! First the hotel: the lobby and outdoor sitting areas are really comfortable and spacious. Great spot for a cup of coffee and a book every morning as well as an afternoon cocktail. (FYI - they provided free afternoon Mojitos and Shirley Temples for guests..nice touch!) The room was clean and really nice with all new amenities through out. Funky little kitchen with a full size fridge is really nice to have especially with Trader Joes across the street. Plenty of room for a family of four like ourselves. Now to the staff: from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff was just excellent! They provided excellent recommendations for food (the first of which is a restaurant in the Foggy Bottom Circle called District Commons...awesome!!) and made the reservations. They had great tips on getting around the city such as renting bikes from Capital Bikeshare across the street which allows you to drop them off at many spots around the city. Through out our stay the staff were always so friendly and helpful doing all they could to make us feel like we were at home! So great hotel, great staff and great location made for a Fantastic 3 day stay in D.C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHappyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Good evening CAHappyboy,

It was such a pleasure to read your phenomenal review about your recent review of the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. Our proximity to Trader Joe's is indeed perfect for families as everyone can cook their own meals in the full-sized kitchens in all of our guest rooms. I have passed your amazing kudos onto our entire staff who thrilled to hear how elated you were with their great service.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was very impressed with the Avenue Suites for its location, service, style, and value. Lots of room for our family of 5. Full kitchen was a nice amenity, even though it has not been updated to the same level as the room (formica counters, old cabinets had been painted over rather than replaced). Bar was nice, as was complimentary "Mojito Hour". The reasons I'm not giving 5 stars are 1) the un-renovated kitchens, 2) there is a little inconsistency in service at the front desk (overall good, but a couple times it was a little curt), and 3) the rooms could use some more storage space (the clean modern look is very nice, but a dresser would be helpful).

I also wanted to recommend another family-friendly restaurant option in the area: Burger, Tap & Shakes - quick-casual burgers, beer & shakes (duh) located not far from the Foggy Bottom metro stop.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sddalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
sddalg,

Your adjectives for the Avenue Suites are exactly what we are going for - location, service, style & value! It is so wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great time with us here in Washington DC. Our nightly Mojito Hour is a new guest activity which has been very successful thus far! I would love the chance to speak with you in a little more detail regarding your inconsistent service. If you would reach out to me at the phone number below at your earliest convenience so we can discuss it further.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
phone: 202-464-5609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable rooms. Separate living room with sofa bed and dining table. Kitchen is outdated, but clean and functional. Excellent if you have kids. Clean renovated bathrooms with goodies from L'Occitane. When you enter this hotel it smells sooooo good and clean I had to ask what it was (ScentAir machine). Nice little patio for lounging or cocktails. Staff at reception are super nice. Valet parking is $33. Walking distance to all the shops, bars, bistros, etc in Georgetown. Trader Joe's (grocery store) across the street. You can walk to White House, National Mall. It's a shame I need to go back next weekend to get my son who is at a summer program in Georgetown and they are booked :( We'll see how the other hotel (Madera Kimpton) works.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyleneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings MyleneV,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review of your recent visit to the Avenue Suites. Our L'occitane products are admired by all guests and we are happy to offer it complimentary. I agree that our kitchens are a tad outdated and are in the process of getting a nice facelift! Please shoot me an e-mail the next time you are planning to visit our hotel so I can thank you personally.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This has been my choice of stay each time I have visited Washington DC. This time, the place was renovated. The reception looks very upmarket, in the evenings there is music. The hotel now has a restaurant which is all very nice. However, the complimentary breakfast is no longer on offer and the toiletries in the rooms have been reduced. When I gave this feedback to the fair young man with spectacles at the reception he very curtly told me to look for another place next time I visited. The only good thing that is still the same is the warm welcome extended by Seth and the friendliness by Herb - both also at the reception. The cleanliness of the hotel is good. Rooms are pretty much the same. A good place still for family since there are 2 rooms and a kitchenette. the main advantage of this hotel is the location with Trader Joe's, Papa John's and Subway across the street, eateries on the left and Georgetown a close walking distance. I would suggest that the younger staff be a bit more open to constructive criticism and the hotel should add back the complimentary breakfast which was anyway quite basic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAparajita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
MAparajita,

Thank you so much for being a loyal guest for so many years. It is great to hear that while a lot has changed since the days of Washington Suites, the great service of Mr. Seck and Herb has stayed consistent. Unfortunately, we will not be going back to the complimentary breakfast that was associated with our hotel prior to the remodel however urge all guests to come down and try a Chef's Special!

Thank you so much for your valued feedback and look forward to your next visit to the Avenue Suites Georgetown,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This fine hotel which offers full Kitchens is in a great location very close to center of Georgetown and an easy walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro. There are better Suites in DC at better prices, but I know of none so well located. The area is particularly great for young adults as there are lots of enticing bars, but there are some great restaurants around for the older crowd too. For those of us with young children, having a full kitchen is great and there is a Trader Joe's supermarket across the street. If your children are not organically inclined (as mine are) then it is a bit more of a challenge as the restaurant scene is not really oriented to kids, with very few or none of the sorts of chain eateries they crave such as McDonalds, Denny's, etc. And Trader Joe's doesn't stock Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal or other questionable brands they love. That's where CVS comes to the rescue, the one near 22nd and M being superior to the one in Georgetown. And there are good restaurants for kids if you look around a bit. Bertucci's Italian is particular good and deserves better ratings than it gets. Also, go try out Founding Farmer's. The kids survived the meal, and it is a great American comfort food experience. Sure, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TominLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
TominLA,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a stellar and detailed review of your time with us here at the Avenue Suites in Washington DC. I agree that our location is perfect and the abundance of spectacular restaurants is ideal for just about any eating preference. It means a lot to us that such an experienced traveler wrote such a phenomenal entry so I would love it if you could reach out to me the next time you are planning to visit so I can return the favor with something special!

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Property: Avenue Suites Georgetown
Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing