We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend at the Cherry Blossom Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Avenue Suites exceeded our expectations. We were visiting DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival and also our daughter who is a student at George Washington University. The Avenue staff was professional, attentive and genuinely cared about our experience. The suite was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable; it included a large sitting room, separate bedroom and bath area, and a full-size kitchen in the suite as well. A large desk in the sitting area provided a great work space; we truly were made to feel at home during our three day visit.

The hotel has a very nice bar/lounge where we enjoyed cocktails by the outdoor fire pit; meals are available inside the lounge and the breakfast is very nice as well. Excellent service overall.

The Avenue is a short walk from Georgetown, Foggy Bottom Metro, and GWU.

We would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to DC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Catherine M,

It was so nice having you and your family with us during the 2013 Cherry Blossom Festival. While they were delayed due to extended cold weather, they were certainly worth the wait and the city has been lively every since. I have passed your kudos onto the entire Avenue Suites staff who were thrilled to hear that you were so happy with their great customer service. We are very much looking forward to your next visit with us!

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got just what we wanted from Avenue Suites. It’s in a great location – turn left when you walk out the door and you’re in chic Georgetown in five minutes or so, turn right and you’re at Foggy Bottom Metro station in about the same time. Just cross the road for Trader Joe’s. There are several good restaurants within walking distance too. The suites are spacious and easily allowed us to self-cater for breakfast and lunch, which is just what we wanted to do to get maximum time for sightseeing. The bed was large and comfortable, although the furnishings as a whole were rather dated. There are two coin-op washing machines and dryers in the basement. And a special mention for the reception staff - they could not have been more helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Y0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Y0rker,
It is great to hear that your stay with us at the Avenue Suites was so memorable and that you returned to the UK safely. I have passed your kudos on to our front desk team who were elated to hear how satisfied you were with their service. Please reach out to me directly the next time you are planning to visit so I can ensure your visit is perfect once again.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at this location and the first under the new ownership. As always, from the moment you walk in to the moment you check out, nothing but outstanding customer service. The location just can't be any better and if you have a family, the kitchen is very useful, especially with Trader Joe's just across the street to stock on up eats for the kids.

Room Tip: If you need sleep, ask for a room in the back, it is more restful there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Greetings Pat P,

It is fantastic to hear that you got back to sunny Florida safely and your recent visit to the Avenue Suites was a stellar one. It is great to know that you have been such a loyal guest since the days of the Washington Suites and are happy with our new renovated property. While our hotel looks completely different, our level of service has stayed the same and continues to elevate as we progress. Please reach out to me directly for all future Avenue Suites visits so I can ensure they remain flawless.

I look forward to working with you in the future,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

For a 3 star property the place is amazing. Location unbeatable. And the rooms (apartments) are huge. Beds are very confortable. And while the bathrooms are just ok i loved the shower :)

We usually stay at starwood properties but because of the reviews we decided to try this place and we were not dissaponted.

I highly recommend it.

2  Thank danild
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

danild,

Thank you for sharing your kind words about the Avenue Suites here on TripAdvisor! While we respect our colleagues at other brands, there is nothing better than when guests give us a try and are blown away! Please reach out to me at the e-mail address below so I can make all of your future reservations going forward.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited the Avenue Suites on 27th March checking out on the 30th March having flown over from the UK for Easter in Washington and then Virginia Beach. We stayed based on Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased with the location, the cleanliness of the hotel and the standard of service from the reception staff.

Other reviewers have mentioned the Trader Joe's across the street and we visited it - we don't have Trader Joe's in the UK and I could have spent an hour just in there drooling over all the food on offer! We bought some snacks for the room, water etc and brought it back.

Ladies bring a shower cap as the shower head is fixed and enormous and no shower caps are provided !

One small point that I would make in relation to the family rooms is that the additional bed is a pullout sofa bed. It was fully made up (although folded away) so it was no bother to just pull out and fetch a pillow from the wardrobe in our room. However our son who is 14 (almost 15) is nearly six feet tall and built accordingly. He said that the mattress was too thin and he found it uncomfortable. It would be great for smaller children but if your family is more grown you may want to think again.

We had friends from VB join us on Good Friday and stay overnight and when they arrived they were advised that due to overbooking the suite they had booked was unavailable. They were offered a discount of $50 as an apology and a "room" in the "new" part of the hotel. When we went to their room with them it was huge and in fact what I would refer to as an open plan suite (the only difference between our suite and their room was the fact that ours had a wall between the bedroom and the sitting room where there was a pull out double bed)

On the Thursday morning my husband,son and I went down to breakfast at about 9 am and were delighted to find that it wasn't a huge self service buffet but more of a little cafe where one could order what you wanted. We all had the breakfast muffin which was egg and bacon in an English muffin and coffee (Illy brand) which was very good.

On our second day we came down for breakfast at the same time and found the breakfast room very busy. We ordered the same as the day before but had a slightly longer wait - perhaps 15 mins. One of the reception staff had been roped in to help with the rush and he was very apologetic when he brought our breakfast and in fact told us it was on the house. We thought this was very kind as the wait hadn't been horrendous.

Then on the Saturday (with our friends) we went down to breakfast to find what I can only describe as organised chaos! We ordered at the counter and sat and sat and sat!. Eventually a lady who appeared from her dress to be cooking in the kitchen as well came out with two of our orders - it appeared no-one could find a tray! She was accosted on the way to our table by two irate lady guests who grabbed the food out of her hands with the declaration that they had ordered first. What ensued was a rather farcical struggle between this poor lady and the guests in which she retrieved our food and brought it to the table. She then returned with another two plates about 15 mins later with effusive apologies. The final plates came about another 10mins later, one was cold and one had a very well browned muffin to put it mildly!

We were so disappointed as we had persuaded our friends not to go out elsewhere for breakfast and it was a disaster. I really feel that this let down an otherwise excellent hotel and I am afraid that I must criticise them for it. They no doubt could look at their bookings and anticipate that the restaurant was going to be busy and make staffing provision accordingly. It wouldn't put me off recommending the hotel but I think I would recommend breakfast elsewhere!

Room Tip: The new rooms which are on the side street from Pennsylvania Avenue are excellent, spacious and mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Greetings ClaireKy,

It was great hearing all of the positive experiences you had during your visit to the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. There is nothing better than hearing stories of guests who read about us on TripAdvisor and then decide to come and join us. I do apologize about the issues you encountered during our breakfast service and can assure you we are working on ways to make it a smoother operation. I would love the chance to speak with you in more detail about your experience so please reach out to me at the e-mail address below so we can chat a little bit further.

I look forward to speaking with you soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.om

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I strongly recommend their Deluxe suites. Very good value, it's like a one bedroom apartment fully equipped. Each suite has its own fully equipped kitchen, including dishwasher, stove, microwave, fridge/freezer, china, glasses, cooking utensils, coffee maker with complimentary coffee. The living room was spacious with a large flatscreen TV, a round dining table, sofabed, writing desk. Free wifi with reasonable but not very high speed. Wired highspeed internet. Bedroom with two queen size beds, a smaller flatscreen TV, closet. Spacious bathroom with two sinks, bathtube and shower. I had a very great time staying at this hotel in the Foggy Bottom/Georgetown area. Helpful frontdesk staff. Printing of boarding passes at no extra cost. Luggage storage. I recommend this hotel for families traveling to DC.Many good restaurants in the vicinity, the Indian restaurant Flavors of India is strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up in the building. When we arrived there was a bunch of young people partyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

LarsRo,

It is great to hear that word of the Avenue Suites has reached all the way to Sweden! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with all of our friends here on TripAdvisor. I must agree that our large guest rooms are larger than a lot of the apartments here in Washington DC. We have passed your positive feedback onto all of our front desk staff who were very excited that they were able to make such a lasting impression on you during your visit.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Avenue Suties exceeded expectations. We were on a mother daughter vacation. We were very pleased with our selection.
*The staff is friendly without being on top of you. We met Seck and his children who looked after us. Everyone asked us how our day was. Genuinely interested.
*We felt totally safe in the neighborhood, despite there being the occasional homeless person.
*Short walking distance to the Metro. Did not need a shuttle from or to the airport. Picked up the Washington Flyer and got off at Foggy Bottom. The Metro took us every where.
*Was surprised at the kitchen. It was larger than I expected. However, we ate out for the most part.
*Trader Joe's was kitty corner.
*The bells from the church across the street were lovely.
*So nice to have fresh air.
*It was clean.
*There is a small eating area off the lobby. Their small plates are delicious.
*and if I did not already mention it, every staff member was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Anna Marie H,

Mr. Seck has not stopped smiling since reading your phenomenal TripAdvisor entry about your recent visit to the Avenue Suites. Your detailed response is very much appreciated by all of us and are so glad that we were able to make your visit to Washington DC such a memorable one. We pride ourselves on a great location and a beautiful facility, but it is our staff the makes us the proudest. Please reach out to me at the e-mail address below so I can make your next reservation with us here at the Avenue Suites!

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
482 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,247 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
1,571 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1611 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $133 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing