We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good price, BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and arrived really late after a long drive. The room was clean and spacious but the staff was unfriendly.

We asked for 3 towels for our kids but were told they could spare only 2. We were way too tired to argue.

We managed to get to breakfast several minutes before they close and started filling up our plates, but one minute after closing time (exactly, I checked it), the lady who works there just came and took the food right under our nose while we were in the middle of it. It was really rude that she didn't wait until we sat down, especially since it was 1 minute after closing time. We saw this trick also in La Quinta Hotel, but we never expected it to happen at Holiday Inn. I tried to tell her that we arrived late at night, but that didn't impress her.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank NuritGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Guests; Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable guest room while offering an exceptional value, I am pleased to see we met that goal for you. We typically receive high praise for our team members and customer services and very surprised to see your experience was not a positive one. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and greatly apologize to you and your family that any of our staff was not professional and courteous to you, that is not how we operate day in and day out. We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future as what you experienced is not the norm for us. Thank you again for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 306 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

During my long trip to the US and Europe this is the hotel where I paid the least and received the most. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room here was bigger than I got at other places. Liked the message on the bathroom counter about 'if forgot your essentials tell us....'. Was pleasantly surprised to find the refrigerator and microwave also in the room. Loved the buffet breakfast spread. Made use of their free WIFI and also the system and printer in the business center. Took their shuttle to the Union Station. Couldn't help comparing with other hotels I'd been to and where I paid much much more, for far far less. 10/10 for this hotel. Best value for my money. I wish there were your clones in every city. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BhavanaAgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guests; Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! We are delighted to see that your time at the Holiday Inn Express Northeast Washington DC was perfect! Our goal is to always provide exceptional customer based amenities to help our guests as they are away from home in a clean, comfortable, friendly environment. We could not be happier to see that we far exceeded your expectations. Please come back and visit us again the next time you are in the states.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is still new enough to me and my check in was extremely professional and the person was very helpful and friendly. The price of my room was very reasonable for DC, however, they tack on $15 for parking which is very much out of the ordinary for a HIE. Yes it is near DC but not downtown where parking is limited or at a premium. Just raise the price of the room!
Don't expect to use the shuttle bus for anything other than going to Union Station and it only departs twice a day. Food is limited to a few fast food joints. The HIE does have a nice pantry. Suggest you order in from ,"PANDA". Lots of sirens at night but also saw many police cars patrolling. Felt safe. My small issues with the room were: Bed too soft and the mattress should be replaced. Ironing board was too short (in height) and not normal size. I dunno what happened to it but thankfully it held up and did not crash. Iron had seen better days. Cord would not re-tract, water fill cover missing and this too needed to be replaced. Also coffee maker should be replaced to. Small things.

HVAC worked well. Internet worked well. Hot water and water pressure worked well. Plenty of light and plenty of outlets to work.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write review and provide valuable feedback for us. We are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your time as our guests.

We wanted to take a moment to respond to your concerns; To maintain rates and keep them low for our guests, we chose to charge the parking separately as a convenience so the guests see what they are paying upfront. We decreased the hours of the shuttle only temporarily as there was little demand at this time but still want to accommodate our guests requests for it. We will work on replacing the items in the guest room that you mentioned.

Thank you again for being our guest, we do hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great friendly helpful staff, close to the Union Station , shuttle service . Lovely large rooms with all the amenities, comfortable beds . Fantastic breakfasts ! Other than fast food limited dining opportunities in walking distance to the hotel , but would recommend it as it is so close to everything tourists want to see when visiting DC

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guests; Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We appreciate the compliments for the hotel and staff. Very pleased to see that we had all the amenities and then some that you needed and you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations and you had a lovely time with us.

Thank you again for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Northeast as your place to stay. We look forward to being your first choice for accommodations the next time you visit Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years and this one ranks right up there with the best of them. The hotel is close to the Baltimore/Washington Parkway and despite being right on a major road the rooms are totally silent.

The rooms are your typical Holiday Inn Express rooms, maybe a little larger. Everything was immaculately cleaned, Front desk staff was super friendly and very helpful with directions and giving recommendations on where to get food delivered from.

Internet was super fast, plenty of electrical outlets as well to plug in your various devices.

It seemed like some of the reviewers on this site were unhappy with the location. If you are looking for a hotel in downtown DC that is close to various attractions and walking distance to the subway, THIS IS NOT IT. However, if you are looking for a VERY reasonably priced, super clean hotel with large comfortable rooms and don't need to and/or don't mind staying a 15 minute ride from downtown, this hotel is perfect. With that said, I don't think I would stay here without a car. The hotel does offer a shuttle but I don't think it runs very frequently. The neighborhood itself is not necessarily one I would want to walk around in either.

All in all though, a great hotel, and I would definitely stay here again if I return to the DC area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and we were a perfect fit for your travel needs. We are delighted to see that you received a great deal as our guest.

Being just outside the city center is ideal for those that don't want to pay the higher city rates and high parking fees, but still want be close to all the attractions (we are less than 5 miles from all major attractions) and that makes our location a good fit for some. For our guests without a car, beginning in March the shuttle will run more frequently as it is on a limited winter schedule only temporarily.

We appreciate you selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Washington DC, Northeast as your place to stay while on business. Thank you again for the wonderful compliments for our staff and services. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for three nights. I was so impressed that every time we walked in the room after the maid had been there it smelled wonderful. Like a fresh clean spring breeze. The room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable and for me to find a comfortable bed is so important, I have arthritis. There was a refrigerator, microwave. Our room was on the first floor, it was a great little hotel. There is a workout room, a pool and an excellent free breakfast every morning.The breakfast staff was warm and friendly. If you stay there just across the street is a BBQ restaurant, a Chinese restaurant and Dunkin' Donuts, the Chinese restaurant is great. It was close to everything, it only took 10 minutes to be in Washington DC downtown. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The restaurant are across the street and within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acuisinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest; From all of us with the Holiday Inn Express, Hotel & Suites NE DC, thank you very much for the 5 star review! We take great pride in our hotel and cleanliness is very important to us! Glad to see that pride was shining through during your time with us. We appreciate the wonderful compliments for our staff, hotel and services. The best compliment is hearing that you had a great stay and will reccommend our hotel to others. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Washington DC. Thank you again for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is not located in downtown DC and is not near a Metro station, but we needed a suite and this was the most affordable one I found. The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped and all the staff we met were very courteous and helpful. The neighborhood is mostly commercial, and while the National Arboretum is very close, there is nothing around to interest tourists and no restaurants unless you are a KFC or Checkers fan. However, there is a shuttle to Union Station, and from there you can take the Metro or cabs to the rest of DC. The complimentary breakfast is good.

I would suggest that the shuttle run more frequently and that the breakfast be more varied (sausage each AM got a little boring, a change to bacon would have helped).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guests; Thank you for your review and for being our guests. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and found the guest room, value received and amenities a good fit for your travel needs. While we cannot change where the hotel is located, we're in a great place for those that don't mind staying a little out of the way and still have all the benefits of being in the heart of the city such as the complimentary shuttle to and from Metro, plenty of on site parking (something that is rare in the city) and our great staff that is always available to assist you with finding that perfect restaurant or attraction that gets overlooked sometimes. We appreciate your suggestions and will share them with the team as we are always looking for ways to improve upon our services. Thank you again for your business, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#120 of 141 in Washington DC
194 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
229 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
323 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Address: 1917 Bladensburg Rd NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $180 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Northeast Washington is near many top attractions. Visitors enjoy a full American breakfast buffet included in the rate, on site parking at a reasonable cost. Union Station and Metro are within 2 miles, giving travelers easy access to our hotel. Our complimentary shuttle will take you at pre-set times to Union Station, from there you can see all the major attractions, museums and get to your meeting quickly too. Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA)is less than 10 miles away. Visitors can immerse themselves in history while visiting the 19 museums of the Smithsonian Institute or popular, downtown Washington, DC memorials. In addition, our 900 square feet of meeting space and a 24-hour business center can help you host a conference during your stay. Our hotel rooms overlooking DC offer entertainment for the whole family with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Unwind anytime in the 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool or whirlpool. For a complimentary hot breakfast and a convenient stay, choose this Washington, DC hotel. The close proximity of our Washington, DC hotel to the US Capitol, local businesses and government offices makes the commute easy for business travelers. You'll find the Washington Times, the FBI and both Georgetown and George Washington universities within just five miles of our hotel in Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington Dc-Northeast
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing