We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
112
110
48
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
110
48
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle to union stationfree shuttlehotel shuttlefront deskhot tubfree breakfastbreakfast areawould stay here againnice stayentire stayearly checkhotel staffnational malluberrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 306 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed three nights here, the first being a Saturday. I mention that because the place was really jumping on the Saturday night, as it seems there was a big children's party there and the hotel was packed and people were coming and going all the time, at least until we turned in. Breakfast was very crowded, too. I think some teenage sports teams were staying, too. We also had a room facing the main road and intersection, so traffic was noisy on the Saturday night. Fortunately we were tired so it really wasn't an issue, but what I'm suggesting is that, if you check in on a Saturday (and perhaps a Friday) night, you ask for a room away from the main road.

The following couple of nights and mornings were fine. No noise, no crowds. Breakfast was very good, with a good range of items available, including hot savory ones. Our room was very nice - clean and well appointed.

We were impressed with the efficiency with which everything was done, especially at reception, including the booking, which I did over the phone as the internet booking got a bit tangled. This is the only Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at, and if it's typical of these hotels I'd say they have a very good system going. My compliments to the staff who were on duty during our stay.

The shuttle from the hotel to Union Station is very helpful. Even though the hotel is a bit away from the centre of town this is no disadvantage because of the hourly shuttle. We were also provided with a special shuttle for our group of five for an early train from Union Station, which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krungsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the compliments for our staff and hotel. Should your travels bring you back to Washington DC, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was an extremely pleasant overall experience. Prices were good, place was clean and well cared for, and they gave free rides to Union Station (from which there are a multitude of ways to get around Washington). Nothing fancy, but all one needs on a vacation is a clean, safe place to sleep, right? And the Holiday Inn Express delivered that. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahKiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you letting us know that your experience was very pleasent we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As an HIE afficianado (and self-admitted snob), this was a good middle of the road hotel. Rooms were clean and well-appointed, nothing fancy. While a good value, the location was fair, quite a ways out of the way if you are seeing the sites and don't care much for city traffic. Staff was fair while we were there. Not too sure if we were imposing on one of them when checking in. The day folks were good though. Worth a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millionmiletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DC as your place to stay while on business, we appreciate your loyalty to HIE brand. Pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nites and I gotta say it was really nice. Room was big enough for my family of 3. This place is ok location wise. The front desk staff was nice and helped me out with all my questions so I had no complaints there either

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBurger717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, DC. We are pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was so nicely greeted when arriving early because we travelled by train to DC. The shuttle picked us up from Union Station and took us to the hotel. They allowed us to check in several hours early. Breakfast included was a great added bonus. We loved the shuttle service as we were able to visit all over the city without traveling by car. We were able to easily navigate Washington DC by metro. And the hotel staff was so helpful in the smallest things like where to choose to order take out food from, and the recommendation was great. Room was clean and pool was wonderful. Would stay here again for sure and recommend to all my friends who are interested in a trip to DC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Mary - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC. We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had a wonderful time while staying with us. Our staff is great at letting our guests know where all the hidden gems are in DC and things to do and see while visiting the area. Metro is a economical way to get around town and glad you were able to take advantage of that. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future and appreciate the recommendation to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews