We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing with the best location at the same time”
other travelers have booked this property
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bright Living Room w/Sofabed Front Garden w/Cast Iron Staircase
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bright Living Room w/Sofabed
Front Garden w/Cast Iron Staircase
Bright & Beautiful Living Room on Second Floor
Bright Kitchen
W&D in Closet & Full Size Refrigerator
Bright Bathroom on 2nd Floor
Relax on the rear deck overlooking the flagstone patio and garden
Fedex and Starbucks are just around the corner!
Marine Commandant's House is only 3 blocks away!
The circulator bus is a great way to get around town.
Union Station is only a 15 minute walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
labs7
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing with the best location at the same time”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. The best part is the deck which overlooks grass and is shaded by trees. The insidet is beautiful and big. A large living room overlooks the neighborhood and the kitchen has high end appliances. We do cook meals during our stays and enjoyed the Viking stove. There is a Safeway store one Metro stop down from the Eastern Market stop to shop for groceries as well as smaller stores close by. The Eastern Market is open daily and grows on the weekend. A must visit.
We took the Metro everyday which took us steps from everything we wanted to visit. A cab call took us to the Big Bus night tour which should not be missed. This place is located in a neighborhood of real people which we enjoy. One of them invited us over for a glass of wine. You cannot find a better place to stay. We loved it! And Kirk was a phone call away for questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck & short walk to the Metro
Liked least: The 4 cup coffee maker - please get a 10 cup - but we made do. And a second fry pan
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MF1284
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Comfort”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We recently had a fantastic stay at this flat. The description provided accurately describes the great location. The Eastern Market Metro station is a short walk away, and 8th Street with a number of highly rated Capital Hill restaurants is 1 block away. Starbucks and Dunkin 5 min walk. The flat itself is roomy, with a comfortable sitting room with soft comfy couch and chairs is great for unwinding after along day sightseeing. Nice sized bedroom with a high grade queen bed and plenty of storage space. Kitchen has top of the line appliances, professional grade and all the cooking instruments you will need. A deck is included for good weather with a nice view to the east. You could be comfortable here for a 1 week stay or for a 6 month stay. The landlord was very helpful with info on he area and coming to our rescue when we had an old folks moment with the TV and thermostat. Very professional. Only downside is a tight narrow stairway from the ground floor, so those with mobility problems or giant luggage may want to talk to the landlord first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/Comfort
Liked least: Stairway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlanods
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazingly convenient place to stay, no corners cut”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere to stay in walking distance of everything we wanted to see (i.e. the Mall) while still being comfortable and reasonably priced for the three of us, and this place was everything we hoped for. Two in the main bedroom and one on a sofa couch was no issues, especially with the living room having its own door. The place itself was beautiful, and providing a fully functioning kitchen plus laundry facilities was the icing on the cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip186
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

House was VERY Nice. All the appliances were new. Kitchen was well stocked. Grocery and food/restaurants were right around the corner. We had no problems parking are very large vehicle. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Metro Station and Food
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayakr2
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not have made a better choice”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Wow..what a great place to stay while seeing the sites of Washington D.C. ! I searched the Hotels for 10 days for a suite that we could afford that would be roomy enough for our family of 4 with 2 teen girls. All were cost prohibitive, especially when you factor in parking at 40.00 a day! Then I stumbled upon this rental on HomeAway and all of our problems were solved. The flat was 1 block from the Metro and bus stop and surrounded by a lovely neighborhood full of restaurants, a great open air market,gas and groceries all within walking distance. We never moved our car! My girls are picky about their 'sleeping accommodations' and they were not disappointed! The home was spotless, modern, cozy and convenient. They were particularly tickled with the tiled shower and kitchen nicer than ours at home! :-) Kirk, the owner was gracious and kind enough to spend time greeting us at the door and helping us park and get our luggage in the door. He even went and acquired our INCLUDED parking passes.Thank You to Kirk and his family for providing such wonderful , thoughtful accommodations for families on a budget.We had a WONDERFUL stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, spotless, convenient to EVERYTHING
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bazrat92
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This is a great apartment that is conveniently located for accessing all that DC has to offer (The Capitol and beyond). It was the perfect size for us and was very clean, tastefully decorated with all modern conveniences. Kirk was extremely helpful and booking was easy and quick. It is situated in a lovely district, Eastern Market, with lots of restaurants and of course Eastern Market itself which is open until 1900 each day. Buy your food here or at the Organic store which is very close to the apartment. It was very easy to get to and from the airport; take the 5A metrobus ($6 per person) from stand 2E to Plaza L'Enfant Metro, take the Orange line 3 stops to Eastern Market ($2.70 off peak) and it is a very short walk from there to the apartment (it is also cheaper than the cost of the Washington Flyer + metro). In advance of going to DC I would recommend that you book tours of the Pentagon and the Capitol (online via their websites). They are free tours and really give you an insight into the US and it's defence. I would definitely stay at Eastern Market Suites again and recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of the apartment
Liked least: Can't think of anything that I did not like about the apartment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksbeef
Alma, KS
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a place to come back to at the end of the day”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were so glad to have booked this place because at the end of the day of walking around and being tourists, we had a great clean, cool and calm place to stretch out, relax and get out of each other's hair. What a spot. Walk to great restaurants, walk to the metro, walk to the mall if you want. Parking really was not a problem also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$210
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing