We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,276)
Filter reviews
3,276 results
Traveler rating
1,512
1,284
333
110
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,512
1,284
333
110
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white house grist mill great location metro station directly across the street within walking distance national mall few blocks street noise blue line would stay here again breakfast buffet indoor pool restaurant staff front desk staff smithsonian museums sight seeing
Filter
Updating list...
2,829 - 2,834 of 3,276 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2008

This hotel was okay, staff was friendly and efficient - check in / check out was fast.

As we were staying here using the points, we got a room in 4th floor but surprisingly the room was quiet, almost no street noise but those in room heater/aircon is a bit too loud (like other had mention).

In general it really was an okay hotel, nothing to be wow or complain.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank awp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

This was a quick three-night trip, and we selected this hotel due to the location. It was right across from the McPherson Metro stop and within easy walking distance of the White House (and the surrounding touristy area). We have stayed at other Hilton Garden Inns, and this one could take some hospitality pointers from the Southern locations.

There was one outstanding and eager-to-help front desk lady (I wish I had gotten her name), but the rest of the staff was just average. They were missing the fabulous home-made cookies that are a signature item at the HGI front desk, and the expensive breakfast buffet was all self-serve (other locations will take your order at the hot food station, fill your plate and deliver it to your table). Additionally, the room, especially the bathroom, was quite small. We asked for a room on a high floor in hopes to get away from the street noise, and, possibly, get a view. We wound up on the 13th floor, facing the alley, which meant no view and the 5 a.m. dumpster noise, every morning. My DH is a Hilton Honors member, so you would think that as much as he stays at their hotels, we would have gotten a better room. (After that first morning wake-up, we chose not to complain, because we didn't want to repack and unpack.)

We would return to the hotel only because of the location, not because of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MBAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Easy to walk or take the Metro to many attractions. Metro is across the street from the hotel. The package we booked on their website at the rate of $179 a night included parking and breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and had variety. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was modern but small, especially when two people were in it at the same time. The only negative was the noisy ac unit . Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Great place to stay. Spend the extra money and stay at a Hilton hotel. We booked our room through Hilton. Do not use hotwire or similiar sites. Booking directly thourgh the Hilton allowed us to check in early. When arriving back to the hotel late at night our air conditioner was making a loud squeaking noise. We called the front desk and immediatley the manager along with maintenance personal showed up. The apologizes were quick to come and got upgraded to the suite without saying a word. I will stay here everytime I visit DC. This hotel is 3 min walk from White House, 10 min walk to the Mall.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights with my son (18) while on a business trip. I can't really fault the hotel in any way, as the room was of a high standard, staff friendly etc.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is a few blocks from the White House, Mall, Monument and all the tourist sights in Washington.

My son used the pool on a few occasions, and was the only one in there. The gym was also not used while we were there. The minor downside of the pool is it is in the basement and under the ramp for the card park above, so has a sloping ceiling and can seem a little closed in, especially as there are no windows.

I would definately recommend this hotel for both business and tourists alike.

The taxi fare from Dulles to the hotel was consistent at $51 and takes about 30 mins depending on traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Berkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews