We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend getaway”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location, good breakfast, great rooms. Ask for a room away from the street—there's a park a block away that has regular dance weekend parties—that's not bad, but many drivers honk their horns passing the fun. That's bad. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    1,163
    288
    92
    34
See reviews for
962
719
156
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great Hotel. The staff and the restaurant are out of this world. The Hotel offers a Bed and breakfast deal. I suggest you take it. The Hotel is about 3 Blocks away from the White House and walking distance to the National Mall. You might want to take a Cab to the Capitol Building and walk your way back. There is a Lot to see and you might need at least a week just to see most but not all DC has to offer. I would stay in this hotel again. If your a smoker please reserved early and let them know. just saying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights with my 14 year old son for a DC visit to see the historical sites. Couldn't have been more convenient to the Metro (directly across the street) and just a couple blocks from the White House. We were assigned a room on the 3rd floor facing the street and had some street noise but it didn't bother our sleep any. There were ear plugs provided in the room in case we wanted them. The room was very comfortable and clean with a frig and microwave. There were numerous outlets to plug in phones, laptops, etc. which was very handy. The complimentary internet connection was great and we were able to use the internet with no problems and even use Netflix easily. Ate at the breakfast buffet three mornings and it was good with a nice selection with friendly service. I would recommend it. Overall we had a great stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

PROS:
Excellent location
Lovely hotel
Super accommodating staff
Nice, large rooms
Very comfortable beds
Great pillows
Nice linens
Nice towels
Typical Hilton Garden Inn with in room fridge, coffee service, etc.
Free WiFi
On site sundry store
Lovely lobby
Decent room service and breakfast buffet option

CONS:
Noisy, but you're downtown DC so that's normal (earplugs are thoughtfully provided...nice touch!)
Expensive - $279 a night (look for a package deal of some kind)

I would definitely stay again but would try to get a better price on the room. Cheaper food options are available a short cab ride or walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On arrival at 9pm we were greeted by Eddie at the front desk, who seemed very annoyed. He was very short and not very friendly. We had traveled for 9 hours and the last thing we needed was a grumpy welcome! We booked a queen room and had room 701. If you are a light sleeper, don't get a street side room. It's very noisy and lots of ambulance and fire trucks drive by at night.I asked for a different room, but they didn't have anything available. So I didn't really sleep for 6 days. :(. We also asked for a roll away bed. We got one, but it was used and still had used ear plugs in it when we opened it. So we had to wait for a new roll away bed to be delivered. Had to wait 45 min, which can be very long, if it's almost midnight and you want to go to sleep. Front desk was a little grumpy at times . Restaurant staff and concierge were super nice!!
On a lighter note:
(This hotel is 5 min from the White House and 15 min from all the museums. So it's the perfect location, if you travel with children. It's 10 min from Reagan Airport by cab. Which is a plus, if you have to be at the airport at 6 am on your flight back :). Tons of kids friendly restaurants are 20 walking minutes away. Gordon Biersch, Elephant castle, Hard rock...

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently spent two nights here and had stayed here once before. We were greeted both times at the front desk by Eddie... a delightful man who is exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel is contemporary and well-kept, and you can't beat the location on 14th Street if you have business in that area. The McPherson Metro stop is across the street. Rooms and beds are comfortable, and it's great to have a small fridge and microwave. The only cautionary note might be to ask for a room that faces away from the loading dock/trash pickup area. One other bit of advice: it seems that many of the quick-service restaurants in the area aren't open for dinner, so if you arrive in the evening and don't want to eat in the hotel restaurant (which happens to be very good), you might want to bring something in with you from the airport or wherever. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the loading dock/trash pickup area, which starts getting noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Recently stayed here to attend a work seminar. Couldn't beat the location - two Metro stations (Metro Center a few blocks down, McPherson Square across the street) nearby, lots of restaurants within easy walking distance, and close to the White House and The Mall.

I didn't need the earplugs left in the room -- Rm 225 doesn't have a view of the street, but apparently that's a good thing. No outside noise to speak of.

A/C and heat unit in the (very smalll) room was very temperamental. Couldn't get it to a comfortable spot on the thermostat. King mattress was a bit too hard for my liking. And Internet service was spotty. Didn't want to pay wi-fi charge (which I think is gratis for Honors folks) and I couldn't access my own service in the room, but had no problem in the (very small) lobby area.

Pros - location.

Cons - the price. Just under $300/night. If you want to see the sights and you don't mind taking the Metro to get there, no need to stay downtown.

My rating is really a 3.5, but the place was clean, the staff was polite and the area is safe.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street. It's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scribe44120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,996 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing