We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Good and comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Strongly recommended for the people which is looking for hotel in downtown DC. Free internet in room and Lobby and always have free coffe/tea service in Lobby. Location is very good. I strongly recommend this otel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Huseyin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    1,103
    273
    86
    30
See reviews for
898
688
150
636
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is right across from the metro station which is nice. All major tourist attractions are within 2 miles. We walked to all with no issues. Room is small but cozy. Pool is tiny.

The highlight is the staff. Every one of them were very friendly and helpful.

The lowlight is the cost. I understand DC is expensive. Any other city this is a $129/night hotel. The other major lowlight is that there is a park about 200 yards away just filled with homeless people. We experienced no problems at all but it just felt like we had to be extra vigilant walking around with our nine year old.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jwertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel, very close to McPherson Square Metro Station, is nicely located. Rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. I was warned that the noise on 14th might be loud, but slept well. I did notice some noise from other rooms but otherwise peaceful stay.
Staff from Front Desk to Restaurant were extra friendly. I breakfast buffet, free for honors status members, was very good. I give it 4 stars, would give 4.5 if half was an option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My kids and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on a recommendation from a friend and I'm so glad we did! First - the staff was incredible!!! Every person we talked to was so kind and helpful! It was our first time to DC and we had a lot of questions and every person there was willing to answer our questions and seemed genuinely excited to hear about our experiences.
When we first arrived we found we needed a roll away bed and had draft around the a/c unit. Both issues were taken care of immediately. We were there during a huge snowstorm and all the staff were helpful thru that experience.
Hotel location was perfect. Across the street from the metro station and easy walking distance to all tourist destinations in DC. Such a great experience at this hotel! Really made our trip to DC memorable!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week. The room was small, but fine, and we had no problems with noise or temperature levels. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the room tidy and always fully restocked. When I had a problem with the coffee maker in the room, they responded within 10 minutes, showing up at the door with a new unit.
The pool is very small but my kids loved it. I can't imagine an adult getting much out of it, though. The exercise room next to the pool was also small, but looked fine (I didn't use it).
As for the restaurant, this was maybe the only point of slight dissatisfaction. After reading so many good reviews on here prior to our visit, let's just say I was underwhelmed by the food quality. We went for dinner twice and it was just okay. The breakfast wasn't really good -- not worth the price. The omelettes were fine, but the rest was just kind of blah and low quality. Oh well. I will say that the tea and coffee station in the lobby was great, and very busy. The lobby is small, but very comfortable.
All in all, a good place to stay -- I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Quiet, convenient, good value. A rare find: hotel employees glad to help you whether leaving luggage for awhile or getting into and out of taxis. Good internet. The pool is small but still a nice release after walking around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

It is just a few blocks from the White House, National Mall, National Theater, Federal Triangle, and other federal buildings. It is directly across the street from the McPherson Square Metro stop. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was good - not outstanding, but nothing unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: You may choose a street-facing room or a room toward the rear of the hotel. The latter are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sschurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing