We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommend this hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As a mum of two boys 8 and 10, I really liked this hotel.
It was in a convenient location
Great restaurant and wine bar
Pool for kids
Great room service after a long day sightseeing
Rooms nice and big with two TVs and wi-Fi
Staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and review!

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. December - January is a great time to visit DC as all of the museums are open and lines are short!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    1,163
    288
    92
    34
See reviews for
962
719
156
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were very pleased with this choice as it was so close to several of the sights we wanted to see at a reasonable price. It is close to Pret a manger, Cosi, Subway and 2 Starbucks so we didn't include breakfast in our deal and just headed to one of these for breakfast/quick snack. Also had Cold Stone icecream next door and a supermarket a couple of minutes down the road.
Great choice! Service was great too and we chose a room on a higher floor so no outside noise to bother us. Room size was larger than I expected so we fit in quite well with all our large luggage too.
This is going to be my recommendation anytime anyone asks for Washington DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation.

Our goal is to be the first choice of travelers to Washington DC or anywhere in the country. It is very gratifying to know we hit our mark.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were here on vacation over labor day weekend. We had a one bedroom suite which was very nice. The view on an alley was not appealing and made the room somewhat dark, but we were not in Washington for hotel room views. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Free coffee was available very early in the morning and cold water during the day. They had delicious cookies in the lobby in the evening. Probably the best part was the location. It was less than a mile to the national mall with all the monuments and museums. There were plenty of restaurants in the area and easy access to public transportation just across the street, either, either bus or subway. There is a nice park just around the corner. I would certainly choose the Hilton Garden Inn again on its location and value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your endorsement!

I appreciate your comment regarding the view from your suite. The suites are spacious and have a nice sitting room apart from the sleeping area however they are all located on the back of the building. We are forunate that buildings in DC cannot exceed 14 floors so the rooms don't become too dark.

Thank you again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmenach, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Contacted the hotel with questions prior to arrival and they were very helpful. The service in the hotel was great and the rooms to a good standard and comfortable. Very central location for everything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Our location is conveinent to the Mall, museums, monuments, and subway and arguably one of the best in the city.

I am sorry that you did not feel our service was to the levels you expected. We pride ourseleves on providing ultimate service. Based on your comments, it seems we have some opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in mid-Sep 2013. We booked a room for three, and we were put in an accessible room. Beds were a bit small (double bed is smaller than a queen), but we weren't able to get a rollaway bed because of the fire code rules.

Service was okay, which on its own is satisfactory. But we found it disappointing because we'd come from the Hilton Garden Inn at Times Square, NYC, where staff were much friendlier.

But the in-hotel laundry room (washing machine + dryers) were super convenient for us. Location-wise, it's quite good; there is a Metro entrance directly across the street, and a Circulator bus stop about 5 minutes away. You can walk to the White House (about 15-20 minutes).

There aren't many eateries or supermarkets, etc. around though - we had to take the bus down to Adams Morgan for restaurants and supermarkets. It's only $1 each way and takes about 30 minutes max.

Would probably stay here again, because the location is good and it was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravensilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel during the 1st week of Oct. Very close to the White House & the metro. Enjoyed the convenience of it being so close to the government buildings/museums. Staff are very friendly; especially doorman/valet staff! Great hotel if you need to be downtown.

Room Tip: Try the rooms higher up; lots of garbage pick up on 14th Ave. Noisy trucks at 3-5am in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushigal2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice, convenient hotel. Overall satisfied with the stay. When checking in, valet opened the suv and a bottle of wine rolled out and broke on the pavement. Those things happen, not a big deal, but.... Not a word of apology, or concern, only annoyance. Would of expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank FrankD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,996 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing