We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with service and room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very happy with service and room.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a good value in very pricey Washington DC. The location is excellent. As Hilton Honors Diamond members, we were given vouchers for breakfast and water bottles. Breakfast was very good. Two of us used the fitness center which could be better maintained (one treadmill squeaked, another had a nonworking TV), but met our needs.

Room Tip: We ended up with an accessible room. That type of room may be a little larger. It did feel spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    1,153
    286
    91
    34
See reviews for
951
716
154
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were extremely comfortable at the Hilton Garden Hotel. The hotel has large, comfortable rooms and beds. Our room on a high floor at the back of the hotel was peaceful and quiet and we were able to have a peaceful nights sleep after our long days walking around the Smithsonian Museums. It is close to restaurants, shops, trolley bus stops and the Smithsonian museums. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and free coffee, tea & beverage in the lobby every morning was an excellent gesture. Excellent value for such a convenient hotel. There is a gym and a small pool, but as the weather was very hot the pool was often full of small children. Laundry facilities were also available. We found this hotel excellent value for money,



Genuine Hotels.com guest review

Room Tip: Rooms High up at the back of the hotel are bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minoumex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

You cannot beat this hotel for the location, comfort, and price. I was trying to decide between this hotel and the Capital Hilton but glad I picked this one as I think it is better located to the metro as well as DC sites. Plus, it has free wifi!!

So, as others have stated, it is right across the street from the metro to the airport and walking distance to the White House as well as the Smithsonian. It is also a block away from the buses that take you to Georgetown, the zoo, Union Station, etc for $1.00, if you like to view DC above ground (it is a very nice bus).

The rooms were great, and the beds were comfortable. They have all the amenities and it doesn't feel like a category below regular Hiltons (in contrast to Sheraton v. Four Points Sheraton). In fact, they are better because you get free wifi!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Is across the road from the subway, walking distance to most of the monuments and landmarks. The staff are very courteous and efficient. I was in a room with two doubles and the bed was a little hard for my liking, but the king bed rooms have adjustable beds I believe. I recommend the hotel. Nice shower with adjustable head and a good sized desk in the room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MurrayJofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Awesome Hilton just blocks from the White House and a subway stop directly across the street. Some of the friendliest staff I have ever met in a hotel, nothing is too much trouble and lots of smiles greet you at the end of long day on your return to the hotel. Very clean and everything spot on. Lots of sandwich bars and delis in the area too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Washington, DC and there is no way to described how WONDERFUL this hotel is!
We were met by Atenia (on the desk) when we arrived. Her BIG smile and friendly disposition was a welcome relief. We stayed at this hotel for 5 days, and EVERY day - Antenia would greet us warmly with a "hello, & how is your stay going?" She TRULY cares!
She checked us into our rooms promptly and we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the hotel and property.
The restaurant - the Grist Mill - is GREAT! Food is above and beyond "comfort food!" Service is immediate, thanks to Genamo (?spelling of his name, but he works harder than anyone there!). The food was fresh, hot and perfect! You will NEVER get a grilled cheese sandwich like this one! The lobster mac & cheese is to die for! The breakfast buffet is everything you could ask for! Why go anywhere else????
Free Wi-Fi throughout the property and a smoking area right outside the front door.
Free coffee, tea & beverage in the lobby every morning! The door attendant, valet parking attendants, etc were RIGHT there 24/7! Even a security guard through the nighttime hours!
The weather was hot hot hot, so we weren't interested in the indoor pool, although it looked great and there were people using it! The gym was immaculate, but we did not use that either.
The bar, which opens at 4pm was GREAT! DARIN - you are a gem! What a great person! He runs that bar with expertise and knowledge! He makes sure your visit is not just a visit! He interacts with the clientele and is truly an asset to this property!
We met SO many nice people at this bar!
Truly - we could not get over the cleanliness of this hotel! And the friendliness of this hotel! This was our first visit to Washington, DC, and if we ever go back , we will DEFINITELY stay at the Hilton Garden Inn - Downtown! Walking distance to the White House; Metro station across the street (McPherson Station), and the immaculate, well-managed ammenities that go beyond our expectations! THANK YOU - ATENIA, GENAMMO & DARIN! (I know I spelled Genammo incorrectly). HIDDEN GEM!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcla1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed here for a weekend getaway and would come back again in a heartbeat. The hotel is right across the street from a metro stop, but we really didn't even need to use it, as this hotel is walking distance from just about everything (very close to the White House, but not far from most other things, either).

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but we were offered free bottled water while we waited, and they took our cell number so we could wander around and get a bite to eat while we were waiting (and it was only about 15 minutes or so before we were called). The pool was clean, but smaller than we'd hoped. Those are the only two things that prevent me from rating this 5 stars, and if I could only have deducted half a star, I would have. I don't think a hotel (in a comparable price range) can get much nicer than this one.

The service at this hotel was excellent. Our valet, Mario, was friendly and super helpful with anything we needed, including walking directions to attractions we wanted to see. Eddie at the front desk greeted us by name each time he saw us. He inquired how we liked our room, wished us a fun time when we were heading out to see things, and asked how our day was going when we came back. We felt like he went out of his way to make us feel welcome and appreciated.

Our suite was very quiet and dark, and the bed was very comfortable. We slept easily and longer than normal, because we were so comfortable. A small thing we noticed that impressed us was that housekeeping apparently noticed we are regular coffee drinkers (instead of decaf), and left extra regular coffe packets the next day (without our asking). I know, a small thing, but I think it's small stuff like that that makes people feel appreciated.

Room Tip: Our suite was at the end of a hall and did not face the street. There was really no view, but I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwnotabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,966 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing