We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #45 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
cape coral florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Very nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Actually, my wife and I just today flew back home to Florida from DC. We cannot say enough about the Hilton Garden Inn, not because it is a 4 or 5 star hotel, but because of the way a 3 star hotel does it's business. First of all, even though this Hotel is 'downtown' as they say, my wife and I had 10-12 minute walks to the Whitehouse, the Corcoran Gallery, the Metro Center and Ford's Theater. For all the other travel needs there is the McPherson Square Metro line ( orange/blue ) directly across the street from the hotel. I cannot tell you how happy we were each evening to finish our day's walking and sightseeing literally outside our front door. To Kennedy Center it was a one metro stop travel and then the free Kennedy Center Bus to the venue. The metro will take you all over DC. I suppose what I am trying to say is that you cannot overestimate the value of a metro's location to your hotel. The hotel and our room were clean--very, very clean. Housekeeping does what they are supposed to do and they do it well. The front desk check-in was quick, efficient, friendly. Our room with a king bed was nice..nothing fancy but something we had no problem returning to for four evenings. The breakfasts, if you choose, had eggs cooked to order and the usual fruits, oatmeal, sausage, bacon hash, potatoes, juices...almost everything one could want except I do not remember any cheese. ( we survived ). There is a small bar area for evening drinks but not fancy...it had a large screen t.v. for hockey and basketball games so I was happy. The small fridge and microwave in the unit were nice, too.Requiring your room card to be swiped in the elevator before it moved is a good security factor. Now, although having nothing to do with the hotel, the fact that a Pret A Manger restaurant/ sandwich store was at the corner made this place special for my wife since she loves their soups, sandwiches and, oh yes, the expresso coffee at the end of the day. Not fancy but their sandwiches are fresh and soup choices interesting. On weekends, such as Saturday and Sunday the area is quiet ( the Pret is closed ) since the normal workers are at their homes. This was not a problem for us. By the way, coming in from Reagan Airport we took the metro BLUE line directly to the hotel stop and used the metro card we had purchased before we left ( the 30.00 card ). We have been to D.C. before ( and enjoyed a different hotel and DuPont Circle area ) but our return next time will be this Hilton. Hopes this helps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    1,037
    224
    70
    27
See reviews for
827
629
141
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States and Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two weeks ago. Rather than rent a car or take a taxi to the hotel, I decided to take the Metro from the DCA airport. The Metro ride was swift and getting to the hotel was convenient in that as I left the Metro exit door, immediately across the street is the hotel.

The service is not so good compared to other Hiltons.

I had a problem with the air conditioner in the room as it would not turn off despite repeated attempts to shut it down. The cold air and loud roar from the air conditioner was aggravating. Finally, after two visits to the room, the maintenance department got it to turn off.

There are some major attractions in the area, however, only one block from the hotel is McPherson Square which is inhabited mainly by hobos. This gives an uncomfortable feeling if walking past that area. Considering the above issues, I will probably choose a different hotel for my next stay in DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler50502015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patterson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

my stay at the Hilton has always being good. The staff and well as the accomodations are excellent. The staff is very friendly and always looking to help you in any way making you feel alwasy welcome!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The comments about the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown are accurate. It is a nice, comfortable hotel located in the midst of many sights. Easy walking distance to the White House, the Mall and several excellent restaurants. Michael at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. A very nice start to our stay. We had a ton of questions regarding sights, restaurants and side trips and Mario, the valet manager, was terrific. He gave us as much time as we needed, was very informed and pleasant. He made reservations, gave us suggestions regarding side trips, and he really went out of his way to help make our stay delightful and fun. We suspect that he stayed past his shift to help us out. The Hilton Garden Inn seems to be one of more reasonably priced hotels in the area and you get a lot of value for the cost.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_and_Mike_603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The key selling point for this hotel is its in the heart of the city. I went here with my parents over the weekend - all of DC can be mostly covered easily from here. That is all that mattered to me. Everything else was good. We had to pay for parking which was expensive and the only negative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrachood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

great for business travel to DC. Very central location, walkable to most DC attractions. Appreciate how clean the rooms are, also the staff was great at answering questions about the area. Staff knew me by name when I stopped at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmiller148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
239 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown in DC in April of 2013. This is a great hotel that is strategically located very close to the White House and most of the DC sites. We pretty much walked everywhere. You can be standing in front of the White House in about 15 minutes by foot. Reagan International is only a few miles from this hotel, so the cab ride is quick and inexpensive when you are flying in and out. The breakfast buffet was extremely convenient and a great deal. Loved the made to order omlets. Fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, pastries, waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, bagels, coffee, juices, etc. We never had to wait for a table and always left full and ready to face a day of sightseeing.

The rooms were cozy and the beds oh so comfy. I slept like a baby. The furnishings in the room are trendy and look like new. I would suggest that you select a room that does not face 14th Street. It can be quite noisy at night. We could hear sirens and traffic noise. No worries for us because we sleep soundly, but if noise is an issue for you, select an upper floor away from the street. We were traveling with a group of friends and they were equally happy with these accommodations. If I come back to DC, I will definitely book again here. Every afternoon they have a big platter of freshly baked cookies. That was a nice touch. The concierge and front desk staff were friendly and helpful.


Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,518 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing