We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, just dont let the drab foyer fool you. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Up to date furniture inside rooms is a plus. BIG HINT, try to avoid a room with that sits on 14th street (front of hotel) there is a lot of noise, ie. sirens, traffic and horns that go on all night. The windows and curtains do little to block the sounds. Other then that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room with that sits on 14th street (front of hotel) there is a lot of noise, ie. sire...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,942)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,846 - 1,852 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Perfect for family going to DC to see the site. Walking distance to major sites and monuments. Across the street from Metro station. Hotel was more than accommodating during check-in; lobby has free coffee, fruit and cookies in the afternoon. Buffet breakfast was a great way to start the kids' day off (included in room rate was even better). Family suites are one room with a bathroom dividing the room. King bed on one side, pullout coach on the other. TVs on both sides. Note: second floor family suite is next to the laundry room (good or bad depending on your preferences). Didn’t try to restaurant as there are so many options in DC!

Room Tip: Note: second floor family suite is next to the laundry room (good or bad depending on your preferen...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaddyFatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel has good downtown location to see monuments and other sites. Close to quick, cheap food as well as nicer dining as well. AC/heating units were a problem; would not hold temperature and extremely noisy. Maintenance was unable to revsolve so set on "emergency heat." Next morining shower valve was difficult to start howeve, once running, would not turn off. Front desk agreed to move us but new room was smaller with view of inner courtyard/office building. Basically had to keep the drapes shut for the next two days. Overall not a place I 'd recommend unless a last resort to be downtown. Likely would not return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and appreciate your feedback.

Without a doubt, you should not have experienced any issues with your room and apologize for the malfunction with the faucet and heat. Our location is in the heart of Downtown DC and is though convenient to the sites, some of the views are of neighboring buildings and alleys though the majority face front.

If you your travels ever bring you back to Washington, DC, please contact me in advance and I will make sure we have a room with a view for you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn was a very nice hotel in a great location. The room was in excellent condition and very clean, especially the bathroom. No view, but who cares, we spent most of the day outdoors for that. Free wi-fi was a nice perk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank MarcN476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped for a short visit with my two teenage daughters. Hotel is walking distance from many attractions. Room was nice, clean. Hotel appearance is very nice. Front desk staff was particularly friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank MRATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a business meeting. My room was clean and quiet - both requirements for me.

Don't miss the restaurant - while the breakfast buffet was average, the dinner was amazing. I had the Shrimp and Grits with Andouille Sausage. This entree was great - highly recommend it. I also tried the gelato - while the Carmel Corn gelato was icy, the Vanilla Bean gelato was creamy and delicious. When I mentioned the problem with the first gelato that I tried, my server offered the replacement and removed the charge from my bill. Great service.

The entire staff was very friendly with greetings all around.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRohlfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Hilton Gardens downtown location is prefect. It is directly across from Metro and within walking distance of the White House, China Town, The Verizon Center, and much much more. If you didn't want to walk catching a cab was a piece of cake. The rooms were nice and clean. We stayed in a room with two queens. It included a refrigerator, microwave, and a safe. The pool is small and there is no hot tub (which would have nice after a long day of walking). The fitness center is small but has everything a person needs for a quick workout. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They have a breakfast buffet for $14.95. If your not a buffet person you can order individual items or there is a Starbucks on the corner one block away. Our room was on the front side of 14th street. You could hear the noise from the street (typical for a big city) but once we went to sleep I didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $141 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing