We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in years”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel we've stayed in since I can't remember when. The service is better than the Ritz. The rooms are great and quiet. The pool was refreshing, the restaurant was great, the location perfect, and the price just right. This is the place to stay in DC!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnuocerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    1,154
    288
    91
    34
See reviews for
954
717
155
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband, myself and my friend from England visited Washington DC in September 2012 and enjoyed the whole experience.
We had booked the hotel through Hotels.com, which is a great way to book hotels. The hotel staff were more than willing to help make any arrangements we needed and to assist on how and what to see in Washington. We discovered that the hotel breakfast and dinner was competitive and were particularly good, therefore we usually ate there, as we were tired after all the sightseeing. One waitress was extremely helpfully and went out of her way to arrange anything we needed. Her name was Daria Chandler at the Grist Mill Restaurant. The sleeping accommodations were especially good considering there was three of us in the room and we did not keep bumping into each other, and it was kept very clean. The safe in the room was worth using.

Room Tip: State clearly what type of room you want, eg smoking or non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and all members of the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. It was. We were right across the street from a Metro station and could get around D.C. rapidly. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateOrloske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over a dozen visits over the past four months on business. The Hilton Garden Inn is a nice hotel in the Heart of DC. It is located between the White House and the Capitol, with the Mall only a few blocks walk. The rooms are nice, your standard type hotel room. Rooms are always clean, have a nice size flat screen TV, free wireless internet, fridg, microwave, and an indoor pool.

This is not a luxury hotel, with a simple lobby, but the staff is always helpful, and the Chef Chris is very approachable, and willing to make special orders upon request. We have requested Veal chops, and Chef Chris ordered them specifically for our next visit, and made myself and business associated a custom meal. You don't get that at very many Hotels.

The rooms are a bit pricey, but that is very common in DC.

Room Tip: Staying in the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy on 14th street. I always request a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrvideo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 2 adults and one 9 year old stayed here for 4 nights in January. We booked a king suite, though the room was smaller than we anticipated. It was a long rectangle, with the sitting area first and then the bed in a back area. The problem was that there was way too much oversized furniture in the sitting area, so there was very little free space. Otherwise, the room is clean, but needed a little TLC. The flatscreen TV had wires hanging in all directions like an octopus. We chose this hotel for 2 reasons, it is across the street from a Metro Station (McPherson Sq) and it has a heated indoor swimming pool. It was great to take a little swim in the dead of winter after a day of sightseeing. There are lots of quick food options around for breakfast, a Cosi next door, a Pret across the street, Au Bon Pain a block away.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank zswaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for 3 nights after Christmas. I had booked early enough to get a special rate with free breakfast buffets for all four of us each day, that was awesome! The breakfast buffet is regularly $15/person. We had adjoining rooms, one with 2 double beds and one with a king, and both rooms were spacious and clean. There is a refrigerator and microwave in each room, which is a great convenience. Easy walking distance to the National Mall, the monuments, the White House, the Capitol, The National Theatre, Ford's Theatre. And there is a metro stop right across the street. Great location! Valet parking for 38.00/day. We drove in from Ohio and it is nice to be able to just pull up to the hotel and have someone take care of the car. I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the street view, lower floor, and there was quite a bit of street noise, even during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in early November. It's a simple hotel -- nothing fancy -- but the rooms are large, clean, and in good repair, the furniture comfortable, and the shower pretty good (although it only got "so hot" - never quite as hot as we like it). The staff is friendly. The location is great, walking distance from the mall and Penn Qtr., and across the street from the McPherson Square metro. Given the choice, I prefer to stay in a less-business-y neighborhood like DuPont Circle, but nothing is that far away within the district. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,968 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#73 of 141 in Washington DC
4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing