We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place, would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #50 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place, would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a DC native, it's strange for me to stay in hotels. We selected this one based on it's location- which is great. Walking distance to everything- Chinatown, The Mall, etc. It's a 7 minute taxi ride to Union Station. We flew directly in to National. It's an easy Metro ride but much luggage and a cranky 8 year-old? We took a cab. It was less than $20 from the airport to the hotel.

The room itself was clean and neat. We looked out to the dumpsters but really, it's a hotel in a major city. I wasn't paying for premium views, I was paying for a place to sleep. The heater wasn't working right but I let the front desk know on our way out and it was fixed when we returned a few hours later. The beds were comfortable and clean. I didn't notice any noise at all but I live in a downtown area so that's probably why.

We ate at the Grist Mill, their restaurant, and were very pleasantly surprised at how good it was. We did not have breakfast there as it seemed incredibly expensive for what you get, and there's a ton of bagel places and Au Bon Pain, etc. within blocks of the hotel.

It was a nice place to stay and while not a 'regular' Garden Inn (obviously it hasn't always been a Garden Inn, it's a pretty old building I think!) it was as well managed as they all have been. My son in particular thought the doorman was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,060
    235
    73
    28
See reviews for
842
652
143
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very clean rooms and a big bathroom that was clean too. The room was comfortable and so was the bed! Close to all the tourist attractions and staff where very friendly. Some people mention the noise of the streets and views out onto an alley which I had. But come one, you are ina mjor city you have to expect these things. I can handle street noise, and I am not in Washington to sit looking out a window at the view!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Centre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Like most dc hotels, bring ear plugs or ask them to set your fan to run constantly for the white noise. On the 14th street side the road noise is a bit much but manageable if you plan ahead. Very clean hotel, safe, great service. Both Jessica and Jojo at the bar are simply delightful and work their butt off. As a frequent traveler I appreciate great service and a friendly smile. Because of the road noise and mix up at check in, I give the hotel facility 4 stars but I give the staff 5+++ stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from the 30th of December through the 1st of January. We booked through Expedia, and the room was described as having as city view. We had an unattractive view of the alley. The room was very clean, and a decent size. We choose this hotel based on the ratings and location. The first night there I sat on the edge of the bed and thought that it was rather firm. That night I tossed and turned all night and kept rolling to the middle of the bed where there was a large indentation. I finally fell asleep at 6am after putting a pillow between my knees. I thought that maybe I could do that the next night and get better sleep. The next night I couldn't fall asleep again. The beds are so hard that laying on your side hurts your shoulders and your hips. I just find it strange that people rated this hotel so high considering the bed is the most important part. My boyfriend and I were so tried that we couldn't enjoy sightseeing. We went to bed at 9pm on New Years eve!

I'm really not happy about the value of this room and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family. What a shame because the location and cleanliness are great. If you don't like firm beds, stay away because this bed felt like sleeping on a granite counter top. Due to the tossing and turning, the fitted sheets kept coming off the bed at the top and I would frequently wake up with my face touching the mattress. The sheets were not deep enough for the bed. We also had desert at the hotel restaurant. I got a chocolate volcano cake, it tasted fine but didn't have the liquid center. It was cooked it too long.

There is construction happening on the street behind the hotel. We were treated to sounds of jackhammers and trucks backing up at 3am the first night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Bamoram,

I am sorry to see that you had a time with the bed in your room. If you would contact me directly, I would like to know the room number of your specific room so I can investiage and take corrective action.

The beds in our King rooms have, for lack of a better term, a sleep number bed. As such both sides of the bed can vary in firmness. From your description, it sounds as if one side was set softer than the other or even an air baffle may have failed. Either way, it didn't work the way is was intended.

Please contact me and let me know what your room number was and I will do my best to make the right for you. My email is john.rish@hilton.com.

Sincerely,

John Rish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We traveled to DC with our 5 year old grandson. We chose this hotel because of its location and because it offered a suite option. It worked out great! He wanted to see the White House which was too blocks away. The room worked well for us because it had a mini fridge and two TVs. The hotel pool was also a big hit along with the afternoon cookies. One night we had dinner at the restaurant which met our needs perfectly. The front desk was extremely helpful too. I highly recommend the Hilton Garden in DC.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed there just before Christmas, the hotel was modern, clean and charming. I would look elsewhere to dine in future as the portions although well prepared and tasty were not that great. I ordered lasagne and got just that.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lesley_Firth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My two adult daughters, sister in law and I stayed for three nights for a girls weekend away. Arriving on a Thursday evening and leaving Sunday morning there was no traffic. Parking was 35 dollars each night which is the going rate. The hotel was in walking distance for us to all the sights we wanted to see, Capital, Library of Congress, the Mall, Ford's Theater and the White House. While we walked to all the sights the metro is located right across the street if needed. Breakfast was first rate and there are several places to eat close by in all price ranges. Only trouble was getting our key cards to work in the elevator at times. Our room was on the 14th floor and was very quiet. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtnmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,914 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,581 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing