We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$140
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$189
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,156)
Filter reviews
3,156 results
Traveler rating
1,459
1,245
314
103
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,459
1,245
314
103
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite housegrist millgreat locationmetro stationdirectly across the streetwithin walking distancefew blocksnational mallstreet noiseblue linewould stay here againbreakfast buffetindoor poolhotel restaurantsmithsonian museumssight seeingfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,198 - 2,203 of 3,156 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a convention. An easy cab ride from Reagan National. Clearly an older property, with a very small lobby/bar and restaurant. However, the interior room I was given was quite spacious for a major city. The bathroom was quite small, also reflecting the age of the property, and the shower drain gave off a nasty odor – prompting me to leave the door closed all the time. The hotel staff seemed a bit clueless. Bedding was typical HGI – meaning comfortable. Windows open but there is a set of huge air handlers that resonate in the inner building area, making sleeping with the windows impossible. The property is about six blocks from the Convention Center and the same from the White House but has no convenient Metro stop. There are restaurants all around and a CVS drugstore but no real grocery store. Be sure to take breakfast, lunch or even light early dinner at any of the COSI restaurants in the area – the buffet breakfast at the hotel was terrible and overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear TRV_1957,

Thank you very much for posting the comments about your stay at our hotel. We strive every day to make sure our guests know that we appreciate their business; after all, we want to be your preferred hotel in Washington DC.

I was sorry to read that there was an odor emanating from your bathroom drain. Drain traps are easily cleared and cleaned and, although we have not had any subsequent complaints of an odor, we are anxious to investigate the issue so that no other guests are inconvenienced.

Our breakfast buffet offers made to order eggs and omelets, French toast, Belgian waffles, pancakes oatmeal, fresh fruit, and a host of other options. I am sorry you did not find it satisfying, and if you have any recommendations as to what we were missing, let us know! Although we don't regularly stock items such as soy milk or gluten free bread, many guests have requested them and we've had them delivered the next day.

Were glad you enjoyed the comfort of the room, appreciate the constructive criticism, and truly value your patronage.

Regards,

John Rish
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location for walking to all Smithsonian & Memorials & Capitol sites. Just couple blocks up the street from Hamiltons - great for lunch or dinner (sushi good too) and around the corner from Italian place (Tuscana, I think). Breakfast included in our room price. We have some dietary restrictions and were again pleased with menu options and service. Lives up to the higher standards of Hilton Garden Inns. More than adequately stocked Business Center with 3 computers and ALL supplies you might need. Additionally, staff sent a fax out for us at no charge (it was long-distance too). Purpose of trip was pleasure, but some business came up. In fact, we were celebrating our anniversary so the hotel had a little something for us in our room, nice touch. Room was clean and comfortable. We had some flexibility on the dates we stayed. Thanks to another trip advisor contributor I learned that staying over the weekend was less expensive, significantly so, but I was able to book Friday night with checkout Tuesday morning at the weekend rate, maybe because it was 4 nights -don't know - I just booked it online. Best value I could find in a hotel in that area. P.S. there was a "greeter/concierege" who was able to give us some suggestions that we could easily accomplish by walking.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King w/Bed & Breakfast package. The King mattress had a mattress control so we could adjust firmness of mattress NICE because we like them firm. We were on 5th floor and did not have trouble with street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quasibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there last week of October and we enjoyed very much! Centrally located, is very close to some of the famous landmarks and the metro station is just across the street. The room has a good size, is well furnished, and the bed is extremely comfortable. The breakfast selection is unbelievable with additional stations like omelette and waffles bar. There is also a good convenience store with reasonable prices at hand and several food options a stone throw distance from the hotel. Valet e security services were very good and quick!
My only real disappointment was with some of the services. I've brought the Romance Package for my husband birthday, including a bottle of wine and breakfast served in room as a surprise because for all accounts, we were staying there because a dinner cruise celebration. When we came back from the cruise, I thought the wine would be in the room chilling for us. It was not, and because that, I had to call the reception and unveil my two little treats to my husband, because the night receptionist didn't even know "IF" they would do this!!!
Other than that, I would definitively go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street or you will be facing walls from another building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsbstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Family stayed here during Oct 2012 Weekend visit. Excellent location - easy walking to Wh House and Monuments/Mall. OUTSTANDING breakfast selection & quality including waffles & omelets plus standard buffet items. Metro Station is literally across street from front door and very convenient. Suite room was nice with quality bedding, furnishings, toiletries however views and layout were only satisfactory. Disappointing pool and fitness room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPH_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hilton garden inn had great rooms, awesome lobby, restaurant downstairs, and was within walking distance to many sights. (Real close to the White House for example).

The metro station is right accross the street so you can get anywhere in the city that you want.

Has a laundry room on the 5th floor. (Coin operated. Very tiny but got the job done).

We ate at a lot of the Cosi and Potbelly casual dining restaurants. Each chain has about 15 to 20 locations in the city. We also recommend visiting the Newseum!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellingMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews