We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, good value for D.C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

3 night stay in double bed room = $487
Parking fee for 3 nights = $105
Garage tax for 3 nights = $19

Total = $611
Breakfast buffet - $32 for two

This is a good price for downtown D.C. The hotel is found 1 mile from Washington monument, 2 miles from Lincoln memorial, 2 miles from US Capitol, 0.5 miles from White house and 1.5-2 miles from shopping on main street.
The hotel was clean with renovated rooms and great A.C. for the hot July summer days.

There are hotels closer to monuments but are much more expensive. The Hilton is a great "budget" hotel in downtown D.C.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugal_traveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you had a good stay and hope to see you again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,942)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,085 - 2,091 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

The location of this hotel is convenient for tourists and the rooms are comfortable and clean as one would expect in a Hilton chain facility. What makes this one stand out was the warm and fully engaged service. We have been in plenty chain hotels where the staff was dryly, but everyone we encountered here seemed to enjoy their jobs and to sincerely want to give guests a good experience. A standout in this regard was an assistant manager named "Brian" who we first encountered when he overheard us ask the desk about taxis. He smiled broadly and took us outside, got out in the street, and had a taxi for us in seconds. We ran into him several other times during our 3 day stay and invariably he was warm and eager to help. He and the other staff members make this hotel memorable and we will stay again when we return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaringrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for the review. We're glad we were able to provide a clean and comfortable hotel, and I'm pleased to hear our staff helped make your stay all the better. Thank you again for the review, and we hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Business trip. Fairly functional, average hotel. The refrigerator in my room was faulty and made a loud noise every hour or so which made sleeping impossible. The restaurant food is very poor quality and expensive for what you get. The location is very close to the White House, but the downside of the location is that there are very few food outlets or restaurants in the area open in the evening and the street is very noisy. The hotel attracts a lot of families with young kids. I will stay elsewhere on my next DC trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flensdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take feedback like yours very serioiusly and will work to improve upon areas noted. Thank you once again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a family reunion and stayed here. The hotel staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms were what I was hoping for, with a coffee maker, microwave, and mini frig that are usable. The bed was comfortable, too. Loved the location. It's an easy walk to the metro. As well as some eateries close by (mostly geared for weekday business), there is a grocery store a few doors down and a drugstore across the street. It was so convenient. I felt safe no matter what time I was out and about, from 7am to midnight. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel, so I can't really judge that.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 11th floor with a kingbed, it was very comfortable and I did not notice any nois...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Franklin Square for 3 nights over the Memorial Day weekend in May 2012. We thought that this hotel was well located for sightseeing in DC, positioned on 14th Street between H and I Streets. This is a typical Hilton Garden Inn - the rooms contain a mini-refrigerator and microwave positioned on/in sort of a bar area (but it has no bar sink nor does it contain any glasses, plates, or silverware). Our room was a fine size, containing a king bed and a chair/ottoman; however, I think the same size rooms could also contain two double beds, which might be a bit tight (to compensate, perhaps they don’t include the chair/ottoman). Furnishings were modern and up-to-date (for example, duvets and bed scarves, flat-screen TVs). An iron/ironing board and hair dryer were provided, along with basic toiletries. (No robes or slippers though, which wasn’t surprising because it isn’t a full-service Hilton.) The hotel was fully booked on the weekend that we visited, so we didn’t receive an upgrade to a suite as we usually do because we are Platinum HHonors members. The lobby is very attractive, with a bar, restaurant, and lounge area. In the morning, coffee was provided in the lounge area, and in the evening, cookies and fruit were provided (and they did a great job on replenishing items). Water flavored with citrus was available during the day. Because it was so hot on the weekend that we visited, the hotel even set out a large cooler filled with bottled water so that guests could take a bottle with them before they began their sightseeing for the day. It rained one evening during our stay, and they set out small towels in the lobby so that you could dry off a bit if you were caught in the storm. This hotel provided lots of little touches that were unexpected yet much appreciated. The hotel has a pantry area near the main desk where you can buy snacks and drinks (including beer) to enjoy in your room. The hotel has a pool, gym, and bar/restaurant. Parking is about $35 per night; however, there are a very limited number of free spaces on the surrounding streets if you monitor your time carefully. I think that you could park overnight (and continuously) on weekends for free, as long as your car was moved by 8:00 or 9:00 am on the following weekday morning. There is a blue-line Metro stop (Franklin Square) directly across the street from the hotel, which we used to travel easily to Arlington National Cemetery. We found that for accessing the Mall sights, it was easier just to walk the 3+ blocks. There are lots of shops and restaurants nearby, including a CVS pharmacy and package stores that sell wine and beer. The staff was really friendly and helpful, particularly the valets/doormen/bellmen. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are working hard to try to anticipate your needs with the bottled water and towels in the lobby. Thank you again and we hope to see you sometime in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel was selected for me by the organizer of an event I was attending. My expectations were low. However, the location is fantastic and the room I had was quite large. Unfortunately, the mattress seemed to be foam, which I found uncomfortable. I also did not like the texture on the duvet. The lighting in the bathroom was awkward. I could not maintain an internet connection in my room. Finally, there was loud construction in the lobby, which were not notified of in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAG224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our king bed mattresses have an adjustable comfort setting that may help provide a better nights' sleep. Thank you once again. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is our second time staying with the Hilton Garden Inn. Both of our trips, staying with the Hilton was enjoyable. Staff was very pleasant and accomodating to us. The location is close to all the monuments and the White House. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends when visiting Washington D.C..

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and they are renovating the floors. Nice hotel. Breakfast excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raylandridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your return service and I'm glad to hear your stay was just as nice this time around. We hope to see you again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $141 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing