We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,256)
Filter reviews
3,256 results
Traveler rating
1,499
1,281
332
107
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,499
1,281
332
107
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite housegrist millgreat locationmetro stationdirectly across the streetwithin walking distancenational mallfew blocksstreet noiseblue linewould stay here againbreakfast buffetindoor poolrestaurant stafffront desk staffsmithsonian museumssight seeing
Filter
Updating list...
2,501 - 2,506 of 3,256 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

excellent hotel only two blocks from White House and across the road from subway.We walked most of the time ,but we did use the subway which was very easy to understand .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review. I'm glad the proximity to the metro as well as the sights made your stay easy.

Thank you once again for the feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Chose primarily due to price/proximity to tourist attractions. Location is superb. Decent places within two block radius to grab bites to eat on the cheap. "Classier" restaurants nearby and within a quick 10 minute cab.

Hotel was clean, free coffee and OJ in the morning. Staff was friendly and the room was a very decent size (though a view was lacking). I'd give 3.5 stars if I could. Bed was good, bathroom was no frills, but comfortable.
-1 star for charging me for razor (which most hotel's will provide for free).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wacawaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate feedback and use it to improve in the future. I am glad you found the location and service great and I do apologize that the bed/bath was found to be average.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in DC in September of 2011 for a long weekend. Only a 15 minute Metro ride from Ronald Reagan International Airport, very easy. Metro is right across the street, the McPherson stop. Easy Metro access to Arlington Cemetery as well.

The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, such as the White House. An easy cab ride to the Capitol Building.

The rooms were clean and modern. There is a restaurant/ bar at the hotel. We did not eat there but did get drinks at the bar and the staff was very friendly. Starbucks and Cosi only 2-3 blocks away for a quick breakfast. I believe they served breakfast at the hotel as well. For us it was not included and we ventured out.

If you have a car, valet seemed to be the easiest way to go as parking can be a challenge. If you don't really need a car, don't get one. If you need one for the day, rent from the airport and just return when you're done with it.

We rented a car, drove to Baltimore to catch a Red Sox/ Orioles game (go sox!) and then returned the car when finished. We also took advantage of our time with the car to visit the National Zoo and the National Cathedral (which was still closed due to earthquake damage!)

We would stay at the Hilton Garden Inn again.

Wi-fi was available at the hotel, I believe it was free, but I am not 100% sure on that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kudos4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Making the most of your stay can be a challenge when traveling, but it seems that you really did make the most of yours and took advantage of the proximity to metro, major sites, and many restaurants.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Within walking distance of a lot of venues. Rooms are nice and the bar in the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review. The feedback is appreciated and I am glad you found the location and rooms great. I hoped we helped improve your stay.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Everyone, (except perhaps some bellhops), were friendly, forthcoming with local info, and went out of their way to help, including looking for and finding one birthday candle. The breakfast buffet was nicely stocked and the made to order omelets were excellent, with some really good french toast. The rooms were large and nicely furnished. Street noise is reduced if you get a room on a higher floor (the hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main attractions).

Room Tip: Street noise is reduced if you get a room on a higher floor (the hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main attractions).
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a response.

I am glad you found the breakfast buffet nice and the staff were helpful and friendly, as they can help make or break your trip. I appreciate the feedback.

Thank you once again. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews