We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good for what you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Iran
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good for what you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is not a luxury hotel but is very good for your price of 110 dollar per night.the rooms is like 4 star hotels.very clean and big enough .very good location within 5 min walk to metro station and 5-10 min walk to attractions(the Hall with all the museums,white house,capitol and manuments).very friendly staff.they let us have an early check in at 12 pm instead of 3 pm.They provide us a free baby crab.The streets nearby are full of resturants and also Zara and H&M for shopping.it has pool and fitness center but I did not use it.If you do not want to pay for breakfast you can have it in the very close Mc Donald in the 7th street within 5 min walk but that Mc Donald has many homeless men and I do not recomment for family.
The negative point is the nearby streets at night.you should know that this hotel and all the museums and white house are in downtown.there are many homeless men in the nearby streets.I do not recomment wallking after 10 p.m.
Overally,if you do not have a car and want to be within walking distance to all attractions,it is perfect for you.But if you have a car or you do not mind to pay for taxi and you need a safe and live amenity for night life,,it is not suitable for you and I recomment take hotel in George Town or Dupont circle.

Room Tip: Our room had no view to the outside with only walls ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RezaSaadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your visit to the Nations Capital. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay experience.

We look forward towards welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    348
    104
    29
    11
See reviews for
344
217
58
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are lots of restaurants nearby. The one located very near is Zaytinya which is very good. Gallery Place metro station is half yard away. You can see lot of people around because of Verizon centre (basketball/concerts etc) and Regal cinemas.

The hotel itself is pretty neat. Friendly staff. Ask for a room with a street view to have a better feel in the morning. The bed is very comfortable. The room I got had a microwave and a small refrigirator. Very nicely maintained bathroom. You get free USA Today paper in the lobby.

Room Tip: Room on upper floor (8th), facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svemana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We agree our downtown location is excellent and convenient to all points of interest. We are glad that you found our hotel staff friendly and we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving break and couldn't have had a better time. The hotel has a couple of metro stops nearby, one just a block away. There are great restaurants and things to do close by---Jaleo, Zaytina, Spy Museum, Portrait Gallery to name a few. The pool is pretty small but my kids had a great time and loved that the hotel provided a ton of pool toys. The fitness center is surprisingly good for an old hotel as well. Service was great and the rooms were clean. The concierge desk was always helpful with directions and questions. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_from_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott on F St because we were in town for an event at the Verizon Center. Despite a small mishap with the room availability (our room was not ready; they gave us a room that had not been made up. Then finally were given a room on the third floor), we had a very enjoyable stay. The location is perfect if you are in town for a Verizon Center event. It is also across the street from the amazing Spy Museum and a few blocks from China Town. The hotel is in an old bank. The downstairs, where the pool is, feels as if you are going to an old vault. The pool is fantastic. Very small but a perfect temperature and it also had quite a few toys for kids. The exercise rooms are small, and split up (weights in one room and cardio machines in another). The Bistro, where breakfast is served, is also the business center. The cafe is like a Starbucks, but the food is made to order and brought to the table. We had a very good breakfast, free with the room. The Courtyard is run by a Marriott licensee, so being a Marriott rewards member did not have much pull, it seems. The only other comment is that it takes a long time for the valet to get the car. Otherwise, our stay was great. We will return to the hotel. It was a great price and a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drkarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We agree our downtown location is excellent and convenient to all points of interest. Our staff and service is what continues to give our hotel the competitive edge over our competition. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the initial check in experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three nights at this property during the middle of November. As a number of other reviewers have noted, it is in a great location for business and vacation/recreation. The property is a short walk from the Gallery Place Metro stop, Chinatown, and numerous restaurants. If you appreciate older buildings, this former bank will interest you, as a number of interior architectural details remain in the lobby and adjacent restaurant.

My room was spacious and quiet, and near the stairwell. I know this because we had a false fire alarm on my last night.

The Bistro "restaurant" is located on the lower level of the hotel. It serves a limited range of Starbucks coffees and breakfast. My first (and only) meal there was a flavorless breakfast sandwich on microwave-hardened bread. If you want to eat on the cheap, walk around the corner to the Subway and get a comparable flatbread sandwich for a much lower price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed a week making the Courtyard Washington Convention Center our family vacation base in DC and could not have been happier. Good restaurant in the hotel with lots of other options nearby. Great central location to all the attractions. No need to have a car if you stay at this excellent hotel. Really nice breakfast which may or may not be included depending on your room package. Extremely helpful staff...it just doesn't get any better than this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macgruber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am so pleased we helped to make your week special. As you and many of our guest will attest to our staff and teams efforts towards delivering flawless service. Thank you for your kind remarks, for your business and for coming to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in future.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked a room here through hotels.com. When I arrived, I was told they overbooked and were sending me to a Fairfield Inn about 5 blocks away. This, even though my room was PREPAID. They gave me some cash for a cab ride and did not charge me for the first night of valet parking.

The building is an old bank building and has a pretty cool lobby. They have kept most of the original interior walls.

The room itself was very nice, but I was disappointed to see that the windows do not open. Valet parking is normally about $40/night.

Considering I had to be inconvenienced and go to another hotel, it would have been nice to at least gotten both nights of valet parking free. It's not a cheap hotel and I don't believe they should be overbooking - and if they do, people who have already paid for the room should get priority.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mobycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I’m deeply sorry to hear of your less than favorable experience. The service that you received and as evident through the many great comments from our previous guests and their experiences are not a true reflection of our team. I am committed to ensuring that we change this perception you may have of us. Please feel free to contact me directly at 202-638-4600 or via e-mail ralphshorter@cmccdc.com.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,582 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing