We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Marriotts can be hit or miss but this one was definitely a hit - nice size room, attractively decorated, large spotless walk-in shower, very clean room overall, and extremely helpful, friendly staff at a good price. The hotel is very conveniently located just 2 blocks from the metro and right across the street from National Portrait Gallery. The bed was very comfy too and best of all, no nasty bedspread! And when I requested a room change bc the view was of the side of a building, they immediately did so and I had a great view down F street.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face a wall so be sure to ask for one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you experience our property to be a “Marriott Hit”. Thank you for your sharing your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    332
    103
    28
    11
See reviews for
332
210
55
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our family took a four day trip to Washington DC this past week. We had the most wonderful time at this hotel. It was centrally located between the White House, Smithsonians, and Capital building, so we could all walk to any one of them within minutes.! There were also many restaurants to walk and eat at, and we loved the pizza at "PI" next door and FRozen YO for a treat down the street.
We arrived Friday evening and were promptly greeted by Francis the bellman with a smile. The front desk clerk(Dave) sweetly checked us in and called up to the room minutes after we got in to make sure we were happy and comfortable. We loved the view from our corner 9th floor room and the only thing lacking was a microwave, that Dave made sure to have sent up right away!
The hotel was clean and bright. The breakfast served on the lower level was delicious and the ladies who worked down there were extra friendly to my children(age 7 and 9). When ever we did need our car (driving to Arlington and the National Zoo) the bellman had it pulled up to the front door within minutes! The kids were able to swim in the pool at night after our long outings while my husband and I enjoyed the hot tub. I cant tell you enough how much we enjoyed this hotel and our entire trip to beautiful DC. I will stay hear the next time I visit the city, for sure!

Room Tip: If you can choose a corner room on a high floor. You will get great views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themeanys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you enjoyed our friendly service and food offerings in our Bistro restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

At the Courtyard by Marriott, there are customers, and there are the dregs - which means anyone with a Living Social coupon. First, there are dozens of blackout dates, which at least they're honest about and show you up front. BUT THEN, there are severe restrictions on how many of the coupons they will accept each week, so you have to book minimum four weeks in advance. This they don't tell you until AFTER you purchase the coupon. I spoke with the Sales Director who told me there are plenty of rooms available on various dates for regular customers, but not for the (lowlife) Living Social people. It's the Back Of The Bus for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sociallyliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I’m deeply sorry to hear of your less than favorable experience with booking the “Living Social” promotional package. The service that you received and as evident through the many great comments from our guests, is not a true reflection of our team. I am committed to ensuring that we change this perception you may have of us. Please feel free to contact me directly at 202-638-4600 or via e-mail ralphshorter@cmccdc.com.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The central location is perfect for a visit to the National Mall ! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived before our check-in time and they stored our luggage so we could walk over to the National Book Festival. The location is one block from the metro and there was always a cab out front waiting for a customer. We will definitely stay here again. Our room was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I decided on a quick trip to DC for the weekend. We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the Metro Station, Smithsonians, restaurants and the Mall. I requested an early check-in since our flight arrived at 7am into Reagan. Took the yellow line straight to Gallery Place/Chinatown station...got to the Courtyard before 8am! Checked in at the hotel and they were able to get us our room. Room was on the 10th (top) floor. It was quite small and did not have a view of anything (unless you consider the space between 2 buildings a view.) It didn't matter to us. It was very clean, quiet, comfortable bed and just what we needed. We were not in the room much anyway. Everyone was very friendly. Very convenient (few blocks) to the Mall and the Smithsonians. Some of the best restaurants were in this area too. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveler621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Near the Ford Theater, Spy Museum, National Art Gallery, Convention Center, Metro. When you take the Metro be aware that there is a $1 surcharge for using a paper ticket, even though that is the only ticket you can buy. If you don't add the $1 to your fare you can't exit at your destination. There are machines there where you can add a dollar but they only take cash. We walked to the Mall and the attractions there. On the way to the Mall, corner of Pennsylvania and 9th is a great restaurant for breakfast and lunch, Paul. It is French but very reasonably priced and the bread and also coffee is to die for. They also have freshly squeezed orange juice and fantastic croissants. We ate there 4 times in 5 days. We stayed on the 8th floor and the room was quiet, clean and reasonably spacious. We had access to the concierge lounge. That was a little disappointing. One morning they ran out of coffee. One evening they had no hot snacks (they said the chef was not in tonight). Anyway, we would still stay there on our next visit to DC

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Limits noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I booked it through expedia flights and tickets from toronto to washing dc came up to 590.00 per person.
Excellent location , near most of the museums and cab ride from airport to hotel was 15-16 dollars. Staff was very friendly and they had free water bottles for the customers great for this humid weather. they had weekend happy in the evening with complimentary fresh fruits and juice. Will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JASHFAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you enjoyed the complimentary food offerings. We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing