We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel - Staff a Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #102 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible Hotel - Staff a Mixed Bag”
Reviewed July 28, 2007

This hotel is in a nice area, and close to the metro. That is all that is nice about it. My room smelled like paint the entire time, and construction workers walking across the roof in front of my window was not a pleasant sight to wake up to. My drain in the shower was clogged. I called downstairs to have it fixed, and somebody did come up and work on it, but did not leave the area they fixed clean. There is no mini bar/fridge, and the vending machines did not work on my floor, so the only way to get a bottle of water was to go to the gift shop and purchase some (a huge inconvenience). The sheets on my bed were scratchy (it felt like the fabric was pilling). Also, do not stay here if you are disabled. I was traveling with someone who is disabled and had confirmed a handicapped room, but was not given one when we checked in. The security personnel were also not helpful when she became ill and needed to be taken to the emergency room.

On a better note, the room service staff as well as the cleaning staff were fine and pleasant.

  • Liked — Close to Metro
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    1,008
    563
    195
    113
See reviews for
375
323
121
1,401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Nice, pretty hotel.. close to zoo and metro line. BUT, my company paid for me to stay for 4 days. When we got there to check in they said they had no confirmation email.. so I had to pay 200 dollars of my own money to stay the night. come to find out.. my company sent that email and they received that email a month before. but did not read it. were not friendly were not willing to compensate anything. They did refund my money the next day when I proved that my company paid a month before. there were no bath towels in the room. Walls very very thin. Employees and managers not very friendly unless you throw a fit about how crappy of a job they are doing. Make sure you bring a fax or email confirmation with you that you paid. because trust me they will lose it. Please beware of this hotel.

  • Liked — mcdonalds and the zoo were close by
  • Disliked — the staff very unfriendly
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tripperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

I stayed at the Wardman Park Marriott from Wednesday 6/13 to Sunday 6/17.

Check-in: A - I checked in at 11am and received our room right away. Staff was polite and helpful.

Room: A - I was in the Wardman Tower room 1344. It was a standard room with a king sized bed. The bathroom was large and clean. As was the room. There was plenty of closet space in the walk-in closet. I was on the first floor with a view of the pool. Although I thought it may be noisy being directly next to the pool, I never heard a sound when the window was closed.

Housekeeping: A+ - Housekeeping was great. They came each afternoon and cleaned the room very well. They left extra towels and toiletries each day. The service was excellent.

Room Service: A- - Room service was prompt and the food was hot. The only complaint I had was they served it on a tray and not on a rolling table. Otherwise it was good.

Overall I would give the hotel an A. It was close to the Metro stop and the Wardman tower had historic charm. I would chose to stay here again!

  • Liked — The Historic Charm
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAllieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed the weekend of June 10th for our anniversary. We choose this location due to the fact close to the zoo,
We had a great room and room service ( which was average).
The common areas where very attractive and the onsite Starbucks is a plus. The metro stops right at the hotel which is wonderful

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Everything is run very well. Clean, good meeting rooms. At night the only intertainment is the bar. My wife and I were there 5 nights and had to leave the hotel to find music and dancing. We would have preferred to stay around the hotel. Washington has a lot of bars, but not to many places to dance, at least for people in their 50s. Safe neighorhood; no reason not to stay here. Don't eat breakfast at hotel, go to "Open City" at the foot of the hill right out side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

I make a weekend trip to DC with the kids every year. We have stayed at the Marriott Wardman twice. Both times, I was very pleased.

First, I booked the room both times on priceline. I paid less then a $90 a night both times. But the hotel did not treat us any differently. In fact, the first stay they upgraded us to a suite.

Second, the hotel is large and has a nice fitness center and two pools. The pools are important when traveling with kids. It has everything you'd expect in a 4 star hotel.

Third, the hotel is close to the Washington Zoo. We park on a side street near the hotel or near the zoo, for free. We then spend the weekend walking to the zoo and the local restaurants.

Fourth, it is great for kids. With the zoo and a wide variety of restaurants in all budget categories within walking distance, it is easy on parents. There is even a McDonalds one block away where you can get $1 bottles of water and $1 hot fudge sundaes. At the hotel at there is a starbucks where we can grab a quick muffin and hot chocolate on the way to the zoo. My two kids (9 and 11), request that we stay at this hotel.

I am a Marriott Rewards member and prefer their hotels. They are smoke-free, have PEPSI not Coca-cola, and have clean, comfortable rooms.

The Wardman is very nice. I highly recommend it for families. Washington DC has alot of 'free' attractions, so it is a little easier to splurge on a nicer hotel. Or you can use priceline and look for a 4 star hotel in the area of the zoo and probably luck out with a great rate at the Wardman. I have twice.

  • Liked — Luxury, pools, and hotel close to zoo
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
277 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Sometimes things start off badly, then continue downhill from there. So it was with my recent two-night stay at the Marriott Wardman Park. I’d had high hopes, as I’d had a pleasant stay there a couple of years ago. How things have changed.

Although many of the rooms have been recently updated, the updates were apparently done at the expense of staff training – or perhaps even staff members.

The desk clerk who checked me in was efficient, but almost surly. When I asked whether they had a king or queen room instead a room with two double beds, the response was a curt, “No; we’re sold out.” Apparently polite treatment is not a benefit of membership in the Marriott Rewards program.

When I got to the newly-renovated room I found contemporary furnishings, a plasma TV, a comfortable bed…and evidence that the housekeeping department needs some dramatic improvement. The bathroom had only one bath towel and one hand towel, the previous guest’s empty shampoo bottle was still on the floor, the tub drain was broken, and dust was caked on the vent above the showerhead.

After unpacking, I went to Harry’s Pub in the lobby where I got a second serving of surly. Granted, the pub was busy, but it took too long before I saw a server, and even longer before my beer arrived. Then, when my sandwich was ready, I got a “drive-by delivery”; the server barely slowed down as she strode past my table and plopped the plate in front of me. Getting my check promptly? Fuhgeddaboudit.

The new bed was indeed quite comfortable, which I couldn’t help but notice when I was jolted awake to the clattering of dishes as the room service cart down the hall was retrieved at about 4:30 a.m. I may have been awake, but at least I was comfy.

Breakfast in Perle’s Café was, well, a hotel breakfast. Kudos for quickly making and delivering items ordered from the menu (the restaurant’s primary breakfast fare is a buffet), but my waitperson seemed perplexed when I asked for Tabasco® sauce and ketchup to go with my eggs and hash browns. She took an inordinately long time to find and deliver these basic condiments, and was almost impossible to locate when it came time to get my check.

Housekeeping did honor my request to make up my room early. However, they apparently missed the wine glass from the night before; it remained undisturbed on the side table where I’d placed it.

On the final day of my stay, I had a 12:15 p.m. conference call so I asked the front desk for a late checkout so I could take the call in the privacy of my room. Again, fuhgeddaboudit.

On the positive side, the hotel does have a well-equipped fitness center. It’s current in slightly-cramped, temporary quarters, but is still better than most hotel fitness centers I’ve used. And the Marriott Wardman Park is in a convenient location. But so is the Omni Shoreham across the street. I should have stuck to my original plan: stay at the Omni (where I’ve been treated quite well) and walk across the street to the Marriott for my seminar.

  • Liked — Its convenient location near the Metro.
  • Disliked — The overall lack of concern about providing excellent customer service.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,714 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#74 of 141 in Washington DC
547 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
529 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing