We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy as Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I had to include this experience because it was rather unbelievable to me and my colleagues. We checked into the hotel in the early afternoon and settled in for the night after going out for a great Lebanese meal. Shortly after falling asleep I was awakened (I am not a light sleeper) by what sounded like clanging or rather banging. I called the front desk and they told me "oh, that's just the pipes but just in case we will dispatch a guard to make sure no one is outside the door or making noise in the corridor". What struck me about this is the obvious, they were already aware that this problem existed but chose to book my colleague into these two rooms where pipes were banging in the beginning of warm weather". I was as you can imagine too pissed and too tired to fight that night but in the morning after sharing notes with my colleague we were upgraded to another equally noisy floor with a soda machine across from our room UGH! I had the opportunity to return to Washington, DC in August and believe me Waldman Park was not even on my radar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,048 - 2,054 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

It was a simple thing, really, There were ants in my bathroom. At 6:30 a.m. I went to the front desk and asked that they send someone to spray. No worries. But they insisted that they would have to move me to another room--unfortunately no other rooms were available. So they asked that I checked back. I did so--5 different times throughout the day. I also left my cell phone number so that they could call me to let me know when the new room was available. All through the day--up to 9:00 p.m. at night, they never moved me to another room nor did they spray for the ants. Finally at 9:30 p.m. the night manager Jared told me there was nothing he could do--no rooms were available. When I told him that I couldn't believe that no rooms became empty throughout the day, he agreed saying simply that they didn't get around to getting me in a room. He could have cared less. His solution was just to credit me a night's stay. Nice--but it didn't take care of the ants. I still had to ask them to spray. Which they did at 10 at night. Next morning there were still ants in the bathroom. I moved to another room after that and asked for a day-time manager to contact me. It never happened. They really could care less. The hotel is in a decent location--next to a metro stop. It is large, great for conferences--too bad that they don't have the customer service attitude that makes guests feel welcome and attended to. I would not recommend this hotel based on the service I received.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun1wpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The other reviews are spot on. Close to the metro and restaurants in Adams Morgan. Restaurants and services in hotel are WAY overpriced and crappy. They act like they're doing you a favor by serving you. Quiet location and the rooms were quiet except for the fact that there was a 1" gap between the floor and the front door so we could hear everything in the hallway and the light from the hallway was very bright. I noticed that in a number of rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustwest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My grown daughters & I planned a DC weekend getaway and picked this hotel. It was fabulous! Check in was swift and easy..bell stand was so nice and friendly...concierge was very very helpful in mapping out some travel issues with the metro....restaurants were very good, service excellent. We stayed in the older Tower and it was colonial decor...so beautiful! It is very close to the zoo...but we choose to ride the Metro to the Smithsonian and downtown...metro stop is right down the hill from the hotel. The grounds are immaculate! I walked around the looking at the beautiful flowers. We did take a couple cabs to the hotel and it was about $13.00 from Georgetown to the Marriott.
It's mostly for groups and businesses but very tourist, family friendly as well. The bedding was the best...AND it was soooooooo quiet, I felt like I was sleeping at home! Bed was very comfy! You will not find a more friendly hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desvw1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was so close to the Subway station, as others have noted. The hotel is very large and can be hard to get your bearings. Our room was very large, and had 2 double beds as we requested. The lady who checked us in was very rude (as others have noted as well). The food in the restaurants was VERY overpriced - but it is a big city, so we anticipated that. We had a small refrigerator in our room and we packed breakfast. For dinner, I took the advice of another reviewer and went across the street to Murphy's Irish Pub. The food was reasonably priced and my son loved his dinner (if you want a place a kid will enjoy). We all really enjoyed Murphy's - good prices, big portions. All in all, a good stay. The purpose of our trip was to do the Smithsonian, which we needed the subway to do. If you want to do the free National Zoo, it's walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dentalhygienist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We booked our stay at the Marriot through Priceline and received a great deal for our family trip to the DC attractions. We loved the fact the Metro was right across the street and there was a variety of restuarants for all different tastes within walking distance. We didn't feel the need to use our car the whole time we were there. The pool was a great hit with our girls and the surrounding landscape was beautiful. The zoo is 3 blocks away.

We had read the comments on Trip Advisor about noise. It didn't seem that much louder than other hotels, but we brought a sound machine to block out the noise for a good night's sleep. Our double beds were comfortable but we would have preferred queen beds. The parking and internet fees were steep but we knew that going in. We felt that with our great deal with Priceline that we still came out cheaper if we had gone to another hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful and our rooms were clean. We had a very nice experience and would definitely do it all over again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachMamaNumberOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My fiancee and I traveled to the DC area for the Fourth of July weekend, we were very excited to stay at this hotel. It is a very big and beautiful hotel. When we arrived the front desk clerk was very bland and was not friendly. None of the staff was friendly or seemed to have a personality. When we got into the room we were sooooo disappointed. The room was very small, no microwave, the fridge was outdated and wobbly. The bathroom floor was covered with hair and the tub was not very clean. The hotel does have bars, but they close way too early. Parking, high speed internet and breakfast was very expensive. The whole hotel was just a disappointment... maybe I just had my hopes too high.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smdsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
7,049 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,026 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 142 in Washington DC
3,940 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
279 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#44 of 142 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $101 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing