We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow-- what a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #102 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Wow-- what a difference”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I have stayed at the Marriott Wardman @ 10 times over my business life over 20 years and always regarded it a a nice convention hotel that serves the Marriott brand well. However, I now was able to stay in it the last 2 times I have been in DC and have come away w/ a remarkably better perspective.

First, I had always been bothered by their $13.95 internet charge per day. They have just adopted free wi-fi in their lobby and what a treat. i had drinks, coffee from their Illy bar, breakfast at their Woodley Gourmet market inside the hotel and what a treat to work for hours while now enjoying all these great food benefits.I had always walked out and accessed the Woodley Park restaurants w/ a fairly nearby Starbucks or had a drink at the nearby Lebanese Taverna or a bar that was close. This time w/ a massive workload pressing, I stayed in at night in the comfortable lobby, watched the Yanks win the World Series, and worked on my PC for a couple of hours for free. The next morning I did the same thing at the breakfast place and it was great.

The other big change how friendly and helpful the staff was. Of course, in the past they always had the Marriott training but this time to a person they were accomodating, helpful, friendly and went out of their way to ask if I needed any assistance. Possibly, in the past they were just overwhelmed by conventioneers but it was a noticeable change and I waited until I stayed there for the second time this week and it was exactly the same.

I love the location as I work all over downtown and the immediate suburbs and the metro is litera;lly a block away. I also noticed the Circulator bus is at the metro stop as well as L2 which brings you downtown.

While Connecticut Avenue is a busy street, i never hear any traffic at the hotel with my room facing the Cathedral these last 2 times. The small restaurants in the area are great, especially Lebanese Taverna which now a bit of a chain but still good. I like to walk so I do walk into Adams Morgan and Dupont to access my favorite restaurants.

The last thing which is a pet peeve is the cleanliness and they continue to deliver on this. My rooms have had nice flat screen TV's, too many pillows, soft, soft sheets so I am going to a "5" on this one.

Way to change and Wow, great stay (the last 2 times).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    1,008
    563
    195
    113
See reviews for
375
323
121
1,401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Great business hotel, lots of seminars going on during the 3 days we stayed. Pretty pricey...and it killed me to pay $33 plus tax daily for parking! Lots of tips...the valet, the porter to the elevator, then another porter brings the bags to the room! Business travelers may be used to this... fee for fitness center, fee for wireless in room...
The room was smallish but very clean. Nice linens, small bathroom. No fridge though there was a cabinet for it. They brought one up when I requested it. Lengthy trek to the elevator-seriously, the hall looked as long as the one in" The Shining"( REDRUM!)
Close to Woodley metro stop and the Zoo. I would recommend this hotel to others ... but they should do the homework that I didn't to make sure it is what they signed up for.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumskicokeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkwgriswold
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Let me start this review by saying that I paid $70 a night for this hotel through Priceline, and I think that tends to help my impression of this hotel.

The hotel is in a convenient location. It is out away from the City in an area north of Dupont Circle, but it is right next to a Metro stop. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance. If you are going to the zoo, this is an ideal location as it is within walking distance. Our room was a little on the small side, but adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I read somewhere during our stay that this is the largest hotel in DC. The place is gargantuan and easy to get lost in. The valet parking is a whopping $33 a day while the self parking on the room tab costs $32 a day and subjects you to getting lost. Spend the extra buck.

All in all, I was happy with the room and hotel for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theclarkfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights for work related reason and I would not stay here again. The hotel is huge and geared soley to business travellers - specifically, those attending conferences at the hotel. The tower I stayed in was renovated but the room was very small and I had difficulty even moving between the bed and the desk. The bathroom was also very small and difficult, therefore, to manoever around. I stayed in a room with a connecting door - don't stay in this type of room. You can hear the conversation in the next room as if they were in the same room as you. There is absolutely no privacy and the connecting doors appear to be rather flimsy. The carpet was soiled as well. On the positive side, the gym was well equipped and the room service was very nice. Also, it very close to the Metro station so it was easy to get around the city to the various sites.

All in all, I have definitely stayed in worse hotels than this. However, the huge impersonal size of the hotel, along with their targetted market of convetioners, the too thin walls / connecting doors, and the size of the room, would not send me back to this hotel of my own volition. While the front desk staff who checked me in was very nice and helpful, when I told the (different) front desk staff when I left about the issue with the connecting door, she really didn't seem all that concerned. It was the morning I was checking out so I didn't pursue it but, seriously, she hardly looked up from the computer as I was relaying my concerns.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I booked this hotel through Priceline's name your own feature so I didn't know what I was going to get... The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpfull during my stay. My room was nice (clean, no lumpy mattresses, my view wasn't great). Their were several restuarants within walking distance-Chinese, Thai, Italian and a McDonalds. The location was perfect-about a 7 minute walk from the National Zoo and a Metro stop was right around the corner. You can only get Wifi in the public area's of the hotel; otherwise you have to play to use the Internet in your room. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2009

This is a great place to stay while in DC. Conveniently located to all attractions. They even have a trolley that picks you up at the door step to take you to see everything DC has to offer. Parking is on site too for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artvandalayBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoWashi
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2009

For years I'd see the vintage brick tower of the Washington Marriott Wardman Park poking up through the trees and wonder what it would be like to stay there. I'm still wondering because, as my wife and I discovered in September '09, the tower is rarely used these days, and the rest of the Marriott Wardman Park is a sprawling, boxy, fairly non-descript facility tucked behind the tower and its park-like grounds.

Our adequately sized room was decently furnished, but had no view to speak of. And get this, mini-refrigerators are available only if you make a request beforehand. Also, the hotel has no in-room wi-fi and charges a ridiculous fee for wire internet, so we had to either cue up for one of the three computers provided in the hotel lobby or hump our laptop down to one of the nearby street cafes and tap into their network. Concerning parking: If you plan on not taking your car out of the garage during your stay (there's a Metro stop just steps from the hotel grounds), do not pay at the front desk, it will cost more. Pay the garage attendant and save a few bucks.

On the plus side, the hotel is conveniently located near The Metro, as I said, and a slew of cafes, Adams-Morgan and the zoo. It has a nice outdoor pool and they deliver USA Today to your door in the morning (too bad they don't give you The Post).

Overall, the Washington Marriott Wardman Park was a disappointment, and for the same rate we paid, we probably could have landed a room in the much nicer Kimpton Hotel Palomar at Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoWashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,714 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#74 of 141 in Washington DC
547 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
529 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing