We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a Remodel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs a Remodel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Wardman Park is looking tired. I stay here at least once a month for business and overall the hotel is fine but the rooms and hallways need sprucing up. Due to the large conferences that come through here the hotel is taking a beating. It is great as it is in a nice area and right next to the metro (red line) and a block from the zoo. The staff here is always amazing but please paint the halls and the rooms!!

Also beware they closed the Wardman tower so in rain you have to walk around to the metro, no more through the wardman tower and popping out at the corner & umbrellas are 30 bucks in the gift shop

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    972
    543
    187
    109
See reviews for
358
305
118
1,335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in early May 2014. I am a Marriott Silver and stay at Marriotts about 30 nights a year and this hotel was a disappointment. While the room was comfortable, flowers on the grounds pretty and most of the staff helpful, there were problems.
1. On check in was told room not ready, this is normally fine but had to wait till 3PM and finally checked in. Went to room and it was prom night and I was surrounded by High School kids running up and down the halls slamming doors. Tried to change rooms at 5PM and was told hotel was full and manager would not give me the one open room which was a suite. I then waited 10 minutes at front desk and asked they look again but they said nothing available, then I tried calling another person at the desk from my room and they said they would call back but did not. I went back to room, endured the screaming and noise and door slamming another hour and went down again and miraculously, was given another room on quieter floor, why I had to work so hard I do not know
1A. the woman at the front desk I was dealing with did not have a nice attitude, I acted very friendly and she had this look and impatience that made me uncomfortable and seemed happy to tell me she could not help. when I did get the new room from another guy next to her, I thanked them both and she had this obnoxious look that said, she was not actually happy I got another room
2. $2 per item to check a bag? wow, that is obnoxious, hotel has no room available so I have to pay $2, plus tip?? that's a new one
3. Bed had dirt stains on the white covers, not a good feeling to sleep with dirt on your bed
4. construction outside all around hotel is very noisy from 8AM and all day
5. room a bit cramped for a Marriott
6. TV channels fuzzy reception, weird in this day and age

all in all, not a great stay, I will not be back here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

While the location is nice and the flowers beautiful, I had the worst 3 nights sleep ever. If you imagine freshman dorm during orientation - that was my experience. Was there for a serious meeting, but there were hundreds of high school age guests staying at the hotel for a huge meeting. Their walking and talking in hallways at 1 AM was no match for the thin walls and overall shoddy construction. I called to the desk numerous times. Bedspread dirty. Bathroom so dark that had to shower with curtain open to get some light in the shower. Even if you have a meeting here, stay somewhere else is my honest opinion.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, balance walk from elevators with being at end of hallway where it might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renelle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Renelle06,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am sorry that your stay fell short of expectations and you were unable to be productive on your business trip to the area. I have shared your concerns about your guest room with both our housekeeping and engineering teams. I thank you for your candid and constructive feedback regarding your stay at the property.

Regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here recently for a wedding in the area. The price and the location was right.

The stone's throw bar made some good cocktails. The hotel is very close to the zoo. The beds were comfortable. Room service was fine.

The hotel was dirty. There were stains on our shower curtain and the vent in the bathroom had dirt hanging out of it or it was rusted. The wall paper near the bottom of the floor boards was coming up.

There were so many kids there on field trips. They seemed to constantly be in the halls, which were loud. Trying to get an elevator that wasn't packed was challenging. Sitting at the bar while a conference was going on was also loud and could be heard over the din of the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear ClumsyIsis,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry that our service and product fell short of your expectations. I will share your comments with the team at the hotel so we can address and correct our shortfalls. We hope that your overall experience while in Washington, DC was a positive one.

Regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Located near the zoo, so it's a cab ride to offices and government buildings. Built as a conference hotel, but very comfortable, good service, and updated. Room service was quite good and prompt. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Large concierge lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveler110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've been to this hotel many times over the past 10 years and unfortunately, it seems that each time, the hotel has slipped a little more toward the unacceptable. It is a popular choice for conferences, given its size and great location (close to the Metro and lots of restaurants). It appears that it is now a popular choice for high school field trips as well. Unfortunately, in the halls, you hear everything that goes on in the rooms and in the rooms, you hear everything that goes on in the hallways. Further, the HVAC in the hotel is pathetic - too hot, too cold, never just right. And it's chronic - the workout facility has been stuffy, hot and humid for 10 years. It's sad that no one cares enough to fix that problem. Lastly, as a Platinum Marriott guy, I asked if an upgraded room was available when I checked in at 2 pm. The desk clerk indicated that I was already slated for an upgrade and the room had been vacated, but it wasn't ready yet. I asked how long would it take and the clerk said - check in is at 4 pm so at most 2 hours, but probably less. I asked if he could check with housekeeping to get a better estimate. He said yes and disappeared behind the wall. He was in and out over the next ten minutes, calling on a cell phone and apologizing. Bottom line, the housekeepers did not return a call from the front desk in over 10 minutes. I gave up at that point and took a standard room. That is indifference, the death knell of good service in my book. Ordinarily I will stay at the convention hotel unless it is too expensive, but if a conference brings me here again, I will try the Omni next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinVinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear CinVinman,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experience regarding the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to read that your stay fell short of expectations. I am also sorry that the perception is that the hotel has not aged well over the years. We are in the beginning stages of a $20,000,000 renovation that will address most, if not all of the points you have brought to light. I am truly sorry that it impacted your stay. I would like to discuss your concerns further should you have the ability to do so. I can be reached at 202.328.5640. I look forward to discussing your stay.
Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family of five recently stayed here to visit the National Zoo, and a couple sites. Its a great location given there is a metro station 3 minute walk away, and the National Zoo is a 10 minute walk (with kids). Also a Starbucks and a Dunkin Donuts nearby. That said - the downside is that the hotel is huge, and if there is a conference going on while you are there site seeing - you will get lost in the shuffle. My family and I had to navigate and dodge conference attendees - and if a meeting lets out when you need to get up the elevators..yikes! We had also asked for a roll away bed - did not get it until 10:30pm that night having asked for it at 5pm - well after the kids needed to be asleep.... Our room had a broken refrigerator, and there was a wet towel inside it.. The next morning we found out why - the floor was wet next to it as it was leaking... Pretty average place all in all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DexSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Dexsig,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Wardman Park Marriott. I am sorry to read that your experience fell short of expectations. I have shared your comments with our leadership team and we look forward to continuing towards our goal of a great stay for each and every guest. I am sorry that the service provided by the staff missed its mark on your visit.
Regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,119 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#123 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing