We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for front desk and housekeeping, 1 star for the rest.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The house keeping staff were very friendly, professional and easy to be around. The front desk staff were amazing and threw in a personal touch that I continue to brag about to my wife and friends. However, the rest of the staff were less friendly/helpful and the concierge was apathetic at best. I asked him a few questions and had to clarify he heard me the first time as he barely responded. It felt like I was interrupting his goal of doing nothing for his entire shift. I had to contact security due to some very odd and uncomfortable phone calls early in the morning on the first two days and that was a horrible experience. The woman in security was actually more offensive, rude and anger provoking than the person making the unwelcomed calls in the morning. Having a call-girl call your room at 5am saying "I'm here as you requested" is annoying enough, but having security treat you in a manner that indicates you are the problem and did something wrong is much more offensive. I won't be staying here again, just based on the propositions by the prostitute and the attitude of security and concierge.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. If you have to stay here, ask for a upper floor as many lower rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Chad W,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share you recent experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park. I am very sorry to read about your negative experience after your visit was concluded. I do wish I had the ability to address your concerns while still at the property. If you are willing and have the time I would like to discuss your issue further. Please call me at your convenience at 202.328.5640.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed in the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in February for 3 nights during a business conference. This is most definitely a business conference hotel. The conference was held at this hotel and the Omni across the street, and I noticed that the Omni got better overall reviews than the Marriott but the Omni was full so I stayed at the Marriott. It was a very good experience, with no problems. The service was professional and polite, the room was a nice size, and the hotel in general and room specifically was clean. The only draw back was that wifi in the room is an extra daily fee, which seems silly at this point.

Room Tip: Find out if your meetings or workshops are in the Omni or in the Marriott, and stay in wing closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casadeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed here for almost five days for a national convention.
Positives: The location is convenient. The metro, many restaurants, and the national zoo are all within walking distance. Staff always seemed professional and pleasant. The hotel is very large and was able to adequately space out convention events so as to avoid overcrowding in certain areas. Restaurants, coffee, and a bar are all located within the hotel.

Negatives: The room was pretty basic. I personally thought the bed was a little too hard and the pillows were a little too soft. I also had an issue with the height (or lack thereof) of the showerhead. Be prepared to take a taxi or the metro if you want to see most DC landmarks or attractions. Food and drinks within the hotel are expensive, even by DC standards. Coffee lines in the morning are ridiculously long. Also, wifi is not free.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Rachel548,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your concerns regarding your recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park. I am sorry to read that the property fell short of your expectations. I have reviewed your comments with the leadership team at the hotel and we look forward to always improving the level of service and accommodations provided for each and every guest.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I got this hotel when I used "name your own price" on Priceline. It was an $85 per night bid, and at that price, the hotel was a good deal.

The interior of the hotel feels a bit dated/dingy, particularly the guestfloor hallways. Inside the guest rooms, it's a mix of old and new... But unfortunately the heat/a-c is old---it's quite noisy when on, and also windy if you're in the bed closer to it. Eventually I just turned it off entirely so I could sleep.

On the bright side, the hotel is in a nice quiet neighborhood near the zoo and a metro station.

For the price I paid, I have no complaints, but at full price I'd want to wait until after their planned renovations are done.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, centrally located, extremely convenient to the Metro, and the service personnel were helpful. The room however, was less than adequate. I stayed for nearly a week and while this hotel is rated a four star with over $350/night, this is what I discovered.

The "King Size" bed was short. I am nearly 5' 5" and my husband 5' 11". His feet were dangling off the bed making his stay uncomfortable (along with some other features). I removed all of the pillows from my side of the bed and just barely fit. There were many pillows, extremely long, but comfortable.

The shower was elevated (constructed that way) leaving the height of the shower, shorter than average. Ducking was necessary to fit under the shower head (note my height in above paragraph). Also, the duct or fan in the bathroom shower (although inoperable) was above the shower head. Another defect in construction and a bit odd. This caused the showerhead to be lowered over a foot. Not what you would expect in an American hotel. This arrangement made showering awkward when you are nearly 6'. The tub was extremely narrow, bathing was not an option.

The bathroom was extremely small and the door, VERY close to the toilet. Expect to be hit in the knee with the door if others entered. There was only room for one in the bathroom at a time. Clearly poorly designed.

We were located on the 10th floor, aka the concierge level. The noise level was beyond acceptable. The work staff at the lounge although pleasant and kind were extremely loud setting up and breaking down for meals/happy hour/ breakfast etc. The voices were even louder in the latter half of the evening (11 PM). However, it appeared disrespectful for those trying to sleep or relax in their room at anytime of the day.

The location can't be beat as it is seconds from the Metro station. The parking however is extremely unreasonable for over $40.an overnight.

Coffee and fruit was not offered in the lobby throughout the day. A missed feature since I was there for a five day conference. Hot cider was offered with Dixie sized cups, however coffee was desired most.

There were restaurants located in the hotel however, the coffee lines were excessive.

Room Tip: Avoid the concierge lounge area and the close proximity to the elevator. Check out room prior to unp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmcnerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear vmcnerney,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park. I am very sorry to read that your experience fell short of both yours and our expectations I have reveiwed your comments with the team here at the hotel and we are continually working towards providing an exceptional guest experience. Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

hotel has over 1,000 rooms so put on your walking shoes when you exit the elevator. The décor has an old charm to it--definitely not contemporary nor modern but well appointed rooms with nothing broken or torn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joymey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Wardman Park Marriott is conveniently located in NW Washington, just steps from the National Zoo and situated right on the Metro's Red line. For a big convention hotel, the staff does a great job providing guests with warm, friendly service. I've stayed here many times and consistently find every employee - from the front desk to the restaurant staff - is helpful and eager to please their guests.

While some rooms need to be brought into the 21st century, the health club/gym is terrific and the executive lounge on the 10th floor is outstanding.

Room Tip: To avoid a very long walk to your room, ask to stay in the Center Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#77 of 142 in Washington DC
7,156 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,043 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 142 in Washington DC
3,978 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#111 of 142 in Washington DC
632 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#41 of 142 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Address: 2660 Woodley Road NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $96 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away from our hotel in Washington, D.C., you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing