We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stray hairs in bathtub, noisy, rooms attached to underground parking garage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stray hairs in bathtub, noisy, rooms attached to underground parking garage”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night and that was more than enough. The bathtub had multiple stray hairs all over it, including a particularly nasty-looking one on the soap dish. The shower curtain was torn in several places, and the hair dryer looked like it hadn't been cleaned *ever*. There was a problem with the door to the room shutting all the way, and in the morning there was a lot of noise in the alley over which my room's windows faced. The walls were also very thin so I could hear conversations in the hall.

On the positive side (for me, because I had a lot of luggage), I was able to park in the parking garage near my hotel room so I was close to my car. The garage was literally on the other side of the hall outside my room. Had there been a door to the garage directly in front of my room, I would have been 10 feet from my car. The reason that this was possible was because I was given a room in the hotel's "Park Tower", and those rooms are underground (the hotel was built on a hill so one side is underground and the other side overlooks an alley).

However, if you are not driving and you don't need to park (or if you don't care about being near your car), I would absolutely avoid the "Park Tower" wing of the hotel. I can't help but think the term "Park Tower" itself is a cruel joke on the hotel's guests, who think they will be sleeping in a room on a high floor overlooking a tranquil garden, when in actuality they will be sleeping in an underground room attached to a parking garage on one side and overlooking a noisy alley on the other.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Sarah7038,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect. Given the number of your concerns I would like to discuss these matters directly. If you are willing to do so and have the time, your additional feedback will be extremely valuable in providing our future guests a problem free stay. I can be reached at 202.328.2000.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    987
    551
    191
    111
See reviews for
365
311
120
1,360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the Wardman Park Marriott for business and up until this most recent stay have never experienced a problem at all. In fact, the Wardman Park Marriott has been one of my preferred options in DC. I stayed as recently as July of 2012 so the dramatic deterioration of the property caught me highly off-guard.

My experience prior to check in was excellent as I was attending a conference and knew the hotel would be at capacity so I called to see what type of room might be available based on my elite status. I was upgraded to an executive suite and very appreciate for that. I realize that upgrades are never guaranteed and I may sound a bit ungrateful based on the following complaints, but I feel that I spend enough nights in a Marriott each year to be able to make a fair judgment.

The suite I was given was on the 2nd floor so that was the first "uh-oh" in my book. I have a stated preference for high floors, but give the upgrade I was okay with it. The room itself was large and impressive, however, upon closer look the furnishings were worn and a complete mish-mash of items with no consistency. It looked like the most worn items were replaced with less worn items from different rooms. Still, that's not a complete deal breaker. The real problem was the suite being adjacent to the elevators and with this being the largest hotel in DC the never-ending noise of elevators going up and down in their shafts made sleep problematic. I was informed that there was no availability to change rooms that evening, but to check back the following morning. So I did check back and was given the option to take a junior suite away from the elevators. I was happy to downgrade if it meant a quieter room (and I was thinking a higher floor). So I moved rooms and ended up staying on the second floor. There was no longer elevator noise, but the room as in awful condition. Paint was peeling off of the walls, furniture was chipped and cracked, shiny surfaces had spots all over them, and even the box containing coffee/tea items had its lid broken off. Frankly, I was surprised this is a room Marriott would put a platinum guest in. To top it off, the room next door was filled with obnoxious guests speaking so loudly that I could hear every word of their conversation. And this room was as close as possible to a major construction site on the hotel property. So to put a noise sensitive guest in a room adjacent to a construction site after moving from a room with elevator noise struck me as odd.

I went back to the front desk and spoke with the front desk manager. He apologized for the entire experience, but indicated room-wise that I was stuck there unless I wanted to downgrade yet again to a standard room. To his credit, he had security take care of the noisy guests next door and did offer me some rewards points for my trouble.

At the end of the day, I stay at many large conference hotels and have not seen one in as poor condition as the Wardman Park. Yes, it takes more work and costs more money to keep such a busy hotel in top physical shape, but it's also money well spent as I can't imagine returning until the hotel goes through a major room renovation.

I realize I've spent a long time on this review, but wanted to share my experience. As you can see from many of my prior reviews, I typically am not so critical, but this was a very disappointing stay at a hotel that had previously been high on my list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I recently stayed here 5 nights for a conference. After the first night, I came back to my room midday to find my door not fully closed. You might not notice if just walking by, but a gentle push sent the door swinging wide open. I called the desk to report the problem and they assured me it would be investigated and remedied. However, the same thing happened the very next day. I never had any problem getting the door to shut all the way and latch securely. But, as I could not trust the hotel staff to do this, I had to put the "privacy please" door hanger up every day. Thankfully nothing was stolen, but I wouldn't trust the hotel staff here.

One additional suggestion: If you do take a chance and stay here, bring your own toilet paper. Despite charging nearly $300/night this Marriott only provides scratchy 1-ply.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This Marriot hotel has1,300 rooms,4 restaurants, coffee shop that doubles up as breakfast room and as many bars, it is huge, we stayed for 3 nights and got lost twice.
it is quite far out, but right next to the metro, in fact there is a metro lift in the grounds of the hotel, and it is a 10 minute ride to metro central.
if you go do the "Big Red Bus tour" well worth it, and dont forget your camera.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

So been coming to this hotel for the past 6 years. Though the Starbucks in the lobby has long gone, there is one about .75 miles away - which helps.

Overall, the service has improved significantly and have to say that it is now on par (and better than some in the DC area) with its peers. Check in was a breeze and the desk folks were very helpful. Room service is efficient though it seems inconsistent on when they show up - I was trying to get some work done and calls in between conference sessions.

The club room is decent and the snacks are typical - service is pretty good about refreshing the food regularly and cleaning up.

Given its size, it seems to cater to lots of business conferences (sometimes 2-3 simultaneously) and in fall, it is a good place to stay if you are visiting DC to see the sights, etc. Helps that is down the road from the zoo and there is a pretty good selection of local, decent and well priced eats on its doorstep.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the elevators - don't mind walking another minute or so and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nauman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four days for the ABA Conference. Great room with all the amenities. Clean and very polite staff always said hi to me no matter the hour of the day. Variety of food choices and 5 minute walk from stores,restaurants,the metro and old town trolley stop. A ten minute walk to the Zoo. The hotel connects with the Omni Shoreham across the street. Great choice to stay if you want to visit DC. Was my fourth time at the hotel. Excellent gym facilities and Business Center.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. Good location in DC, nice gym, but really dated rooms. I checked in at 8:30 pm, and the hallway had many trays with dirty dishes and clearly old food. Next to the door of my room were 3 dirty coffee cups. Stain on the rug of my room. Most disappointing? An extra charge of $165.00 on my bill! For "storing" a few boxes of pamphlets that had been delivered to the Marriott for the conference - at no cost to the hotel, of course. No notice that this fee would be tacked onto my bill, I had tipped the bellman generously for getting these boxes from a storage room to my conference room on a cart (he was late, of course)...When I saw this outrageous charge, the woman at the front desk said it must have been an error and promised it would be removed. When I saw that it wasn't, the manager was nasty and rude - repeatedly saying that I had the "option" of opposing the charge. I have always liked Marriott hotels, but will avoid them like the plague in the future. Read your bill and look for hidden charges.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,311 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#93 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing