We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and confusing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #104 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is the second time I've been to a conference based here, and I'm only now beginning to find my way about. Signage is confusing, although there are occasionally helpful staff stationed at key points to direct confused people.

The coffee shop has decent coffee and prepackaged sandwiches etc and the bar had a buffet lunch one day but not the next (which was too bad, because I would have bought it again). Prices are high, but that's to be expected.

The hotel is relatively easy to get to from the metro station if you don't mind walking up a hill. Several shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,562)
There are newer reviews for Washington Marriott Wardman Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,562 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a large on-site conference with >3,500 participants. The hotel caters to conferences of this size and is conveniently located close to Woodley Park Zoo Metro Station. The hotel has a good restaurant (Stones Throw) and a coffee shop (Illy Coffee) inside. Room service food is good. There is a also strip of many restaurants outside the hotel but close by on Connecticut Avenue NW, for when you want to get outside for fresh air and to try something different. My room was in 'Park Tower.' It was unclear why it is called 'Park Tower,' except that is it part of the garage building where you can park your car if driving. The room was large, clean, and fairly modern but lacked the park view that the name might suggest. The room included a refrigerator, coffee making facilities, a shower over a bath, and a flat screen television with wide channel selection. I purchased the internet deal on check-in (internet is not provided free), but the speed was dismal and it would not reliably and consistently support a Skype call. Furthermore, the hotel-provided conference wifi in the meeting rooms was also slow and often difficult to connect. This was not acceptable in my opinion. The hotel is very large and quite complicated to navigate between rooms during a conference. Our conference dominated the facility and would make it quite a hectic setting for guests staying for other reasons. The service staff seemed jaded. Overall, a big conference hotel with many positives but some issues as well.

Room Tip: Avoid 'Park Tower' unless you are driving and using the garage that is part of the 'towe...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently stayed here for a conference. Overall, the hotel is consistent with Marriott standards. I stayed in the tower that is off to one side and not by the main lobby.

The hotel is a little chopped up as it was a little difficult to find the elevator that went to my room but once I figured out the floor plan of the hotel I made my way around ok. Some extra signage pointing to the various elevator shafts would be helpful.

The room was fine but the HVAC was an issue. I probably should have talked to the front desk as the room was always hot no matter what temp the thermostat was on. There was a note on the thremostat to put it in the "auto" setting which I did but it seemed there were some control issues with the thermostat as it would kick to cooling eventually but was not consistent. The room was clean and the bedding was consistent with Marriott propoerties. The TV was a good sized TV and there were no issues with the TV.

On the positive side the hotel is very close to a lot of good restaruants and the Metro line is right outside the front of the hotel so that is very convenient.

Overall, a decent Marriott but for price (I know Washington is expensive) I would have expected a little more. I would still recommend staying here based on the location and overall stay experience but just not one of the best Marriotts I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Some of my coworkers stayed in the main tower and it seemed these rooms might be a little better so...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeyetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at the Wardman Park for 6 nights for a business function in the hotel. I was accommodated on the 10 floor that included a complementary Concierge room that was very useful and convenient. I found all the services of the hotel professionally presented and very friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tony960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in the central tower of this huge hotel for a long weekend. Room was very small made smaller by a refrigerator placed in the middle. Asked to have the refrigerator removed. Breakfast in the hotel dining room is very expensive, but there is a small take out place with coffee and some breakfast fast foods available and tables where you can sit. Metro stop nearby makes getting into the city easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldertraveller577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Oldertraveller577,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experiences regarding the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am sorry to read that your experience at the property fell short of your expectations. I thank you for your candid feedback as we review and and take steps to improve our services through each response we recieve.
Best regards,
Jim Redington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

was here for three days for meetings. interesting facility. two towers. one older, one newer. i stayed in the older (original) tower. rooms were nice - big, had some charecter. i was in an executive suite so there was ample room to spread out. lots of big windows so lots of sun light and nice views. check in was very easy and they were prepared for my early arrival. was surprised when i could not order room service for a late lunch, having been told it would not be "open" for another hour. kind of goes against the room service menu that highlights an "all-day menu." a maze of conference rooms but lots of staff to help give directions. nice lobby bar. food in the various meetings i was ini was very good. you are in a neat part of the city (NW DC). Not too far from the National Cathedral, several nice parks, etc. an overall decent experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear jon s,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your recent experience while staying at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the larger room that was provided for your stay. However, it is clear we did not meet your expectations. I will follow up with room service to see why there is a disconnect in the hours of service. Again, I thank you for your feedback and apologize for not delivering a better performance in all areas of the property.

Best regards,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As a conference hotel, this met most expectations but it is not up to the Marriott standard for service. It is a HUGE hotel and staff seem content to let you get lost. The directions to my room were rather vague as were those to my colleagues. The room itself (center tower, concierge level) was very nice, clean and quiet. The bed was plush and comfortable. The concierge room had a very nice breakfast but closed rather early in the evening. The hotel pub was nice with a standard pub menu, very small portions and very high prices ($12.00 for a glass of wine that I found out later in the day sells for about $8 a bottle locally). I had room service for one dinner and had a very small bowl of soup, an appetizer that consisted of 4 small shrimp on a plate with a few pieces of corn and ice cream. The total was $44.00 which is disgraceful. At most, this dinner should have cost under $20. The wireless internet was confusing and annoying. We allegedly had wireless in the conference room but not one person near me could access it. To access wireless, we all had to go out towards the lobby and use a different sign on portal. The hotel is nicely located with a good walking trail and park adjacent to it. The pool is not operational at this time and there is no hot tub or spa. There is a sauna but it was turned off when I went in. I waited a few minutes but it heated so slowly I gave up. I inquired at the front desk about the massage services and the attendant could not explain any of the services or the cost. I gave up on that too. All in all, nothing really bad about this place but nothing outstanding either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Deborah W,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your most recent experience at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to read that we missed the mark on several instances. I have reviewed your comments with the leadership team at the property and I look forward to your concerns being addressed so we can provide exceptional service to all of our customers.

Best regards,
Jim Redington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#70 of 142 in Washington DC
6,973 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,000 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#103 of 142 in Washington DC
3,893 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#49 of 142 in Washington DC
267 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $129 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing