We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the charm of the old tower I don't plan to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Despite the charm of the old tower I don't plan to return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

It has already been said but I will say it again, this hotel is huge and a such there is always something going on. During our 4 night stay we started out encountering business professionals at a conference and ended our stay dodging young adults in town for some Comic-Con type event. Our room was in the old tower, or historical part of the hotel, and while it was nice being away from the action, it sometime felt like a hike getting back there. The rooms are smaller, more European boutique style than typical rooms in the US. They were also in need of repair/cleaning. There was wallpaper peeling in several areas of the room and bathroom, the closet smelled musty, and the windows and blinds were in desperate need of a good dusting. If you aren't out of your room by 9am, be prepared to call housekeeping, because they won't clean your room that day. The hotel is thisclose to a metro stop and within walking distance of plenty of restaurants that cover every thing from fast food, to pub food, to Chinese. We've stayed at plenty of Marriott's but don't plan to return to this one. The older rooms would be great if they were given the attention they deserve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMrsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear DCMrsg,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your stay at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your room was below our standards. It appears as though you stayed in our Wardman Tower, which is the oldest tower at the property. I do want to let you know that all of your concerns will be addressed in an upcoming renovation that begins this fall. We are very pleased that the rooms in this tower will be renovated and ready for guests in the spring of 2014.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    989
    552
    191
    111
See reviews for
365
311
120
1,364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Wardman Park is a grand landmark hotel but is a bit dissapointing. The "new" tower is just like any other Marriott on the planet, the "old" part of the hotel is charming. The rooms will be smaller because that is the way they built hotels in the early/mid 1900's. The staff was gracious and helpful. The pool was well used and they didn't have enough loungers or chairs for everyone. The main dining room was closed on Saturday night which was frustrating. The only thing open in the hotel was a fast food type pub restaurant.
The property was clean but I was surprised at the wear and tear this hotel had - needs an upgrade.

Room Tip: the old tower or original part of the hotel is charming, unless you want a large room, then go for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic_Traveler-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Celtic_Traveler-M,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your stay at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your room was below our standards. Wardman Tower, as you noted, is the historic tower at the property. I do want to let you know that all of your concerns will be addressed in an upcoming renovation that begins this fall. I am also pleased to inform you that over the next 18 months there will be significant physical work at the property to improve our guest’s experience throughout the hotel. I am also sorry to hear that all of our food and beverage outlets were not available for you to experience during your stay.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was in a quiet neighborhood steps away from the metro red line and Rock Creek Park. Everyone at this large convention hotel was very friendly and helpful. We were thoughtfully placed in a location away from the youthful group that was meeting at the hotel for the weekend we were there. The room was clean and spacious. We didn't use any of the other hotel facilities so I can't comment on those. No complaints at all!

Room Tip: We appreciated being in the Center Tower and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obie271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here in conjunction with a 5,000 person conference. Even with that many people present, the conference facilities were so lavish that the public areas never felt overcrowded. We arrived at a busy check-in time, with two large suitcases and 4 garment bags, but the bell staff had no difficulty accommodating us promptly. The front desk staff person was very helpful, as well; since we're a trifle older than most of the attendees we asked if we could have a room in a quieter part of the hotel, and she fixed us up with a lovely room away from the hubbub. The breakfast buffet was lavish, though also quite pricey. Still, they offered all of the things we enjoy most, and the buffet cost was less than a la carte would have been.
The Irish pub was fairly nice for dinner (the main dining room was closed for a private function), but had a fairly limited menu which one would tire of within a couple of days. A lovely French restaurant is only a block away (and had an unusually moderately priced wine list, given the usual restaurant markups), along with many others of a wide variety of cuisines in the same restaurant strip.
We appreciated the fridge in the room, and the Marriott line of bath products was, as always, very nice -- pleasantly scented, but not heavily floral.
Valet parking (also self-parking) was quite expensive; even worse that Boston!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed five days and four nights in this Woodley Park/Zoo location for my CFE course exam. The hotel was extermely clean and and the hospitality was great. The hotel offers several restaurant options, a gym, swimming pool and Fed Ex on its campus. The hotel is also within walking distance of Connecticut Ave where there are several restaurants, stores, the Zoo and the metro. It's in a great location in DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaquetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed this past weekend and it was a pretty typical Marriott. The room was fine, the beds comfy, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great near the Metro and inexpensive restaurants were along the street next to the hotel. I was surprised to find a fridge in the room, it was great bonus and enabled us to have more food/snack options.

There were some issues however. I don't think of myself as a very fussy guest, I don't ask for anything beyond the basics and rarely have had to contact the hotel staff when I travel. This weekend was an exception. First, the remote for the TV didn't work. When I was getting ready the first morning, I realized we didn't have shampoo in the bathroom (all other toiletries were present just not the shampoo). Housekeeping barely serviced the room - someone definitely came in and emptied the bathroom trash and left some fresh towels but the beds were left unmade, the room trashcan full, and the coffee/tea area wasn't refilled. All these things were fixed relatively quickly with (multiple) calls down to the front desk but it was annoying to have to ask for the basics services I would expect from a hotel of this level.

Some other issues were with the room itself that can't be fixed by a quick call downstairs. The walls were thin so we could hear our neighbors. There was something going on with the pipes because anytime our neighbors flushed their toilet or used their shower, our toilet would run (and it was noisy!). Our toilet was running pretty much all weekend. Also the layout of the center tower put most of the rooms far away from the elevators. There were 8 elevators next to each other but the guest rooms fanned out in 3 hallways away from the elevators - just poor design when the building was constructed. Our room was about as far from the elevators as it could be which was disappointing since I always request to be close to the elevators through my Marriott Rewards profile.

Overall, it wasn't the best experience but wasn't the worst either. I'm willing to give the hotel staff the benefit of the doubt that they were off their A-game due to a busy weekend. I would give this hotel another chance if the price was right.

Room Tip: Request a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear phillyjolie,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your stay at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of our standards and your expectations in the service that you were provided. I have reviewed each and every one of your concerns with the leadership team at the hotel. If you have time, I would like to personally speak with you regarding your stay. If you have the ability to do so and would like to discuss your concerns further please contact me at 202.328.2000. Again, my sincerest apologies for not delivering you a better experience.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were greeted by a very very nice gentlemen upon our arrival, who even let us check in early so we could get a start on sight seeing. I loved the hotel structure and beautiful rooms. Rooms were very clean. It was the perfect location to hop on the metro and get to all the places we wanted to see during our stay.

My only two complaints about the place were the noise level in the rooms. Above us and next to us were quite loud. My second was the concierge. He was chatting on the phone with a friend while three of us were waiting in line to talk to him and seem very annoyed that he had to get off.

Love to give a huge shout out to bartender Nick in Harry's Pub. Fantastic guy, real pleasure to talk to and great suggestions on places to go and eat. We didn't even go out the second night in town and just went back to Harry's to hangout with him again.

I really did enjoy my stay here and would definitely consider it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemsonbelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,325 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing