We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the ability to be an excellent hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Has the ability to be an excellent hotel...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. Upon arrival you walk into a massive domed lobby/ck-in area that is lovely. Check-in was pretty easy. This hotels location is actually very good. You're honestly maybe 2 blocks from the zoo and a 2 min walk to the Metro. The grounds are beautiful, you have one 'tower' that is more modern then you have the historic tower which looks from the exterior beautiful (we stayed in the more updated 'main' tower). Our first room was on the 8th floor which has some water damage being repaired in the hallway. We were put in a handicap king room. Which was fine for us (family of 4--2 adults and 1 child and 1 baby). However when we walked into our room it smelled musty and had a very old smell to it. The front desk was great and able to change our room. The next room DID NOT have a weird smell, but had these huge black tar'ish stains on the carpet, which made me a little anxious to have our 9 month old crawling around. Overall the room did NOT seem that clean. I did a wipe down with our antibacterial wipes. Door handles on the closet were sticky (GROSS), toilet seat was old and chipped, slightly dusty, and needed a good cleaning with some soapy hot water.

The beds were fairly comfortable. The restaurant/breakfast had several options (eggs, cold items, fruit, breads, sausage, potatoes, waffles, pancakes,etc.) but I feel $22.95 for breakfast buffet was insane. You could walk out and grab a sandwich at Mc D's (ugh) sadly no bagel place or Starbuck's to grab a breakfast sandwich. One morning I ordered from the menu, had small serving of hash browns, 2 chicken sausage, 2 eggs, toast for $17......I hate hotel prices, but you're paying for being onsite and having the ease of eating right there.

Parking $37 or $41 --- SERIOUSLY INSANE!!! Wifi in-room $16 --- AGAIN REALLY?!?!?!?

Overall for the price we paid - it was a group rate, it was a good deal. However, I don't believe it was worth more than $135 per night and that is ONLY if you get a rate that included parking. I would have paid more for another hotel that had all the little luxuries and attention to detail that make for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajkinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    994
    558
    193
    112
See reviews for
368
313
120
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed many times over the years and every stay has been to my satisfaction in all aspects. I would appreciate an in door pool as my stays are typically in winter months
The staff is always attentive to any need and the atmosphere is in keeping with a world class hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTSm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last minute trip to Wash DC this weekend meant a hunt for hotel rooms; being a Marriott Rewards member meant a sure thing, but I like to explore with Priceline. The Wardman Park hotel, 1/2 block from the National Zoo, Was awesome!

Great room; nice neighborhood; fantastic restaurants nearby; and the price was right!

This hotel has over 1000 rooms, and plenty of stuff to do, from outside pool, to full fitness center, to ornamental front gardens.

The only down side, and it is a BIG downside, is that it charges $41 a night for parking! In a civilized society, this is unconscionable. We parked on the street for free, and we were off...

Room Tip: All rooms were very quiet, but you have to ask for double beds..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HijodeErnesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Large lobby, looks like a historic hotel with the decor, my wife love the garden, beautiful. Couple restaurants in the area, easy to take the train, just in the corrner, the hotel is huge plenty of room, the staff even i believe the young lady in the front desk she is being trained, she toke care of us. The garage fill safe, i believenit has couple level underground. In general i loved the hotel,mi hope to comeback soon.

Room Tip: Take room facing train station, if u are coming walking from the street there is an entrance for tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing was exceptional. Very average hotel. Noisy hallways and you can hear conversations in the room next door. People were friendly. However, we did need to request a room change due to mold (Floor 1 in the tower towards the back), and no cell phone signal. The center tower was much better. Friendly but they do not go out of their way to assist. It's a very large hotel. The Wardman tower was very beautiful and probably the quietest part of the hotel. Nice pool. location is good, with a metro station right by the property. Several restaurants near by.

Room Tip: High floor in Center or Wardman Towers. Do not go to the back tower... (Can't remember the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel based upon a group rate we received coming for a wedding. We reserved two adjoining rooms. Here were some of our issues:

* One of the two rooms was not ready until after 7pm. The check-in time was 4pm
* There was a bad oil/dirt stain that was fairly sizeable on the carpet next to one of the beds
* One of the days we had pillows missing from both of the rooms that required a call to to get back

There was a basketball tournament hosted in the hotel for part of our stay as well. This made for a very crowded, loud environment 24 hours.

The one positive note was the pool. It was a very nice outdoor pool, and was in good condition. Our kids swam in it two of the nights we were there.

We do not plan on returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and convenient to all tourists in D.C. We were there in October and the flowers were spectacular. I would definitely go back. Cabs are at the ready and the trips to the most popular sites are short, therefore affordable cab fares.
Some great restaurants are within a short walk, especially a breakfast restaurant just down the hill from the hotel.
The front desk staff, the bell staff and the housecleaning crew were all friendly and helpful.
Our room was very nice with a flat screen tv and the room was clean with a very nice bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbasham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,420 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#94 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing