We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“enormous hotel but still personable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #99 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“enormous hotel but still personable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

very large hotel, but staff were very helpful. our room was a decent size but the bathroom was very small and outdated, although the shower was powerful enough. we flew back to the UK from Dulles airport and asked the front desk how much to expect to pay by taxi, we were told $4o but ended up paying $75! quite a difference. lots of nice restaurants nearby but food was good at the hotel too. use the one dollar bus from the square at the main road to get into the centre (one dollar per trip) its much nicer than the metro which is also in the square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    940
    532
    186
    106
See reviews for
347
304
116
1,298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Ive at the Wardman four times now for conventions and i really like this hotel. Its not located right in the heart of DC but is close enough that a short cab ride will take you to everything. Its in a leafy green setting about a mile or so away from Dupont Circle. The original old tower was an apartment building before it was a hotel and the rooms reflect it...large multi-roomed rooms with a retro 60's decor. I feel like im in Mad Men when i stay there. The newer tower has modern rooms but they are small. The lounges and coffee bar are great and so are the conference facilities. My only complaint would be the food...it isnt anything special at any of the options. But that doesnt really matter because there is a wide selection of options a block away. I like this hotel and look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dean a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am an easy to please guest but my wife not so much. Fortunately, we had a very competent young lady check us in (Fiona? maybe), and she was able to satisfy all my wife's demands. It certainly made a difference in my life for the next three days. We usually stay at the Shoreham but it was booked. In any event, we will probably try the Marriott on our next trip here.

I found the services to be first rate. My wife requested a robe, and they brought it immediately. We got a bottle of wine. That came fast. We didn't really do any room service since there are so many good and unique restaurants in the Woodley Park area, that you deprive yourself if you don't out and enjoy them. Overall, a great visit.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel has a lot more ambiance, and isn't much of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakotadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I love this location. It is literally right out the door from the metro in a quiet area. The gardens in the front are very pretty. There are also great cafes right down the street to enjoy. We were there for a girls' weekend and is was great. We took a nice long walk to Georgetown. There are lots of conventions here and they can be noisy walking down the hall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013. I stayed here before when this wasn't a Marriott--I like the neighborhood and the location. But this time it was even better than before. Staff was great, esp. Doug at the front desk. They gave conference attendees free wifi, which was REALLY nice. Room was spotlessly clean. The only thing I wasn't happy about is they didn't staff the Woodley Market (coffee shop) very well, so every morning there would be like a 30 minute line. But in the scope of everything (clean, spacious room, friendly staff, great neighborhood restaurants, great concierge), this was a pretty minor thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandys_trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I chose the Marriott Wardman as an alternative to the Gaylord convention center about 12 miles south of DC, when attending a systems convention.

The exterior of the hotel is a mixture of fairly bland and hefty brown block architecture, and what was presumably the original hotel on the site, looking like a world war two/fifties era brick tower block, joined by a long elegantly appointed corridor.

The lobby is quite striking, vaulted semi-spherical ceiling with "skylight" window at the apex and an obelisk in the center, interesting. The ground floor is an enormous space, mostly open plan, as befits a convention center, I suppose.

Valet parking was fast, and well organized. It is only marginally more expensive than the self-park option (neither are cheap, by the way)

Check in was efficient and friendly, and we were given a room in the old part of the hotel, not a problem, but a very long walk, through the entire length of the hotel - it could be a little daunting to elderly guests or those with children.

The room was a good size, the king bed was very comfortable, and the atmosphere quite tranquil, as it is so far from the restaurants, bars etc. of the hotel. Considering the hotel's aspiration to quality, I was surprised at the lack of a safe in the room, and it seemed also to be lacking a couple of other "luxury" touches, bathrobes, and perhaps mini bar (it is loooong way to snag a beer!). However, it was very clean and well maintained.

I used the fitness room a couple of times, very clean, with modern cardio machines and weights etc.


The location is very good, an interesting neighborhood (see if you can hunt down the "Black Squirrel" pub, with Dogfish 61 minute brew (no, not a typo...), and ideally located for the Metro.

I found the service to be perhaps more mechanical than personalized, although given the size of the place perhaps that is to be expected, but generally efficient.

Overall, provided a reasonable rate is offered, a good place to stay, certainly for business, but also as a base for the sights of the city, given Metro proximity.

Room Tip: Old tower very quiet, if you don't mind the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vega Baja, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are espectacular, big, beautiful hotel fill of flowers and great outdoors. Rooms are very clean and comfarble. Close to restaurants and the Metro Station Woodly Zoo to visit the downtown city/Metro Station and walking distance~/ of 4 blooks to the Washington Zoo. Nice for big conventions.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny17_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,836 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#93 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#121 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing