We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel....poor service, rude staff, small rooms in need of repair” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel....poor service, rude staff, small rooms in need of repair”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Checked in at 5:00 pm and was given a room with the worst view ever...no natural light because there was a wall and roof of a building directly in front of my window. Asked to move but was told every other room was booked and checked in.....at 5:00 pm....right. manager was rude and had a condescending attitude. Paid 350/night for a tiny, dark room with peeling paint on bathroom and stains on carpet and wall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chitwood111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    972
    543
    187
    110
See reviews for
359
305
118
1,336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't bother trying to check in before 4 pm. They cannot handle a convention crowd. Staff was very overwhelmed and it bled through in their attitude.

Waited a few hours to get my room and when I did I needed a different room. I called front desk and talked to manager who simply rudely told me she had no rooms and there was nothing she could do and hung up on me before I was done talking and didn't say she was hanging up.

If you have any request that deviates from the norm, the staff and managers at front desk will show you their frustration and you will not get good service in a reasonable amount of time.

I hope my convention is in another hotel in DC in the future and I will be giving them input on doing that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_real_stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

walking distance to zoo, great restaurants and metro are around the corner. perfect location.
beware, the 2 double bed rooms are small for a family of 4, especially given the price.
the real reason for my average to poor review: service.
the people are lovely, however - we asked for a rollaway bed at 10pm (admittedly we should have thought to call earlier in the day). was told on the call it would take ONE HOUR to get a bed. called back an hour later, told it would be another 30-45 minutes. FOR A BED. not for an outlandish request, for a stinking rollaway bed. took another hour so, if you do stay here, be sure to plan ahead.
also - it is an enormous hotel, as others have noted, so be sure you remember which garage you park in!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptt7ksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

At 350 a night plus tax, I expect more.
I was here for a conference and the hotel is Vegas sized and very easy to get lost in. Wear your walking shoes!
There were mystery stains all over every piece of linen in my room, including a non-stain fresh looking brown streak on a towel in the bathroom that I went to use immediately after checking in. The walls are thin and there is no privacy- if you are hoping to have a conversation that neighbors can't hear, prepare to head outside.
The grounds are spectacular and the staff are excellent. When I live on the road, I simply expect clean linens at this price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivesInHotels365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Springtime at this "off-the-beaten path" facility is absolutely spectacular with an abundance of tulips and cherry trees. However, this hotel is huge and has a very confusing layout. Take heart, though, after three or four days, you'll start to figure it out. The staff - from front desk to maintenance and housekeeping - are exceptionally courteous and helpful. Rooms are decent size and clean. The tub/shower set-up felt a bit cramped and my tub drain was sluggish. The toiletries are from Bath & Body Works which I liked. My king room bed was comfortable and adequate. The conference facilities are vast (again, you'll want that map!) and conference meals were decent. The property is within easy walking distance of other great restaurants and I'd suggest venturing out to find your favorite ethnic cuisine nearby!

Room Tip: For conference room meetings, I'd recommend bringing a sweater or shawl given room temperatures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bus_Pleasure_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
555 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a huge hotel. I stayed as was attending a conference in the hotel. It is clearly oriented to conferences with large conference facilities.

It is very convenient for the metro as is right by the Red line Woodley Park stop. It is an older marriott and the room was OK but could have done with a refresh. My one annoyance was the connecting door to the next room as I kept getting TV noise coming though late at night.

The restaurant seemed overpriced but did have one dinner there and was surprised that the food was good. Both housekeeping and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful.

Unless attending a conference in the hotel would not be my preferred place to stay. While can walk to restaurants, it is a ways to a nice neighborhood to wander around and feels somewhat isolated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
329 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went with several business associates to the Wardman Park Marriott for a meeting recently and, although rather expensive, I have largely positive things to say about the overall experience. Several comments on TripAdvisor mention that is simply a business hotel and not much more. I have been to several meetings here, and the reviews are right: this is largely a business hotel. But I think this is a great cite for a meeting. The Metro stop is perfect for easy transport; the hotel is large enough to accommodate a large group without becoming a zoo; the staff is efficient at every step; and the meeting facilities are very good. The restaurants are actually pretty good, although as you can imagine, rather expensive even for a beer. This is easy to remedy because there are many excellent restaurants literally across the street, or half a mile away in Adams Morgan (tons of restaurants and bars). At all locations, Platinum status with Marriott is good; at the Wardman Park, it was great. The upgrade to an enormous Executive Suite was a complete surprise (I figured an upgrade might happen, but the meeting booked the rooms so I assumed I was at the bottom of the pile). A quick run across the street to the liquor store for a few beers was a great way to keep my employees happy at about a 75% discount – plus they were all upgraded as well to the concierge level with my card. Great way to keep everybody happy and coming back for more. And the service and food in the concierge lounge was very good and even open on Sundays.

The fitness center is very large and the equipment is pretty good. Two bikes were broken and the dumbbells seem to be randomly distributed around the gym, but otherwise it was a very good gym – and open 24/7. However, if the weather is good, there is a great trail system that runs just south of the hotel and runs along the zoo and a stream for several miles.

The only negatives (which are minor) would be that the rooms are a little tired. Not horribly so, but the carpets are a little dated, the door paint looks older and scuffed, and in my room, I could see into the hallway between the double-door entry (I know, cry me a river because my double-doors were too far apart). Collectively, however, these are relatively minor issues and they did not detract from the overall quality of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,123 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing