We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #102 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are exporing Washington DC for the first time. Couldnt really afford to stay in the heart of downtown so we are 3 miles or a 10 minute drive away. There are plenty of places to eat within an easy walking distance. Lots of variety for dining options. The hotel food seems overpriced. Check in was easy. Staff has been really nice except one of the concierge's may not be winning any friendly awards inthe near future. One was nice but another one was just not polite.
We chose the room that was in the original tower, the Wardman tower. It has really good views and although it is older it still has been updated with flat screen TV's, nice bath sink. The older part is charming with newer amenities.
It is very clean here. I do have one issue that I wish would have been fixed. I asked the housecleaning lady in a note to change the sheets and put a new dust ruffle on the bed. The dust ruffle is really not clean, drippy stuff, stains, just gross and my sheet hangs over and touches it all day when the bed is made. Then when I cralw under the sheet I end up sleeping with the part that touched the dust ruffle against me. Well, I left her a tip and she changed the sheets but didnt change the dust ruffle. That is my only complaint.
This is a busy place, lots of professionals that I think are staying here for business. We are impressed with it though, very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskansNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    1,019
    568
    197
    114
See reviews for
384
327
121
1,415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice big hotel - includes restaurants, coffee shop, shop with good selection of souvenirs. Nice workout area with complementary apples. No free wifi in your room, but free in the lobby at least. My room was pretty big and nicely appointed. However, given the price of the room (eg around $200/night), the towels were very thin.

I'd stay there again for a conference, but not for a family trip.

Lots of restaurants and helpful shops within a couple of blocks in case you forget anything (CVS, True Value hardware).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATX_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only stay here if you are planning a trip to the zoo. It is not within walking distance of any of the main attractions. It is really close to the metro station.

Do not stay in Room 3094. The window looks out on a great big wall. Makes you feel like you are in prison.If you do, make sure they give it to you for a giant discount.

The lobby is huge and if you plan to meet someone you should say exactly where.

The cleaining materials have a very sharp fragrance which I did not like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hey, by the time I was rinsing the shampoo out of my hair, the water got warm, so it wasn't all bad...

Here's the thing:

This place is gigantic. It is, in fact, like a mid-range Vegas hotel where all your shops are on premises. A mini town that you don't have to leave, yet there's no REASON to stay. Yuck. You're in Washington DC. A city filled with great restaurants and amazing things to do. GET OUT of the hotel and do cool stuff. Or better yet, get a room elsewhere.

It's FILLED with conventioneers, so if you're looking to vacation with hundreds of salespeople or human resource professionals there on business, it's perfect for you.

The quality of the hotel itself is just fine. Beds are fine. Employees are pleasant. Shower head is at about face height. Room is clean. Bathroom is dinky. The biggest strike against it is the mammoth size of the place, and, as it turned out for me, its inability to provide hot water for all of those many guests!

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was at the Marriott Wardman Park for a conference recently. It was a very nice hotel for the conference with everything you'd expect. The staff were very friendly, public areas were inviting, and facilities were very good. It is a big hotel, and is not as modern as some but rooms are adequate and clean.

The location is excellent - it is right across the street from the Woodley Park-Zoo Metro station so you can get anywhere in the city.

The only problem was that the shower was lukewarm at best during the morning peak use.

If I was on vacation with my family I'd probably stay somewhere less expensive, but for the conference it has been great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for a few days and it was wonderful. We walked to the zoo one day and went right around the corner for breakfast each morning to a wonderful little restaurant called Open City. The only issue was when we went to book another night to extend the stay for Monday night the price was more than I had spent on all 3 previous nights. Other than that it was a beautiful hotel close to the zoo and the metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a very average property. I stayed in the "colonial wing" of the hotel and the rooms felt outdated, but I guess they were supposed to. Housekeeping was average, as was service in general. At the time of my stay, there were several large conventions taking place so the hotel was mobbed and so were the restaurants. Luckily there were several dining options in walking distance, so I opted not to spend an hour or more waiting for the hotel restaurants. Again, because the hotel was so busy, room service took forever. I would only opt to stay in this hotel if I was part of a large conference group and rate and convenience dictated it.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room in the main tower of the hotel. Some of the other rooms can be a very long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte4625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
6,669 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
962 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
583 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
538 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing