We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Near Zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very large hotel near National Zoo. Next to Woodley Park-Zoo Metro Station. Stayed two nights end of December. Two families in two rooms. Rooms at 4th floor or lower may not have good view. Higher floors should have excellent view. No indoor pool which seems a shame for the size of hotel and proximity to the zoo. Didn't eat at hotel but many restaurants in area. Ate at Noodle Co, McDonalds and Murphy's of DC, Irish Pub. Rooms where pretty standard, some King rooms seem small. In double room noticed some crumbs at base of bed. Fun hotel to explore, especially the older part of hotel, two different buildings, old original hotel which looks like it may have gone residential and newer mosnster hotel. The weekend we were there there was a huge day long wedding. Didn't notice much noise between rooms but with tile entryway and large gap under doors a lot of noise comes in from the hallway. I stuffed towels at base of door to muffle late night retunees. Pretty residential part of the city. 10 to 15 minute walk up hill to the zoo from hotel and metro station. Zoo is very nice but very hilly and free to public. Multiple parking garages at hotel. Noticed some room service food in hallways all day.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family spent 6 nights at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park and enjoyed every minute.
We chose the hotel because of the location which is just up the hill from a red line metro stop. Yes, it is a hill so I don't know how well this location would work for individuals who are not ambulatory. The hotel is also easily accessible via car; access to RockCreek Pkwy is about 2 blocks away.
In addition to the ease of getting to and from, the location is great because, unlike many areas within The District, this one does not close down at dark. There are numerous dining options, all price ranges, right on Connecticut Ave. We picked up McD's for the little guy a couple of nights, let him eat and relax in the room and then we all walked down the hill and my husband and I enjoyed a nice dinner at Lebanese Taverna while the little guy played video games at the table.
We returned late (between 10-11pm) a few nights and felt very comfortable walking from the metro to the hotel. The hill does seem to be longer later at night while carrying a sleeping child.
The National Zoo is a short walk, although it may seem long to a little one. Something to keep in mind if walking to and from the zoo, you do a lot of walking while at the zoo.
Back to the hotel. Check in was a breeze. The Concierge Lounge was closed for a few days so we were given vouchers for use in the other restaurant/lounges.
Our room was nice, it was just a little smaller than expected. From our window, you could see the Capitol dome in the distance. That was a pleasant little surprise.
The hotel is quite large and it was fun to "explore". I recommend a little exploring because if you always use the front door, you may end up doing a lot of extra walking.
The staff was very friendly. The grounds are well maintained.
We loved it and this will be our first choice in hotels next time we visit DC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSMNthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear MSMNthedesert,

I am truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am always appreciative when someone takes the time to write up such a detailed and positive review of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

During an unplanned stop in DC during the peak summer days, my family pulled up to this hotel to see if they would have a room for the night. They were great about finding a room (a beautiful room) and asking why we were visiting and told us what we could try to squeeze in for the short time there. They gave us maps, transportation options etc. This hotel is huge and every part of it is spotless. The breakfast is great and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maroneclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Maroneclan,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We always try our best to accommodate guests that need a room on short notice. I am happy to hear that our team was able to do just that for you.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wardman Park is the perfect place for hosting a conference. Large property with nice amenities including good restaurant, shipping facilities (UPS, FedEx) on premises, nice neighborhood. I have been to the hotel two years in a row and I was pleased both times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfnut_ping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear golfnut_ping,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marriott Wardman Park hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you for the third time soon.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here early in December for a conference. The room was in need of renovation and the service was not very good... it seemed as if the hotel was overwhelmed by the number of conference attendees. Access to the metro was easy and there are a lot of nice restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank SunnyRob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear SunnyRob40,

I regret that our services were not up to the quality standard you should have received during your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to write your review and thank you for letting us know where we can improve. I welcome you to stay with us in the future so that we may meet and exceed your expectations of what a stay at Marriott should be.

Best Regards,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were attending a charity event at this hotel in early June and decided to spend the night. The first thing I do in any hotel is check the bed, if there are stains I ask for everything to be changed, and it was disappointing that I had to ask them to do the change. To their credit, they did it right away and brought new (as in never-before used) linen. The other area where I was not impressed with cleanliness was the pool. The fabric on the chairs by the pool was disgusting, I know there's rain, leaves fall, etc. but when you start seeing mushy residues on the chair's fabric maybe it's time to clean... We stayed in the older building, which has more "personality" than the new one. Overall, I'd stay again only if I had to.

Room Tip: The older building has more "personality" and is "more DC" than the new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear justhf,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback of the Marriott Wardman Park hotel. I apologize that your stay was not at the quality it should have been. I am happy to hear that our staff solved the problem with your sheets quickly, but agree that it should not have been an issue in the first place. I genuinely appreciate reviews such as yours to give us a good idea of what kind of improvements we can make to raise the level of our guest's satisfaction. I invite you to return to the hotel during your next stay in D.C. so that we may exceed your expectations and provide you with a much more positive experience.

Yours in Hospitality,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Went here on business this month. Easy access to metro to get to union station for day. Quieter at night than down by Capitol. Could use better food service in common areas but otherwise good. (Coffee in morning was crazy)!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Kmj007,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate when someone comments on the convenience of our location for both easy access to transportation around the city and quiet nights. We hope you will stay with us again during your next D.C. visit.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#77 of 142 in Washington DC
7,159 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,043 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 142 in Washington DC
3,978 reviews
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#111 of 142 in Washington DC
632 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#41 of 142 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Address: 2660 Woodley Road NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $96 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away from our hotel in Washington, D.C., you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing