We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual city place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #100 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the usual city place”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You can get lost at this hotel. It is huge. Rooms are wonderful. Staff is very helpful. Lots to do at hotel (if you choose) which is just a couple of blocks from the National Zoo. This venerated hotel is in a quiet part of the city which suited me just fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTpondjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear VTpondjumper,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on our Marriott Wardman Park hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    1,036
    573
    198
    116
See reviews for
387
329
122
1,438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for a conference I was attending. The front desk asked me if I wanted to stay in the old tower (I think it's the Wardman Tower) and I debated... I kept thinking small and gross for some reason. The front desk assured me it was older, a tad farther, but more interesting than the standard room. I went for it, and I was glad I did.

It was a tad further from the meeting rooms, but I LOVED my room compared to the "newer" rooms. It had character, windows that opened, a neat bathroom, and it was a nice sized room. The furniture is more antique and little worn, but the room was comfortable. The downside, the walls seemed a tad thin between rooms. I would highly recommend staying in the older part of the hotel. My co-workers who were in the newer part wished they were over in my tower.. said they felt like they were in any Marriott anywhere in the US. True it was a little further from the meeting rooms, but the hotel is so huge, it seems everything is far away.

The grounds of the hotel were very pretty and the hotel is across the street from the metro station and a ton of fun / decent restaurants and a CVS. So stock up on waters and snacks at the CVS vs. buying them in the over priced gift store. Staff was pleasant.

Would recommend staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I personally really liked staying in the older tower and would request staying in that tower again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockinjla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Rockinjla,

We appreciate your review of the Marriott Wardman Park hotel. The Wardman Tower is indeed our historic building. Although it isn’t for everyone, many appreciate the antique style that we maintain in this part of our hotel and we welcome all of our guests to visit this part of the hotel to get a sense of the history it holds.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very good stay here. Although I can't understand why there is no hot tub there. It seems hotels in DC don't want to fool with hot tubs anymore! They have plenty of room for one by the pool. This is my only caveat about this place. Also the breakfast didn't have any biscuits and gravy. Other than that very nice hotel and strongly recommend you giving it a try!

Room Tip: If you want free wifi get a room on the very first available floor lowest to lobby! It's so stup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gower2352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear gower2352,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marriott Wardman Park hotel and appreciate you taking the time to give feedback. Thank you for your suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stayed here several times for conventions and a couple times when visiting family in town. Most of my stays have been great. The hotel complex, rooms, restaurants, etc are top-notch. However, my last experience was soured tremendously when my bags were stolen out of my car in while it was parked int he garage (valet). There was no damage to my car - so the valet attendant must have either left it unlocked or one of the attendants participated in the theft. The hotel took no responsibility because they subcontract valet parking. The valet parking operation never returned my calls and gave me the runaround every time I called. They even accused me of making the whole thing up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. About a mile walk to the National Zoo, right on the rail line. A $20 cab ride from Reagan Int'l, $10-15 cab ride to most of the downtown attractions. The rail line is convenient but its up a long hill. Not so bad when you're leaving the hotel but very hard coming back. Several restaurants within a 2 block radius(less than 10 min walk). Several banks and a walgreens also close by. Lovely neighborhood, this is a HUGE conference hotel but still a nice place to stay even if you aren't there for a conference. BIG BONUS: they let us check in upon arrival, a full 3 hours before check-in. Big plus when you've been traveling with an infant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylandria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Phylandria H,

Thank you for the wonderful and detailed feedback you have provided about the Marriott Wardman Park. We pride ourselves on the convenience on our location. Furthermore, we are always happy to check our guests in as quickly as possible.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great DC hotel, close to the National Zoo and fun DC neighborhoods like Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. I live in DC, but had to stay here for a work conference and it was great - exactly what you expect from Marriott. Clean, beautiful rooms and super friendly staff.

Room Tip: The Wardman Tower is gorgeous with chandeliers and balconies, feels like a throwback in time, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear AHBDC,

Thank you for your review of our Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am grateful to hear your stay was pleasant. We hope that, even as a DC resident, you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, DC from July 18-22, 2012. This is a large hotel and I read somewhere that it is the largest convention hotel in DC. We were there for a convention as well and found some sections of the hotel to be nice and some sections to be dated (all of the lower level areas). Our room was on the 6th floor of the center section which was really nice. Extra tip - we had a king size bed room which turned out to have lots of extra space because it was on a corner. The room was bigger but the bathroom was smaller as the total room was in the shape of a triangle. But the room overall was very nice. Good view, had a fridge, nice bed, couch and other furniture. The hotel is big and the hallways are long. The ice machine was outside our room which was a blessing and a curse as it could be sometimes noisey. We also had a roll-away in the room which fit fine with plenty of space left over. I overheard one of the guests on our elevator ride say that our floor looked nicer than theirs so their may be some inconsistentcy between floors. This hotel also had an old section and a new section we stayed in the new section. The old section looked beautiful from the outside but some people said the rooms were like rooms in an old hotel meaning nice but not large bathrooms. The pool was outdoor in the old section - you would have a walk from the new section to the old section to use it and it wasn't a very large pool but it did look nice for an older style pool. The eating options at the hotel were limited to 2 restaruants which were good but very expensive. Fortunately McDonalds and many other restaurants are just a short walk away. The metro station and CVS is also very close. Valet parking was expensive $40/day and this is a common rate in DC. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. My overall impression was better than average and expensive. The cab fare to the Capitol from the hotel was $20.

Room Tip: the 6th floor in the center tower was nice - ask for a king size room with a roll away & ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perogiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Perogiman,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at the Marriott Wardman Park. We are thrilled that your stay in July was pleasurable.

Many of our guests enjoy our historic Wardman Tower, while some prefer the more modern Center Tower. Feel free to let the staff know your preference on your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
6,794 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
983 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#89 of 141 in Washington DC
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
3,822 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
622 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing