We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wardman does it again! One of the best location in DC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #101 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Wardman does it again! One of the best location in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in the Wardman in the Old Towers for the second time during the Cherry Blossom Festival. It’s a wonderful location with the Woodley Park Metro literally a 3 min walk from the Wardman Towers. We were two couples traveling together, instead of putting us on the 4th and 7th floors they offered us a suite to share on the 8th. It was a wonderful two-bedroom, two-bath suite with a kitchen, dinning room and living room. We wanted to move in and never leave. Room was aged but it is full of character and history. You cannot get a better location with the Open City restaurant one block down from the hotel - greatest breakfast and Murphy's Pub on the same block for dinner. Lots of places to eat, and a convenient CVS right there beside the Metro stop. We printed our boarding passes in the lobby, nice and convenience as we left. Our friend used their Marriott Reward points for all three nights and we got a fantastic Easter Week-end rate of $119 per night. We will be back again with such a positive experience. Yes, there should be free WiFi in the room, however with today's Smartphones with email and Internet its not so important anymore, our trip was vacation not business. Loved the Bath and Body Works products in the bathroom. I could sit up in my bed and see the Washington Monument and the Dome of the Capital; our friend’s bedroom window faced the National Cathedral. The grounds where covered with tulips – so lovely. We have only positive things to say about our second stay at the Wardman.

Room Tip: If you like older charm ask for the Wardman Towers, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlayaDelCarmenFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    972
    543
    187
    110
See reviews for
359
305
118
1,337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Wardman Park Marriott to visit with friends in DC. It is in a great walking neighborhood with the Metro nearby. Love the cafe in the lobby which helps for an inexpensive breakfast and we were upgraded to a deluxe room because we are frequent Marriott travelors.
The hotel has a wonderful lobby -- classy decor and rooms were spotless. Recommend Town Hall in Glover Park (a 10 minute cab ride) as a locals place with nice bar, brunch options and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lovely gardens. Tulips abound in spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbenchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I attended a conference at the Marriot Wardman Park hotel last week. First, let me say that the grounds were absolutely lovely! The cherry blossoms had bit the dust early this year but the double-blossomed trees outside the hotel were beautiful; as were the multi-colored tulips, etc. The hotel accommodates a large conference very well but many participants are lodged in the newer section of the hotel; most rooms having adjoining room. Therein lies the problem. Our "neighbor" for three nights had to sleep with the television on. I honestly don't believe that the volumn was excessive but it was audible due to very poor soundproofing between rooms. So poor in fact, that the light from the their television actually sneaked under the adjoining room door! Our last day/night, the neighbors on one side left a dog in the unit (that barked all day long - so much for catching a nap to make up for the lack of sleep from the nights before) and then that evening the new neighbors in the adjoining room decided to return from the bar early and cheer on their favorite basketball team. At 11:30 p.m. I finally called the front desk who said they would send up security. Well, a few minutes later the neighbors' phone rang and they quieted down. Had I been afforded a good night's sleep for even one night I may have rated this hotel higher. It is very close to the Metro and some good places to eat; however, I really value sleep. Funny how my priorities have changed in my old age...

Room Tip: Insist on a room without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a great Hotel. Has every amenity and is well placed. If you walk out of the back-entrance to the Hotel, and across the street, your pretty much at the entrance to the Metro. A day pass is 8 USD and the metro takes you just about anywhere. Busses are next to the metro entrance and for a dollar you can hop on and off at your convenience.

Schlep is that the Metro doesnt go directly to Dulles or to the MWP Hotel. But that doesnt matter. Across the road is a range of restaurants that will delight the most discerning pallate, and the MW Zoo is within walking distance. October is a great time to go because its mid-Autumn -still warm enough to avoid a coat, yet cool enough to walk the streets at night and take in the (quiet) nightlife.

Hotel has a convenience store, bar and restaurant. So this means that you can top up on your daily needs and go and explore, explore, explore!! Hotel is abit pricey, but its not unexpected.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Wardman Park Marriott last weekend. We had taken the Megabus to Union Station and it was a quick ride on the metro to our hotel. The metro is directly across the street from the hotel which made it easy to get to the National Mall area in about 10 minutes. Also within walking distance were a few good restaurants, Mcdonald's and Baskin Robins. Right across the street was an Irish pub with a good happy hour and great food. Friday night was an easy one mile walk to a fun and lively nightspot area called Adam's Morgan, where there were a variety of restaurants, bars and live music. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and our room was comfortable. The minifridge was very convenient for keeping cold drinks after walking all day.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking ask for a room close to the elevator. Some rooms are a long walk from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 500JeanieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Large hotel in Adams-Morgan area close to zoo and national cathedral the place definitely caters to large meeting groups and is set up well for that. The landscaping in March has thousands of tulips in bloom. Gorgeous we were disappointed that a 3 month advance registration did not secure us a king size bed we had requested. Prices in the hotel are very high I.e. no free Internet ( but just go down the street a block to Open City restaurant to eat and surf) overnight parking is $39. Yes $39. Don't drive here. A $0.99 bag of chips is $2.79 in the hotel (how did they get Lay's to take the printed price off??). Nonetheless there are many good eateries and cvs and liquor store and subway station just outside the hotel. If you are willing to walk a mile or so go north on connecticut ave for some trendy restaurants in Cleveland park or go east to Adams Morgan downtown for same. Great jogging trail just outside hotel through the park all the way to Georgetown 2 miles away

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

It could have been a great stay, but there was bad with the good.

The good & the bad of it.

Good - location: a nice choice if at day's end you want the ambience of an upscale, walking neighborhood with great restaurants. It isn't terribly close to common business or tourist centers but that shortfall is mostly addressed by a metro station about a block away.

Bad - service: upon my return from meetings, my room hadn't been cleaned -- no clean towels, bed unmade, etc. I called the front desk and then went to dinner with the assurance my room would be cleaned. When I returned at 10pm it hadn't been cleaned. The front desk was very apologetic, but their kind apologies didn't clean the room. The in-house eating options are expensive and very average, but the terrific neighborhood restaurant selection makes up for that.

Bottom line: the great location warrants a second try, but if the service doesn't improve, I'll definitely venture elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,130 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#94 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing