We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wrapping but noisy for sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I attended a conference at the Marriot Wardman Park hotel last week. First, let me say that the grounds were absolutely lovely! The cherry blossoms had bit the dust early this year but the double-blossomed trees outside the hotel were beautiful; as were the multi-colored tulips, etc. The hotel accommodates a large conference very well but many participants are lodged in the newer section of the hotel; most rooms having adjoining room. Therein lies the problem. Our "neighbor" for three nights had to sleep with the television on. I honestly don't believe that the volumn was excessive but it was audible due to very poor soundproofing between rooms. So poor in fact, that the light from the their television actually sneaked under the adjoining room door! Our last day/night, the neighbors on one side left a dog in the unit (that barked all day long - so much for catching a nap to make up for the lack of sleep from the nights before) and then that evening the new neighbors in the adjoining room decided to return from the bar early and cheer on their favorite basketball team. At 11:30 p.m. I finally called the front desk who said they would send up security. Well, a few minutes later the neighbors' phone rang and they quieted down. Had I been afforded a good night's sleep for even one night I may have rated this hotel higher. It is very close to the Metro and some good places to eat; however, I really value sleep. Funny how my priorities have changed in my old age...

Room Tip: Insist on a room without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a great Hotel. Has every amenity and is well placed. If you walk out of the back-entrance to the Hotel, and across the street, your pretty much at the entrance to the Metro. A day pass is 8 USD and the metro takes you just about anywhere. Busses are next to the metro entrance and for a dollar you can hop on and off at your convenience.

Schlep is that the Metro doesnt go directly to Dulles or to the MWP Hotel. But that doesnt matter. Across the road is a range of restaurants that will delight the most discerning pallate, and the MW Zoo is within walking distance. October is a great time to go because its mid-Autumn -still warm enough to avoid a coat, yet cool enough to walk the streets at night and take in the (quiet) nightlife.

Hotel has a convenience store, bar and restaurant. So this means that you can top up on your daily needs and go and explore, explore, explore!! Hotel is abit pricey, but its not unexpected.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Wardman Park Marriott last weekend. We had taken the Megabus to Union Station and it was a quick ride on the metro to our hotel. The metro is directly across the street from the hotel which made it easy to get to the National Mall area in about 10 minutes. Also within walking distance were a few good restaurants, Mcdonald's and Baskin Robins. Right across the street was an Irish pub with a good happy hour and great food. Friday night was an easy one mile walk to a fun and lively nightspot area called Adam's Morgan, where there were a variety of restaurants, bars and live music. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and our room was comfortable. The minifridge was very convenient for keeping cold drinks after walking all day.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking ask for a room close to the elevator. Some rooms are a long walk from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500JeanieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Large hotel in Adams-Morgan area close to zoo and national cathedral the place definitely caters to large meeting groups and is set up well for that. The landscaping in March has thousands of tulips in bloom. Gorgeous we were disappointed that a 3 month advance registration did not secure us a king size bed we had requested. Prices in the hotel are very high I.e. no free Internet ( but just go down the street a block to Open City restaurant to eat and surf) overnight parking is $39. Yes $39. Don't drive here. A $0.99 bag of chips is $2.79 in the hotel (how did they get Lay's to take the printed price off??). Nonetheless there are many good eateries and cvs and liquor store and subway station just outside the hotel. If you are willing to walk a mile or so go north on connecticut ave for some trendy restaurants in Cleveland park or go east to Adams Morgan downtown for same. Great jogging trail just outside hotel through the park all the way to Georgetown 2 miles away

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It could have been a great stay, but there was bad with the good.

The good & the bad of it.

Good - location: a nice choice if at day's end you want the ambience of an upscale, walking neighborhood with great restaurants. It isn't terribly close to common business or tourist centers but that shortfall is mostly addressed by a metro station about a block away.

Bad - service: upon my return from meetings, my room hadn't been cleaned -- no clean towels, bed unmade, etc. I called the front desk and then went to dinner with the assurance my room would be cleaned. When I returned at 10pm it hadn't been cleaned. The front desk was very apologetic, but their kind apologies didn't clean the room. The in-house eating options are expensive and very average, but the terrific neighborhood restaurant selection makes up for that.

Bottom line: the great location warrants a second try, but if the service doesn't improve, I'll definitely venture elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for a 3-day conference. The room was okay but hard to maintain a comfortable temperature. It was missing an ironing board, which is a necessity when attending a conference. Had to improvise by using the desk. It was a good thing I'm only 5'6" otherwise I wouldn't have been able to fit under the shower head. The shower curtain (liner) had holes in it. The meeting rooms were uncomfortably cold even after repeated requests to raise the temperature. The hotel is easy walking distance to a lot of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Dear Icshea,

Thank you for your feedback and comments from your stay with us at the Marriott Wardman Park. I apologize you were not satisfied with your guest room. I will have a member of our management team reach out to you for a personal follow up.

Best Regards,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If your convention is here, of course stay here but if not you can do much better for the price. I paid 285/nite with a very large group.

Pros: convenient and nice location, reasonably clean and updated, good staff all around. Great A/C in the rooms could actually get the room cold. Onsite food and drinks better than average and plenty more available near the property.

Cons: conventions make the hotel uncomfortably crowded, e.g. 5 min wait for an elevator. Also, the Internet situation is ridiculous. They charge $10/day and the service is unusable. I consulted with many others to make sure it wasn't me. Note to mgmt if you are reading: travelers expect fast, free wifi in every inch of the hotel. Think of it like electricity, it is that essential.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank HankF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear HankF99,

Thank you for the feedback that you are providing the Marriott Wardman Park. I hope you were able to find the hotel relaxing and enjoyable during your convention. Since we do charge for internet in our guest rooms, we have provided our guests with a great alternative. We offer free Wi-Fi in our lobby, lounge, and cafe areas. We hope that you were satisfied with your stay and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Dan Nadeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
7,046 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,026 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 142 in Washington DC
3,937 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#44 of 142 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $101 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing