We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything for this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Ranked #103 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Leander
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location is everything for this hotel.”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was the first time I had stayed at this hotel and I must admit, it was a bit overpriced, however since my company paid for the stay, I will not complain too much. The LOCATION IS GREAT; it is within walking distance to the National Zoo, subway train, and several eateries. The hotel itself has several good mid-price restaurants including the Pub which is open late and had pretty good food. Conference facilities are well kept and spacious, especially the main ballroom/conference room. Overall, it was a good stay with the best thing going for this hotel being it's location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVicProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear DrVicProf,

Thank you writing a review for the Marriott Wardman Park. Our proximity to the National Zoo and the down town area does attract many of our guests. We hope that you enjoyed spending time with us for your conference and look forward to your return.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    1,019
    568
    197
    114
See reviews for
384
327
121
1,415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights for the ASDS meeting [Room 1321] and were very pleased. Nice big quiet room with a big bright bay window, lots of space to spread out, and a little undeveloped room off the bathroom which could be handy as extra storage [like a walk in closet] for those travelling with lots of stuff. The 1321 has the advantage that it is on the ground floor -- had to walk up half a dozen steps to get to the room, which was not a problem for us but might be for someone else.

The hotel is an easy walk to lots of fine local restaurants including the Open City cafe [where many of us went for breakfast] and Petit Plats [very nice for a quiet relaxed dinner].

The Metro has one access point on the edge of the Marriott property [just for the heck of it we rode the Metro in from Reagan National Airport, it was quick, cheap and easy.] The Metro was a handy way to get to other parts of DC during the day for my wife.

Nice staff, excellent meeting services. Front desk has rather poor acoustics [noisy place, too much marble] so it is hard for the check in staff to hear us, and for us to hear them; makes their job harder. Marriott should make the front desk a quieter place, maybe with carpet, fabric wall coverings etc.

Room Tip: 1321 was good for us, as outlined above. Pull back the drapes during the day and let the wonderful l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear ksmithderm,

Thank you for writing a great review of the Marriott Wardman Park. All of the staff had a wonderful time ensuring the success of the ASDS group. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations for your entire stay. Please keep us in mind for future visits.

Sincerely,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I had a great stay here at the Wardman hotel. My room was clean and spacious. The hotel was close to the metro, and the zoo. The grounds were kept clean and beautiful. I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAustin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear TravelerAustin_11,

Thank you for staying at the Marriott Wardman Park and writing a great review about the hotel. Our grounds team works very to maintain the beautiful gardens that many guest come to view. We are eagerly awaiting your return.

Sincerely,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I admit I was traumatized by reading previous reviews about bed bugs, but was going to a conference at the hotel and it would be more convenient to stay there. I followed the TA advice, and pulled sheets and mattress cover as soon as I entered the room to check. To my relief, none of the tell tale signs were there. For my entire stay, the room was kept clean, I was undisturbed by noise, and the room service food was decent - but not great. My chief complaint was that the wireless was virtually inaccessible and not stable even when it could be accessed. I had to use my phone as a hotspot to work on my laptop.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodwinethee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear foodwinethee ,

Thank you for providing great feedback about the Marriott Wardman Park. I do apologize that our internet service was unable to work during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your time with us and we hope you will consider us again for future accommodations.

Safe Travels,

Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I had an extended stay here for a conference and was sorely disappointed. It made me rethink entirely the reputation and standard of service at Marriotts, in general, since I've had several lackluster experiences with them all year. If this stay had not been for a meeting central to the conference, I would have immediately cancelled the reservation. This hotel has a reputation for previously having had bed bugs, and I can understand why. The room was not sufficiently cleaned the entire bed, rather then maids tidied the beds and did vacuuming. Several times they did not even empty the trash or refresh towels that had been requested. When I called the front desk with concerns about the trash and the lack of cleanliness of the bathroom, they noted that the latter was not part of the maid's contract. The room was standard, no better than a medium-tiered hotels that are less experience, but much nicer.

The hotel does have a great location. It is easily accessible to the Red Line metro, the Rock Creek Parkway (a great thoroughfare for driving, running, biking, etc.). It is right to a main street with many accessible restaurants and you can walk to the zoo if you have that type of time. The restaurant itself has many choices for food including an Irish Bar and a mini-breakfast cafe, but it's sort of like buying overpriced food at a ball park. You are better off going to a restaurant that is nearby. I ate breakfast at the delicious Open City Cafe nearby. It is also just a quick 10 minute walk across the bridge to Adams Morgan.

Room Tip: There are two towers of rooms; some are more convenient to conference meeting rooms and meal event r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktotravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear worktotravel14,
Thank you for reviewing the Marriott Wardman Park. I am unhappy to hear that your experience at the Marriott Wardman Park did not live up to the expectation. A member of out from office management team will be contacting you shortly regarding your past stay.
Best regards,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Chicago, IL, USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is quite large. There's a good chance if you are staying here, it's for some sort of meeting or conference. I have stayed here twice, soon to be for a third time. My review is a mix of my two stays.

Location: north of downtown in the Adams Morgan area. One metro stop north of Dupont Circle. Hotel is right next to the metro which is very convenient. There are some restaurants in the immediate vicinity (recommend Lebanse Taverna), but you will need to take the metro, taxi or drive to see the sights. Not much is walking distance.

Hotel itself is quite big. As many others have noted, there are different towers to stay in. On my first stay I was in the newer tower, the rooms I found to be quite comfortable and clean. Absolutely no complaints. On my second stay, I was in the older, historic tower. While I didn't notice a huge difference in room size or decor, what I did notice was my ability to breathe clearly. The older room caused me to become extremely congested in my sinuses and I was constantly blowing my nose for the duration of my two night stay. I also noticed the air vents in the older room were quite dirty and frankly I suspected there was some mold. So if you are sensitive to air quality or have sinus or breathing problems, I would suggest staying in the newer tower if possible. I know that on my upcoming stay, I will specifically request the newer tower.

Both of my visits were for a meeting of approximately 700 people. I give great kudos to the conference staff. They were well organized and efficient. They also were quite good at setting up and breaking down rooms quickly. I found the banquet food to be perfectly fine.

Room Tip: Newer tower has better air quality in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear ChicagoAlli,
Thank you for the review of the Marriott Wardman Park. Our conference staff does work very hard to insure the success of each conference. Also we are very please to hear that this will be your third time returning to the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Best Regards,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great location near the METRO, zoo, and nearby neighborhood restaurants.

Hotel has all the charm and design style of a imitation colonial bowling alley. Make sure you ask to see your room, and be fussy about getting a good one. For me, just before midnight after a bicoastal trip, I was not smart enough to see the room! Yikes!

Beautiful view of a mechanical equipment pit. Only loved by a roofing contactor.

Room Tip: Ask for a view other than the mechanical pit, and then make sure you see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruzinquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear cruzinquick,
We apprieciate the review of the Marriott Wardman Park. It disaapoints me to hear that we could not met your expectation with a view of the city. I will be having a member of our manament team be in contact with you about your previous stay.
Regards,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,677 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
962 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
588 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
539 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park

Property: Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Address: 2660 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing