We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty small plates, creative pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Graffiato

Graffiato
Reserve with OpenTable
Graffiato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #184 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
washington, dc
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“tasty small plates, creative pizza”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoy Graffiato and it's a great place for a drink or pre-theatre dinner. The "Hulk" pesto pizza is terrific and there are some lovely small plates and an interesting wine list and cocktail program. One quibble from a recent visit was being seated toward the back when there were plenty of tables up front. We requested a change and it wasn't a problem but it was irksome to have it even be an issue. Service was excellent and complementary sparking water option was a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    195
    84
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent pizza, better small plates”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Graffiato is the latest in a long string of somewhat disappointing DC pizza places (with 2 Amys at the top of that list—for disappointment, that is). The pizza looks promising, with the proper amount of blackening on the bottom. The crust is pretty good but insufficiently chewy (although better than the average white bread crust in this country). The biggest weakness was the tomato sauce, which tasted like pureed tomatoes, which is not a good thing (not enough salt, for one thing). The cauliflower with pecorino was maybe the best cauliflower I have had at a restaurant. The smoked beets with ricotta and orange were cool and refreshing. The hand cut spaghetti with cherry tomatoes was perfectly fine, but nothing most people couldn't make at home. The food does come quickly, at least. It was loud, but no louder than most downtown restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirleyotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cool ambiance and a great food experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As a longtime fan of Chef Mike Isabella's work, I was excited when a friend suggested Graffiato on a recent business trip to DC. The restaurant/bar is small but not tiny, intimate but cool, and it has a clean, industrial chic vibe. Though we did a full dinner, this would also be a good place for snacks and drinks, and in fact, I saw many groups and couples doing just this as it grew later on a Tuesday evening.

My only complaint is that our primary server was not very friendly or helpful with food explanation and selection. I had heard before going that it was mainly small plates, though this was not explicit on the menu. When I asked the server for input, she was short and dismissive, save for an attempt to upsell. Despite this, I was extremely pleased with the vegetables I chose (smoked beets and an heirloom tomato salad) while my companion thoroughly enjoyed his chicken thighs. We split a pizza (which was quite larger than the server had described), and all the flavors were bright and robust.

The food expediters, bussers, and other servers who were extremely attentive to our water glasses made up for the singular poor attitude. Overall, Graffiato did not disappoint, and I look forward to visiting again on future DC trips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank askyouranalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious night out with friends!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had heard good things about Graffiato, so I suggested it as a pre-movie dinner spot with friends. It was easy enough to make a reservation, and we enjoyed a quick drink at the bar while they prepared our table. The staff were very hospitable and knowledgeable. They were out of my beer of choice, so the bartender let me sample a few different beers before changing my selection. Impressive!

Now for the food. Their menu is a bit eccentric and contains a lot of unknown ingredients, but don't let that stop you! We followed recommendations on Yelp and FourSquare and were not let down. Here are my top choices - ANYTHING with the pepperoni sauce, the sweetcorn ravioli, the Amish chicken thigh, the cauliflower!!!, and the tomato/crab risotto. The pizzas were OK, but not mind-blowing. Overall, though, there was nothing I wouldn't recommend.

Enjoy your visit and be adventurous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun spot, good food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went with family on a Saturday night. Ordered the gnocchi, ceasar salad and 2 pizzas (American Pie and Goodfellas). All were tremendous! I was the only one who could eat the Goodfellas because the red pepper flakes gave it some extra heat. So I may order it without next time. We sat downstairs in the bar/kitchen area. Be ready to shout to your tablemates should you wish to be heard. But the atmosphere is very fun and the food and wine selections were tremendous. So the noise level did not detract from our enjoyment. Will definitely go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasey1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graffiato also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Graffiato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing