We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip”
Review of Tudor Place

Tudor Place
Ranked #91 of 431 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America’s story lives here. Built in 1816 by a granddaughter of Martha Washington, this National Historic Landmark was home to six generations of one family from the agricultural to the digital age. Their collections, household goods, landscaped garden and 200 years of stories shed light on American arts, labor, politics, and technology. Enjoy guided tours of the William Thornton-designed mansion and self-guided tours of the 5½-acre garden, including the 1919 Pierce Arrow motor car and the District’s oldest exhibited smoke house. LAST HOUSE TOUR, 3 pm daily. Garden closes 4 pm. CLOSED January + all Mondays.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great tour. A must for history buffs. Our tour guide - Leslie Ossim was great. Very knowledgable. Great collection and a beautiful garden. Not really good for kids

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WheretoNextNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pretty little estate in Georgetown”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I finally visited Tudor Place over Inaugural Weekend 2013 after years of living in DC (including in Georgetown, so I have no excuse for not visiting sooner!) and passing by the outside of it a million times. A group of friends and I attended a special "Presidential Tea" ceremony there, which featured teas and snacks of types that would/could have been served during the terms of various US Presidents and included talks from the staff (in character/historical costume) on historical information about the history of the estate and the social traditions of olden times.

To be honest, I'm actually *not* a huge history buff and have a limited attention span for historical talks, including those involving interpreters in character/costume, but the Presidential Tea was just the right length - an hour or so - and I enjoyed it. I would go back again sometime, especially on a nice-weather day, just to explore the grounds more. (We lucked out on our visit and got an unusually warm and sunny January day - temps in the 50s!) The estate's grounds are very pretty and there's an oasis-like feel to the place, even though you're in the middle of a rather bustling part of Georgetown (and on a major Metrobus route between Georgetown and Dupont Circle).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank thegreatlizby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Exceptional home of Washington's relatives”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The home of Martha and George's granddaughter, and holds most of the Mount Vernon furniture that is not still at Mt Vernon. Set on 6 acres in Georgetown, just half a block from Dumbarton Oaks, the place is a gem, and well done for a house museum. As a preservation and architecture buff, and with a spouse who was the executive director of the House of Seven Gables, this home is well interpreted, the docents knowledgeable, and the marketing sparse, which is why we didn't focus on it until we passed by it on the way somewhere else!
The exhibits were timely, related to family and the house, and the history surrounding the elegant building is compelling, and while there were several outstanding pieces, the best of the museum was the way they have kept the feeling of the place intact. I would absolutely recommend it for those interested in history, the Washingtons, or the family ties in the Civil War, as well as those interested in this period of architecture.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RHOBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“See a little know glimpse of Washington's family.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A private home until 1987 Tudor place provides a seldom seen view of George Washington’s private family. Located on 5 acres in the heart of George Town, it is a time capsule. For an intimate view of our first family, it is a must see. Our docent was terrific.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,634 reviews
1,243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Didn't Even Know It Was There”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hidden little piece of history is well worth the visit. It is well maintained and beautifully presented. It also contains the largest collection of Washington artifacts outside Mt. Vernon. All the guides were very nice and worked together to answer questions. And they seemed to know all the answers. There is also a connection to Robert E. Lee's family and there is lots of interesting fact about this place. Go and learn....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tudor Place also viewed

 

Been to Tudor Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing