We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of a fun place for kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Postal Museum

National Postal Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
Ranked #35 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Kind of a fun place for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our grandchildren loved this museum. They have a lot of interactive exhibits and the kids enjoyed being able to touch things after looking at sites all day. They still talk about Owney, the postal service dog.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    227
    40
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Spend a good morning here as there is lots to see and explore. I enjoyed seeing the stamp collection they have as well as some very rare ones as well. There is a post office next to the shop downstairs where you post letters and postcards back. Home to your friends which is a handy place to know about.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday-Lady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I was skeptical too...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was told by a coworker that when I come to DC I have to go see the postal museum. It defiantly was not on the top of my list because I figured how interesting could it be? I'm so glad I went! From the stamp collection to the mail trucks, this place was awesome, interactive, and very educational (in a fun way!). I learned a lot that I never thought I'd care to learn and had the best time doing it! It's a place that's great for any age because any age can relate to the exhibits. A most see in DC!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Located next to Union Station, this museum is an unknown, or at least lesser-known gem! If you are a stamp collector, it has a fantastic collection there, complete with magnifying glasses you can borrow in easy-to-find displays on the walls in most rooms.

What I didn't expect was the complete history not only of stamps but of the postal system, ranging from the British Colonies to the Pony Express to Military and Wartime Mail to all the different ways mail has been delivered over time (Zeppelin mail?). There are historical copies of letters from the Titanic, Lindbergh's flight around the world, even a dog that rode the mail train!

The museum must be one of the newer ones in the Smithsonian Institute, as it is highly interactive, with great touch screens, games for kids and adults alike, fun clue-finding in the Postal Inspector Section, videos, audio displays of wartime letters to and from home.

We were going to zoom through this museum, but ended up being completely entertained for more than 4 hours!

Highly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Opuleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another great museum in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

This a great place to learn about the postal service and history. There are great interactive areas for kids. It a great museum for everyone. It wasn't as busy as most other places which made it even more enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank springbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Postal Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Postal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing