We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Washington DC
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Washington Photo Safari
from $97.54
More Info
from $86.58
More Info
from $108.50
More Info
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
239
11
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
11
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews david luria an excellent instructor night photography shutter speed professional photographer learning experience cherry blossoms national cathedral washington area his knowledge take pictures library of congress camera techniques skills photographs instructions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 260 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019

My 14-year-old son and I took the class a week ago and it was a fantastic way to spend a half day. We learned so much about how to take better photographs and the hands-on format was great! David is very knowledgeable, patient. He is a great instructor! As someone who has lived in DC for 25+ years, it was a great way to see the monuments and learn a bit more about their history. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in photography and seeing a bit of DC!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

As a resident of the Washington area and an enthusiastic amateur photographer, I've taken over a dozen of David Luria's photo safaris and learned something new about photography on each one. On each safari, he not only orients the group as a whole, but he also spends one-on-one time with each student, gearing his advice to the level of sophistication of that individual. His knowledge of photographic technique and his unlimited patience make him one of the best photography instructors I've encountered. I highly recommend his tours. --Greg E.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

I have attended many of David's safaris and am amazed at all the knowledge you gain from him. Not only about photography, but also about the area or institutions you are visiting.He takes time to help you individually and explains what you are either doing wrong or how to do it better. He knows the history of so many places and he has such a wonderful friendly personality. Our trip to the National Cathedral was just amazing as he took us to parts of the Cathedral the public is not allowed to visit. Our trip to see the Sunset Parade at the Iwo Jima Memorial was excellent as he explained how to set your camera before the ceremony began and checked to make sure you weren't having any problems during the ceremony. He also told us the best places to stand to get the best shots of the Marines as they practiced before the ceremony. Any of David's safaris is money very well spent as you will come away with more knowledge and feel good about what you have accomplished.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank mlynchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhotoSafariDC, Owner at Washington Photo Safari, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

We greatly appreciate this client's comments. At Washington Photo Safari we always stress that the first question a person should ask when picking up the camera is: "Why have I decided to take this picture? What is the purpose of this picture and who is it for?" When it comes to monuments and churches and historic places, it is very useful to know some history so that the picture will have much more personal meaning to the photographer

For example, at Washington National Cathedral there is a very pretty purple window with abstract round figures and a black spot in the middle of one of them. The picture is much more meaningful to the photographer if he or she knows that this window, designed and built in the 1970's, is a tribute to the American space program. The small globe at the bottom is the Earth, and the large globe at the top is the Moon, with a figure eight line encircling the Earth and Moon, which represents a satellite in elliptical orbit around the Earth and Moon. In the middle of the large globe is a black spot, which is actually a rock brought back from the Moon by astronaut Buzz Aldrin, once an elder of the Cathedral! Knowing all that makes the picture more interesting to the photographer AND the viewer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

I'm a beginner and David was so great as a tour guide and teacher. He's very knowledgeable about different types of cameras and kept everyone involved while moving at a steady pace. He didn't rush anyone and answered questions thoroughly.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhotoSafariDC, Owner at Washington Photo Safari, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

we appreciate this review. Over the last 20 years, we have developed good familiarity with the menus of most cameras and can help clients get the best use of the camera features. This particular safari, Monuments and memorials, gives clients a chance to test their skills on the most iconic memorials in DC, with help from a professional photographer looking over their shoulder as they take the pictures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

I have attended 60 Safaris over the years. These covered a wide range of topics: monuments, portraits, night photography, artistic composition, specific cameras, pets, events, business of photography, and more.

David Luria's knowledge of the monuments is legendary - historical background, best compositional angles, etc. He is supported by experts who are always very patient and helpful.

Every Safari is packed with tips to satisfy a wide range of photographic abilities. Obviously not every aspect of photography can be taught in one session but participants are free to ask questions.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhotoSafariDC, Owner at Washington Photo Safari, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

We appreciate this client's response. It is high praise indeed coming from a person who has participated in so many of our safaris over the years. We try and offer a wide variety of photographic experiences so that clients can test their skills in different environments under the guidance of a professional photographer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews