We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great religious experience!!!!!”

Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Ranked #15 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great religious experience!!!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've visited this shrine before, but didn't think back then to write a Tripadvisor review about it. I'm a lifelong Catholic, and have a deep devotion to Mary, Mother of Jesus. This shrine is one big honor to Mary, and of course, to Jesus, and God the Father. I LOVE their gift shop and bookstore. If you're Catholic, and even if you are not, still, this is a great place to feel the love and presence of God.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elcentro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,231
    226
    38
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
399 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Soothing & beautiful”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was first here during a high school trip many years ago. It left an impression and I was happy to take the Metro and a walk to find it again. It is a place to sit and let your heart rest a bit after the craziness of being a tourist in a busy city.

After traveling in Europe, it is nice to have this piece of architecture available to make me reflect on many years of spirituality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We didn't realize how long we would be there. We had a guided tour for about 1 1/2 hours then went to 5:15pm mass. The tour was great. Sal really knows the Basilica. The church is beautiful. My kids loved seeing the chapels of the different countries. Truly beautiful. While we were there they were giving tours of the tower. They were only doing it for that weekend. It was lovely. I would not miss this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Visit the Holy Land in the District”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to visit the replicas of the sites of the Holy Land especially Bethelem, Nazareth, the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and Mary's grotto. I could recollect my trip to these places around ten years ago. I could also get some holy water. A must for all visitors to DC.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ismailbandook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to attend Sunday Mass here since it was so highly reviewed in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. This church is comparable to those we have visited in Europe. It is a little off the beaten path and requires a cab or bus ride. We were staying in downtown DC. After Mass and looking around, it took about 20 minutes for us to flag down a cab. It was worth it though, to attend such a lovely service in such beautiful surroundings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KTWriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing