We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
Ranked #15 of 443 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The first thing is we went with two kids (1 and 3 yrs). We got there using the metro rail. You need to walk like 10 mins from the nearest station. We had strollers, so we had to take the elevator, and the route that we had to take was a little scary to walk because it had almost no sidewalk. When we went back we took another route, much safer, but didn't has an accessible entrance for us.

The church is stunning. I wish we had more time to see it, but we took the mass so we didn't had enough time to walk around. But my husband told that the Crypta was beautiful and impressive. If you are going with little children, know that you need to have your kids very quiet. I received a few nagging.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kariluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,264
    235
    38
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Serene”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love old churches and cathedrals and saw the rating on TripAdvisor about this spot. The Basilica is BEAUTIFUL. It was like visiting one of the Smithsonian Museums. The history and artwork is breathtaking. My 6 and 9 yrs. olds were fascinate with the mosaics, stained glass windows and little chapels that were hidden on the bottom floor from around the world. You do not have to be religious to appreciate the history and artwork that is throughout the building.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If your a christian, you must make a visit!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved walking through the cathedral. The gift shop had everything you could possibly need. Wish we could have attended a mass. Would have been very neat!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AliBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
552 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Quaint, for the faithful.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My late Italian grandmother and mother venerated the Blessed Mother as well as this shrine and I continue the faith for them. Made it a point to visit the shrine and was pleased to find it inviting and a spiritual experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schulenburg, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My mother-in-law watches a tv show that is broadcast from the Basilica and talked about how beautiful it was. We heard that it had some beautiful sculptures, so decided to visit. We caught a railcar and walked about 3 blocks, and I am so glad we did. Sign up for a tour, they are free and it lasts about 30-45 minutes. The docents are very knowledgeble and friendly, and guide you through giving histories about the various statues, customs, and particulars of the artwork. They encourage you to walk back through by yourself and see the things that interest you most. There are many many chapels and you will occasionally see people in meditation or attending mass, but as long as you are not disturbing anyone, there is absolutely no problem. If not for anything else, go for the artwork, or the architecture, or the sheer beauty of it all. The basilica is on the campus of the Catholic University. There is of course, a giftshop, and believe it or not, that was fun. (I got something for my Mother-in-law)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LRB978249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing